1987 Rover - Austin Metro L 1.0 from UK and Ireland


Awesome car


Exhaust gone a few times.

Speedometer cable snapped on its way for an MOT.

General Comments:

Brilliant car.

Quite quick for a 1.0 when you put your foot down, it does 70MPH easy on the motorway.

Had a lot of rust when I first had it, and has been done up, and I have had no rust trouble since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

1987 Rover - Austin Metro Surf 1.0 benzine super from Greece


Super fast, super small, super


Because of the Mediterranean climate, rust is Metro's greatest fear. The exhaust needed to be changed, and there is a lot of rust behind the wheels.

General Comments:

It's engine is full of life. It can do 160km/h!

I've driven many cars in my life, but none handles like it! The hydraulic suspension system is just great for mountain roads. I can't say the same about my back.

It seems impossible, but it only needed 9lt of fuel (benzine super) for a 235km trip (3.8lt/100km)!

It's easy to find any part of it, used or new, but not the tires. There are 7 new tires for it all over Greece, and I have bought 4 of those.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

1987 Rover - Austin Metro City 1.0 from UK and Ireland


You ain't drove til you drove a Metro!!!


Suspension mounts rusted away til there's nothing left!!!

Rear brake cylinder burst at 75mph on motorway!!!

General Comments:

I love my Metro even though it's now sitting on the drive needing about £500 worth of welding doing to it to get it through the MOT.

There's a hole in the front wing I can fit my head through!!!

Apart from the rust this is a fantastic car, always started first time, never once broke down in the 12000 miles I did in 12 months, for the £200 I paid that ain't bad.

Engine sounds knackered now since I got it up to 112MPH and only stopped when the exhaust fell off - very very very scary, wouldn't recommend!!!

Just wish it was worth spending the money to put it back on the road, but I can't bare the thought of sending my little Metro to the scrap yard.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

21st Jan 2003, 06:01

I take it that you own the MG version and not the standard one, because the latter tops out at a modest 96 mph.

28th Mar 2003, 05:46

Finally got the car started and took it to the breakers yard just wish I hadn't now, but that's British Leyland cars for you. And yes it was a city and when pushed could easily top a ton... (that is down hill with the pedal flat) I Now own a peugeot 309 no where near as much fun as the metro - seems that original metro's are now a dying breed and becoming extinct shame!!!

1987 Rover - Austin Metro MG 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Like a wart, it grows on you


Gearbox endbearing, engine re-con req'd, sticking valves, flat tyres on the alloy wheels every week, CV joint, ball joints, radius arms, wheel studs snapping causing body damage.

General Comments:

Bad car, but for some reason loved it, it had been kept in a garage 3 years previously so I figured it was a good buy for £500 for a car with only 6 years use, but it ended up costing me double that to keep it running, but eventually gave up after 9 months of ownership, and went out and bought a Rover Metro 1400S to retain a bit of the fun, but to gain some Japanese influenced reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2000

1987 Rover - Austin Metro Turbo 1.5 turbo now from UK and Ireland


In 2 years I've had 3 gearboxes and heads gone once.

General Comments:

After boring it out and having a 1.5 fitted it goes like a rocket. I kill my friends Sierra Cossie no doubt every time (Honest).

But very fun to drive, I've had 148mph but slowed as I couldn't control it after.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 1999

13th Oct 2007, 14:17

Turbos have 13" wheels, get it right. They're a lot wider and have a much high speed rating. Seeing as my tuned 1275 Clubman would crack 115mph (Autobahn, satnav based speed reading as well as car speedo), a tuned Metro turbo could exceed that with an increased rev range or a longer final drive ratio quite easily. That said, I think 148mph wasn't the actual speed reached! But you never know ;)

Gearbox and aerodynamic issues? The Mini Miglia cars (standard mini round-nose silhouette) reach race speeds of around 125/130mph on the straights, and they do just fine!

26th Oct 2007, 18:14

Not sure how it would get near 148. Stats say it's only 93bhp standard, which is a good amount for a small car. Compare it to a Saxo VTR with 100bhp, similar weight, and can only do 120, and they are geared for it.

I suppose the metro will be quicker than that since it's been bored out, but not much quicker.

And keeping up with a cossie sounds a bit... odd.

1987 Rover - Austin Metro MG S 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Not much as I have only had it a short amount of time. I hear that the gear boxes ruin quite easily.

General Comments:

A good quick car for first time driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 1999

1987 Rover - Austin Metro City X 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


Worn engine, knackered gearbox, burnt out distributor, front wheel bearings, ball joints, blown head gasket, major oil leaks, hole in the floor, 100's of flat tyres, exhaust fell off. You name it, it went wrong!

General Comments:

Felt like torching it. Mind you, the car only cost £100. Not to mention the £950 I spent on repairs. The car was an unreliable piece of crap. If "D508WBB" is still on the road now, I shall be very surprised. The low (?) mileage made me buy it - 46,000. I had the car for 3 months and sold it for £100 with 46,988 miles on it.

*** Don't buy this car if you see it ***

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

1987 Rover - Austin Metro City 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


When I first got the car one of the rear bearings was noisy and had to be replaced.

Water Pump needed to be replaced due to leak.

Front wing needed replacing due to rust, also rear subframe suffered the same fate.

General Comments:

We've had this car for 5 years and it's started every time! It's now 11 years old and rust has taken its toll but I've done most of the work on it myself - most parts coming from its predecessor!

Parts are dead easy to get from scrap dealers - you can even specify the colour of bodyparts!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 1998

26th Dec 2000, 09:10

I'm looking for 4 wheels and I can't find any. I only can find a new ones which are very expensive. What should I do?