2003 Rover - Austin 75 Reviews

2003 Rover - Austin 75 conn.s.e.hi-line 2.0 c.d.t.i. from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 c.d.t.i. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

Extremely comfortable,well performing, great looking car!

Faults:

Rear brake light blown.

General Comments:

The car has great performance, good acceleration. It is very comfortable with well supported seats. It has an amazing "goodies!" list, eg. sat-nav, television, computer, cruise control, rear sun-blind, leather seats etc. etc.! Some may fell it looks "old -fashioned, with leather and wood etc, but that's what I love about the car!, I love the retro look about it.

As already stated, the performance is great for me, being a diesel (131 p.s.), it has great torque, and good for safe overtaking! It is extremely comfortable, on the motorway is it at its best, cruising comfortably all day. That said, my commute to work, is about 12 miles each way (using small roads, plenty of traffic lights etc!), and I also find I'm relaxed when I arrive (eventually!) at work!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2006

2003 Rover - Austin 75 20 CDTI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 20 CDTI Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 45

Summary:

Nice car, to drive and to look at... so long as you don't mind it breaking down

Faults:

CD player didn't work from new, took 2 months to get a replacement.

The clutch fell apart at 2500 miles.

Both front door panels keep coming loose despite several visits to the dealer to get fixed.

Exhaust Manifold cracked at 50k, replaced under warranty.

Clutch slave cylinder started leaking, resulting in no clutch at all at 61k, just out of warranty.

Engine ECU developed a fault, stopping the injectors working at 64k, not under warranty.

General Comments:

This was purchased as a company car from new, the previous model we had was a 45 1.6sli, covered 200k miles with no problems, all of the mileage is mostly motorway driving, so the 75cdti seemed a good choice... at the time.

As it turns out the car has been a total pile of junk. We now face a bill of £1500 to get it repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

15th May 2006, 07:00

I bought a 75 cdt tourer year 03 from new, not had a problem until now. The clutch has now burnt out, bought extra warranty hope we are covered, only done 25000 miles how can it happen at such low mileage when I've never had a problem before, its just had its 3rd service.

2003 Rover - Austin 75 cdti tourer club SE 2.0 cdti from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 cdti Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Only one problem to date. The clutch squealed on take up. I waited 3 months for the replacement, it was replaced to a high standard by the main dealer.

General Comments:

A very comfortable and smooth car, performance excellent for such a large car. Towing capabilities quite impressive easily achieving over the national speed limit if allowed with a towing fuel consumption of 30 mpg.

A excellent car all round.

GOOD WORK MG ROVER!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2004

2003 Rover - Austin 75 CDTi Connoisseur 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

It looks, feels and drives like a car costing twice the price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this car as I required a large comfortable estate with good performance and economy. I have not been disappointed.The car is quick and light to drive, road-holding is excellent and I average around 44 mpg.

The interior with its "Retro Modern" styling may not appeal to those who prefer everything in matt black, but there is no mistaking its pedigree.

The build quality is excellent, both externally and internally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

23rd Jan 2005, 03:34

I think a yellow smiley would be more appropriate here!

12th Apr 2005, 11:09

Yes.yellow smiley needed!.

5th Jan 2007, 13:22

I'm a 75, were is my yellow face?

12th Nov 2009, 02:34

Great answer, you still have your wits about you. :-)

2003 Rover - Austin 75 cdti 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 1.4GS

Summary:

Air conditioning unsatisfactory

Faults:

Unpleasant smell in car from air vents.

General Comments:

The car has been to the garage several times, but still have not solved the problem.

Unsatisfactory service form the so called professionals.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2004

2003 Rover - Austin 75 Conoisseur Tourer 1.8 petrol turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired700 miles
Most recent distance2700 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Brisk performance for a big car with a small engine

Faults:

Gear lever vibrates when accelerating hard. My 1979 Ford Capri used to do that too.

Misses at around the 70 mph mark.

General Comments:

I was pleasantly surprised to see that my employer has secured this car for me for a one month contact. I travel around 170 miles per day in it. 7 days a week.

Although I don't own it, I've come to know it well, so here's what I think:

It's Leather seats are comfortable, supportive and look great.

The CD sound system is second to none.

The 1.8 turbo petrol engine is a fantastic set up. There is some lag in the low rev range, but at 3,000 rpm it surges and at 4,000 revs it surges again! It's a very responsive and quick car for it's size.

I don't like all of the cheap shiny plastic walnut look fascia.

The gear knob is a completely irregular shape. Not something I'd have designed.

The red instrument lighting is awful. How can you drive in the dark with theses things sitting directly in front of your eyes? It's too off putting and quite dangerous in my opinion. Volkswagen have got it right with the use of blue lighting.

The hazard warning light switch gets in the way. It's right behind the gear lever and I've accidentally hit it on numerous occasions. Bad positioning. Get it moved Rover.

The ten spoke alloy wheels look like wheel trims.

Rear visibility is poor.

Having said all that, I still like it. However, those owners who say it's a head turner and say people are looking at them all the time are lying. It doesn't look stylish. Just a little unusual. It's still a good car though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

2003 Rover - Austin 75 CDTIC Tourer 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance5850 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 25

Summary:

As close to perfection as one can get

Faults:

I can report total reliability.

General Comments:

I am absolutely delighted with this car. Though it is a diesel it is quiet and refined. Indeed, at times almost too quiet as I find myself exceeding the motorway speed limit all too easily. Long distances can be covered in ease and comfort.

The leather seats are perhaps a trifle on the firm side, but otherwise comfort is exceptional.

The climate control is very effective though I notice that the engine is slow to warm up in cold weather and short journeys in the winter could be warmer.

The level of equipment is high and I want for nothing. The radio is excellent.

A slight drawback is the length of the vehicle which makes parking a trifle difficult. Also, visibility to the rear could be better. However, the length does mean that I have terrific carrying capacity which has come in handy on more than one occasion.

Possible the most important feature is the extraordinary economy. I have kept careful records and, to date, have achieved 47.2 mpg. This has to be good, especially when bearing in mind the size of the vehicle.

The ride is good, but not brilliant. Bumps can be heard rather than felt, but on smooth roads it is fine with very little of the roll that some people have reported.

All in all, a most satisfactory car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews