1992 Rover - Austin 800 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Rover - Austin 800 vitesse 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

As big as a Planet, Goes like the starship Enterprise

Faults:

Drive shaft seal.

Clutch (these cars seem to eat them)

Head gasket went (had head skimmed to solve that problem)

General Comments:

This car is so quick, I just couldn't belive something so big could move that fast.

0-60 about 6.7 seconds and I've had it to 137 MPH, I just can't wait to up the BHP.

The only problem is a bit of rust, but that's to be expected from a car that's 11 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

1992 Rover - Austin 800 820 Si 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

A bargain, but expensive when goes wrong

Faults:

Electric Windows Stick and Beep when going down at random intervals.

Rattles from central locking and windows.

Rust on boot and rear doors - treated and reappeared 1 year later.

Squeaking power steering pump.

Minor part in engine broke 50000 miles. Caused the engine to stop completely.

Head Cylinder Gasket blown 63000 miles.

Engine leaks oil slightly.

Rover alarm - sometimes goes off in bright sunshine on its own accord.

General Comments:

Effortless performance.

Handles well.

But a lot went wrong after it reached 8 years old and was costly to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

21st Aug 2003, 07:10

I had one of these on a 'K' plate, I bought it from a friend who got it from Blackbush auction a couple of years before. I part-exed it with 320,000 miles on the clock, I still can't believe it was still going strong, it had a couple of problems, blowing exhaust and a header tank water leak, but it still drove.

1992 Rover - Austin 800 825 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Nice driving car when it goes

Faults:

Just about everything electrical.

Buttons falling out.

Alternator faults drained battery.

Squeaky loose fitting dashboard.

General Comments:

The best turbo diesel gearbox combination I have ever had. Massive tall gearing with lots of torque, effortless fast driving car with economy. Handles & stops very well.

Sadly let down by appalling gremlins in the electrics & build quality area.

Appalling lumber support in seats, removing it easy & gives a vast improvement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2001

1992 Rover - Austin 800 820 Vitesse 5 door hatch 2.0i turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0i turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired91613 miles
Most recent distance111165 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

A lot of metal and performance for the money

Faults:

Head gasket.

Turbo.

General Comments:

Absolutely brilliant vehicle, fantastic car for annoying people who think it is "only" a Rover 820. If I want to put my foot down to pass something, then I just go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

1992 Rover - Austin 800 Vitesse Turbo 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 827 Si

Summary:

A cheap Cosworth beater

Faults:

Head gasket leak.

Window motor.

General Comments:

Fantastic, so fast.

Had to remove the cat and have a big bore exhaust made, removing the cat alone added 22hp on the rolling road.

Had the head skimmed when the head gasket was renewed.

Ditched the standard air box for K&N cone (Escort Cosworth unit, fits straight on with adaptor tube and fed cold air intakes via pipes from front grille to feed it. Ran engine breather to the atmosphere).

Fitted 45 profile tyres to the front to alter the gearing (sub 7 sec 0-60 mph) for massive mid range acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

1992 Rover - Austin 800 820i 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Catalytic converter failed.

New ignition coil.

New engine management computer.

New big ends.

Cylinder head overhauled to cure sticking valves.

Constant "pinking" for the last 20,000 miles (seems incurable).

General Comments:

A basically a good, quick, comfortable load carrier. Badly let down by poor engine reliability. This was the Rover designed engine, and is best avoided if the Honda one is available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 1998

12th Dec 2000, 17:13

Sound's like you got a 'Friday afternoon car' or one that's been much neglected by a previous owner. I have had several Rover 1994 cc petrol engines (O,M and T series) with multipoint injection and covered up to 30,000 miles toward the end of their lives on each with none of these problems.

Honda only make V6 engines for the 800 which are thirsty and expensive to put right, even if they go wrong less often.

7th Jan 2001, 12:32

The only problem that I've had with my M-reg 800, is the usual head joint and today the clutch slave cylinder rubber's went on me. Apart from that it's been fine.

Ken, Liverpool

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews