1994 Rover - Austin 600 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Rover - Austin 600 i 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance65500 miles

Summary:

A fantastic first car!

Faults:

Complicated cam belt change.

General Comments:

This is my first car and it is brilliant. It accelerates quickly, but it still has reasonable insurance.

It's comfortable and the controls are within easy reach of the driver.

The gearbox is very smooth and precise.

When I'm driving it I get far more respect than a 17 year old normally gets on the road from other drivers.

For a first it perhaps is not very appropriate, but it's quick, handles nicely and looks very impressive parked outside school!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

3rd Jul 2001, 14:25

How exactly do you afford the group 10 insurance - must be at least £2000 a year?

10th Jul 2001, 04:01

Try Co-operative Insurance Services:

No share holders, no rip-offs.

10th Jul 2001, 16:18

Cheers.

I'm 21 and being fleased for just under a grand for comprehensive insurance on an insurance group 3 car! And I've just found out it does NOT entitle me to drive other cars on 3rd party cover.

I'll give them a try!

20th Jul 2001, 10:01

You have sense beyond your years.

Enjoy the 620. If you're ever looking for another one once you get a bit of NCD, I recommend the 623 Auto, chassis is stronger and engine goes like stink. Get the auto with sports setting and you're looking at 8.0 seconds 0-60! :)

21st Jan 2002, 19:02

I've got a 620i and I'm only 18. Its the first car I've owned (although for the past year I've been driving my dad's orion 1600E, a lot quicker than the rover, but not as luxurious) and the only way I can afford to insure it is with the CIS. Plus I got nearly £200 off because my dad has insurance with them.

The best car I've seen to waste a student loan on.

3rd Dec 2002, 07:42

Now had the car in the review for about eighteen months. It has been totally reliable, only has had routine maintenance, and is still going strong having now done about 85,000 miles.

1994 Rover - Austin 600 Si 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Totally underrated, smooth operator

Faults:

New radiator, previous one was holed by a stone.

Couple of rear brake light bulbs, one reverse light.

New brake pads, automatics eat them apparently.

General Comments:

A smooth, pleasant driving car, largely ignored at the lights until they see your exhaust!

Inside, it's so-so, comfortable chairs and a good driving position. Huge boot, can drive 4 people and luggage easily. Not bad economy, cheap-ish servicing and consumables.

A real motorway cruiser that eats up the miles. Around town, the ride is only average and stay away from pot-holes!

A classy alternative saloon for not many pounds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

1994 Rover - Austin 600 620 Si 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Go get one if you want size, performance and good runnning costs on a budget

Faults:

Nothing at all, oops oh forgot... a bulb in the dashboard... touch wood!

General Comments:

A big bang for your buck, big car, tons of boot space, goes quick, the only downside was the interior - so typically Rover! Crap horrid thick clunky buttons and a very bland dashboard, but what the hell with this level of reliability and performance for what they cost, I am certainly not complaining.

Always try to get the Honda engined models for the reliability (I was told this).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

1994 Rover - Austin 600 GSi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 218 SLDT

Summary:

A cheap way into the family executive market

Faults:

Bulbs constantly blowing.

Front brake discs warped (twice).

ABS sensors, pump.

Air conditioning.

Bottom ball joints.

General Comments:

Excellent value for money, the GSi comes with everything electric and leather, and it all works!!!

Poor fuel economy round town (good on the motorway), bad ride quality and brake problems let this otherwise fine quality car down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 11 reviews