1993 Rover - Austin 600 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Rover - Austin 600 620 GSi 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Good value second-hand buy, worthy of consideration

Faults:

General faults

--------------------

Heavy front tyre wear (despite regular optical tracking checks/adjustments).

Poor handbrake.

Boot space poor.

Electric sunroof, when open creates a very uncomfortable "Boom" at around 30-40mph.

Windshield prone to "mini-chipping"

Panels susceptible to denting easily.

Prone to rear wheel arch corrosion.

Specific items

---------------------

Intermittent stalling from cold at idle (never resolved).

Rear silencer boxes (genuine units) last 2 years max at around £130 a time.

Rover (Blaupunkt) top spec. RDS Radio/Cassette (2 units fitted) both failed, one lost Music Search and both with failed button illumination.

Electric aerial mast broken at 65K.

Heated mirror switch failure at 70K.

Radiator failed at 80K (Re-cored at £60).

Rear central locking unit failed at 90K.

Central locking failed by infra-red for 2 weeks, then started working OK at 100K.

General Comments:

+ Despite problems, this has been a very good car. Fairly good for towing a 1100kg caravan, let down by front wheel drive without traction control, and poor handbrake.

- Feature content poor for a supposedly top of the range model e.g. no airbags, no aircon etc.

+ Interior trim/switchgear looks dated, but still no rattles or squeaks.

+ Leather trim very durable.

+ Averages about 29mpg round town - best 34mpg on a run. Towing, between 19-23 mpg.

+ Lovely action gearbox. Still good after 100K.

+ Never had to top-up oil between 6,000 mile services.

+ Group 12 insurance for GSi, less for lower specs. make it cheap to insure.

+ Would seriously consider buying another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

11th Feb 2002, 13:01

I also drive a 1993 620GSi and have experienced some of the problems mentioned in the review.

With regards to the intermittent stalling from cold at idle, I found that this problem disappeared when I replaced the Champion plugs with NGK plugs. No mechanic can explain why this made a difference, but it did wonders for my engine. I suggest you try it.

The Rover radio in my car also suffered the same problems. In the end, I gave up with the Rover unit and replaced it with a Sony head unit. This works fine... so far. It also has a much better sound than the standard unit.

If the central locking remote fails, check that the micro switch on the printed circuit board is properly aligned with the button on the remote casing. Even if the switch is being pressed, on mine it has to be pressed directly in the centre or no infra-red signal is sent (despite red light illuminating).

Hope this helps.

28th Feb 2005, 14:55

Kwik fit will replace the back box for around £70. I bought a rover 620 and needed one straight away. they had one on the shelf and did it straight away. can't say how long it will last for yet though as the box only 2 days old.

1993 Rover - Austin 600 620 SLi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 416 GSi

Summary:

A luxury cruiser that isn't easy to find

Faults:

Oil filter loose and burnt oil.

General Comments:

An excellent car, the whole personna of the car is one of class and it cruises along. It looks and feels the part. At 80mph on the motorway with a CD playing quietly, road noise is hardly apparent. Unlike the 400 series, the 620 has great leg room in the front and more electrical stuff than Dixons.

It was also recently voted the 6th most reliable car by Which magazine with the likes of the Ford Mondeo and Puergeot 406 coming 22nd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2000

3rd Feb 2001, 21:14

I would question the feature content (See the 1993 620GSi entry which is a higher spec).

Road noise is subjective, but I would consider the 600 as only average when compared to other comparable vehicles.

1993 Rover - Austin 600 620 SLi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

CV-Joint, aeriel sticking, constant need to replace rear bulbs, minor trim problems. Undiagnosed wheel problem.

General Comments:

As a 21-year old student, this so-called pipe and slippers car gets me some serious respect with fellow students, and out-performs so-called hot hatches easily. However a very worrying shake reveals itself when tackling a steep incline, three dealers have been unable to identify the problem. If not resolved soon, a new car beckons, its a pity it won't be British, at least not a Rover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2000

22nd Mar 2001, 19:31

My name is shax, I am also a student. I am going to buy a 620 but I know it won't beat the hot hatches because its not quick enough. Unless your racing 1.2 novas!! I drive a Toyota corolla GTI, the 620 certainly won't beat that.

1993 Rover - Austin 600 623 is 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.3
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Brake discs warp every 8k miles, new discs and pads fitted £300. I have had 3 sets fitted, but company car owned service history shows first 2 sets lasted 45k miles. Car has now done 115k.

Dash bulbs and electric window switch bulbs blown, difficult to change and expensive. Main dealer servicing is expensive. Cam belts replaced £220.

One of the 4 wheel ABS brake sensors replaced £130.

General Comments:

Lots of road noise and general engine noise over 3,000 revs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

4th Mar 2005, 14:59

Kwik fit will replace the front pads and disks for £190 fitted. give them a try. it took two hours for them to fit mine.

1993 Rover - Austin 600 Si 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Brake light bulbs always blowing.

Exhaust system rots away quickly at rear box.

Radio/stereo buttons fail after a while.

Boot always smells of underseal.

General Comments:

Great acceleration.

Comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews