1995 Rover - Austin 400 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1995 Rover - Austin 400 1.4 injection from Belgium

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carRover - Austin Montego

Summary:

Apart from the engine, a dream on wheels

Faults:

The car doesn't always start on a wet day. But once it starts, it will run smoothly.

From the early beginning there have been problems with the engine. The engine stalls when driving on a wet road. After waiting 15-30 minutes, the engine will start again. Our dealer has looked into it, but failed to cure this problem.

When I checked the oil on 55,000 kilometers, I saw the dip-stick was dry. When observing this, I noticed the oil is gone after +/- 10,000 kilometers. At this point there are no visible oil leaks, nor did the dealer find anything that could cause this problem.

General Comments:

The car handles great, and has an extraordinary suspension system.

The 1.4l K-series engine is more than powerful enough for such a 'small' car. Too bad it isn't very reliable.

The cabin is trimmed as one could expect from Rover.

The boot is quite spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

16th Sep 2005, 14:46

I have a '95 Rover 400 which I bought from a Rover garage in '96

I also used to get stalls in wet weather. The car would start again after 20 minutes.

I sealed up a deteriorated seal at the top of the bulkhead at the back of the engine compartment where I suspected water might be trickling onto some electrical bits there. At the same time I wiped clean every electrical connection I could find under the bonnet, then sprayed them with WD40.

No more mysterious stalls.

Oh, Yes, and I had the oil in coolant thing. That necessitated a head skim and new gasket, about £500 from the Rover dealer, who seem to be the only ones who know how to tighten up the inlet manifold gasket properly.

With a bit of care and plenty waxoyl the car still looks good and is going great.

1995 Rover - Austin 400 416 Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Blinding

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

One of the best cars I've ever driven, smooth and reliable. After having a Rover as a company car for years, I had to purchase one myself.

Classic inside and out, and severely underrated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

1995 Rover - Austin 400 414i 5 door 1.4i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91500 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 155 2.0 Twin Spark

Summary:

Fairly reliable, economical, and comfortable, but some quality concerns

Faults:

Recurring starter motor/bendix noise and failures.

Driver's door window fell into the car twice when in motion, glass fixed to the metal support using "super-glue".

Cylinder head gasket failure at 75,000 miles, despite full Rover main dealer service history.

Lots of clonks and squeaks from the rear suspension for quite a while now.

Frequent failures of the headlight dipped beam bulbs, which seem expensive to replace.

General Comments:

Overall, reliable and economical, but let down by build quality or perhaps some cheap components.

Quite comfortable, interior is well finished.

Performance quite good for a 1.4 litre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1995 Rover - Austin 400 414 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GT

Summary:

Very nice car, shame about the quality

Faults:

First thing was the left back side suspension rocker.

Then the starter motor.

Then the engine started leaking water, and started leaking oil from the rocker cover and the head gasket and everywhere, but it keeps going.

Door hinges worked loose somehow?

General Comments:

I love the car, what can I say, it has been fun to drive, the 1400 engine feels like 2000cc engine and it is responsive once it has been revved.

The handling is excellent with no modifications and standard tyres.

The cabin feels roomy for a family of 4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

29th May 2001, 16:26

I agree about the engine, the K-Series 16 Valve is an outstanding little unit and provides reasonably rapid performance for a heavy car however...

I don't know what your talking about the handling cuz mine handles like a shed!

It looses grip at the slightest turn and sends you wallowing all over the place, you have to be so careful with the thing.

I've never driven the Turbo model but all I can say is I hope Rover sorted the handling on that out cuz the 414 really poor into bends.

24th Jul 2001, 19:41

Is you car the new shape rover 414 or is it the old shape?

20th Nov 2002, 04:23

I have a rover 416 sli 16v, it's a gem! very responsive engine, and since I replaced the springs with some H&R's the handling it superb :-)

26th Jun 2003, 09:55

I have a m reg 416, I brought it last year. can anything else go wrong, I have had to re-place: gear-box, clutch, starter motor, the boot doesn't shut correctly (faulty catch) , but I just love driving the thing, trouble is i,ve spent that much on it I can't afford the god damn petrol.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 16 reviews