1986 Rover - Austin Metro Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1986 Rover - Austin Metro Mayfair 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Hydro gas suspension and the starter motor. Not much really.

General Comments:

Lovely car to drive, and takes a good thrashing in 3rd gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1986 Rover - Austin Metro Auto 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1986
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

An excellent bargain car if you get a well maintained one

Faults:

Rear brake shoe hydraulic cylinders (both sides)that set me back £10 each, easy to install though. Also slightly rusty.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a lady at work after a unfortunate accident with my previous car. She was under the impression that the automatic transmission would "go" after 48,000 to 52,000. I paid £200 for it. I was told by a mechanic friend that if the engine oil and filter was changed regularly i.e. 4000 to 5000 miles (transmission uses the same oil as the engine) it would last "forever". I've followed this advice and it's still going! There is a slight slip from 3rd to 4th but it's done this ever since I've had it and doesn't seem to have got worse. I think the engine and transmission will no doubt outlast the bodywork. This has been a great investment (you can't go wrong for £200!) I was fortunate to get a low mileage 2 women owners one. I keep saying I'm going to get a new car but it's still going so I see no point other then for vanity reasons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2000

28th Sep 2001, 04:36

I got a 1.3 automatic for £40, it slips sometimes between 3rd and 4th, but it goes well. Tyres are expensive.

3rd Nov 2004, 07:01

I got hold of a 1litre for a £5, I've owned it for 3 years and its never gone wrong. metros are the way forward.

1986 Rover - Austin Metro City X 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10

Faults:

Engine/gearbox, front CV joints, ball joints, distributor, leaking radiator, oil contaminated clutch, seized brake calipers. You name it, it went wrong!!

General Comments:

The car was a pile of crap. Using ONE LITRE of ENGINE OIL every 150 - 200 miles. Kept jumping out of 2nd gear. The bloody thing was in for repairs more time than on the road. It had only covered 65,000 miles when I sold it for £200. £50 more than I paid (not including the £500 I spent on repairs).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

14th Dec 2000, 16:33

I owned 3 Mini Metro's and they had similar problems: rust, clutch judder, brakes, although for the rest I had luck.

The car I own now is a Volkswagen Golf 1.3 from 1983 and compared with the Metro it is a boring car because everything works and if not, it's easy to repair due to the clever design...

12th Apr 2001, 10:12

I don't have any comments, but I wonder if you know about the mechanicals? If you know, I want to ask you if I can fit a Turbo in my car (Austin Metro City X 1.3) and if I can, where I can find it?

Thanks a lot.

27th Feb 2004, 19:21

I had the 1.0 City model for 7 months which I bought for £10 for my wife to learn to drive in - I changed the oil, adjusted the tappets, serviced the brakes and spent nothing else on it. When it refused to start 2000 miles later I just towed it to the scrapper.

My conclusion - great car as long as you don't pay more than £100 for it or spend more than £50 on any repair.

29th Mar 2004, 08:58

I own an Austin Metro City x 1.3, and I love it. It is the same age as me (18 yrs old) and the only major rust has been under the wheel aches. I spent £200 on it which is nothing compared to the insurance £600.

16th Jan 2006, 15:55

I bought a Metro City 1 litre (1986) for £180 with 40,000 miles on the click, have since taken that to 52,000 miles with £35 of repairs. Rust never needed addressing, £20 putting new clamps on (i discovered the exhaust had been replaced for me). £5 cos I got it stuck in reverse because I went too quickly backwards, but merly bruit force was the solution. Great fun to drive, will cope with 85mph although it feels like take off at 75mph, I believe I get 35 miles to the gallon.

Only downside is that it's a bit dangerous with such skinny tires, stopping distance surprises me in the wet.

1986 Rover - Austin Metro MG Turbo 1.3 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.3 turbo petrol
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10

Faults:

Everything!

Gearbox, cylinder head, water pump, thrust bearings, waste gate, clutch, starter motor solenoid, alternator, etc, etc!

General Comments:

Worst car I have ever owned! Poor performance, woeful reliability, horrendous running costs and awful dealers, need I say more, avoid like the plague!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

1986 Rover - Austin Metro L 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Intermittent fault with electrical feed to starter motor caused a few non starts.

General Comments:

Over the four years I have had this car, it has only failed on me twice. Not bad for a 12 year old car! Very cheap to run too. Thoroughly recommended for a first car or cheap runabout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 1998

1986 Rover - Austin Metro MG 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

New gearbox at 17K; two exhausts in three years; rust after 1 year.

General Comments:

Good in its day; glad I got rid of it though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 1997

7th Mar 2001, 10:20

They are excellent budget minded people cars. They aren't flash but they do their job. Just make sure you choose the very best you can afford.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews