2004 Rover - Austin 75 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Rover - Austin 75 2litre turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2litre turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carAudi A2

Summary:

Lamentable Quality Control

Faults:

Noisy clutch bearing

Faulty Clutch (squeals when pulling away)

Low speed rattle from under bonnet.

General Comments:

My local dealer knew all about the faulty clutch. "We have ten others just like it awaiting replacement". Clutch needs to be replaced, but dealer is unable to obtain the parts.

Low speed rattle is being blamed on faulty engine mountings!!!. These also need replacing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

30th Nov 2004, 05:57

Rover 75 2.0 litre Tourer purchased new May 2003, clutch failed on 18/11/04 after 9000 miles, attributed to worn clutch plate and driver error (dealer later apologised for comment). Dealer explained asbestos withdrawn from clutch facing by manufacturer for Health & Safety reasons.

Bill to replace over £600. Any suggestions on course of action?

10th Dec 2004, 10:21

Don't you get a 3 yr warranty with the car?

2004 Rover - Austin 75 CDti from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Thirsty diesel

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Insurance company have lent me one of these after our lovely old Merc' was written off.

The fuel consumption is terrible. It is only returning about 30 MPG, on a run. There is a lot of black soot on the rear bumper above the exhaust.

There are a lot of little annoying things that I don't like. I don't like how you have to spray loads of water on the screen before the wipers come on, sometimes you only want a little squirt.

The boot is totally out of sight for reversing.

A pillars too thick.

Auto box makes the car judder when it changes itself down.

Decent sounds from the cd player.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2004

28th May 2004, 09:48

You must have been lent a dud. My CDTi does over 40 and I am heavy footed! No soot,very comfortable.

20th Jul 2004, 14:48

My CDTi is returning 40mpg in mixed driving, 45+ on a run, the one you drove must have had a problem.

7th Oct 2006, 07:31

He is driving the auto, so that's maybe why MPG low.

9th Jun 2010, 15:46

Mine is an auto and I still get 40mpg. Reckon there was a fault with this one. Done 40k on mine in three years and love it to bits.

The auto avoids the occasionally problematic clutch slave cylinder issue, and makes for a relaxed commute to work.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews