1989 Rover - Austin Metro Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Rover - Austin Metro City 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Cheeky, characterful, and cheap (can't say that about many modern cars, eh?)

Faults:

Where to start? Nothing too serious though!

Water pump exploded, making a pretty fountain, got many admiring glances!

Engine mountings became worn (through enthusiastic driving methinks ;) ).

Points kept melting. Apart from that, it's been very reliable.

General Comments:

Fantastic little car. OK, so you can tell it's an old design, but it handles (and rides!) like a go kart. Leave the accelerator buried for a while, and the acceleration is pretty damn fast, even in the 1.0. Those A-Series engines are fantastic. Also, rattles are easy to fix - screw it or glue it, that's what I did, and it works. It also uses hardly any fuel. Mine did 50mpg at 80mph! Not bad huh? Interior might be cheap, but it's well thought out, and does the job fine.

I'd recommend this car to anyone who wants a car with bags of character, and doesn't mind hitting their legs on the dashboard when they change gear (I'm 6'2 though, it might not happen to everybody!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

15th Jan 2004, 08:48

Brillant review! I have this car and I think that it is great! I have only had the car for a few months and it is my 1st car!! I spent ages loking for one because I had my heart set on it! when I got a little white one I was dead happy. nope hitting legs on the dash doesn't happen to everyone, but then again I am 4 feet 11!!!

A few things are wrong with my car however nothing really bad its just not perfect!!!

Graet car.

1989 Rover - Austin Metro ARX 1.3 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres

Summary:

Great, great, great small car!

Faults:

On my way back from my holidays in the French Alps, the radiator told me to do it myself, but further, nothing.

Really a fantastic car to drive, pretty quick for such a small car and with my Janspeed exhaust a lot of looks!

General Comments:

The best car you can drive for the money...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2000

5th Sep 2003, 10:16

I've got an Austin Metro 1.0L City, because the insurance was cheap as a 17 year old. Now I have driven a few cars so far, including a new Rover 25, a Renault 5 1.4, a suped up Corsa, and I love the Metro best.

For a one litre, I can get it to go 96 mph (sshhh); that's on the flat.

It can dart in and out of traffic like a motorbike (shhh).

Park it anywhere.

I've had 6 people in it, and I'm sure you could put more in it. It looks great; I don't wanna supe it up.

It's got to be the best car I've driven so far.

I've never had any problems with it, and I don't drive like an old lady (no offence to all the sweet crazy ladies out there).

I've got to sell it now because I'm going travelling. I'm gonna miss it, scooterrace54758@aol.com

1989 Rover - Austin Metro Studio 2 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

A dependable, but still cheeky chap

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

A fantastic first car. Cheap to run, easy to drive, and a little more whoomph than your average city banger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2000

5th Oct 2004, 07:34

I love my car to pieces, it's a good little car. quite fast too.

Cost me a lot to repair - £240 --- I'm a student!

But it was great value for money when I bought it - £280.

30th May 2009, 10:44

My mum had a Metro Studio 2 and she loved it. And it sat on 100 no bother at all. She never got caught doing that, I do not know how not.

1989 Rover - Austin Metro 1.0 petrol from Portugal

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10

Faults:

Pollution level at MOT.

General Comments:

Very funny driving and a very nice noise!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

1989 Rover - Austin Metro MG 1.4 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

The gearbox has had to be replaced after about 70,000 miles, also the hydro gas units get softer and softer. So much so the CV joints occasionally popped out causing very loud grinding noises.

General Comments:

I decided to go the whole hog with this car. It started off as a 1.3 turbo but as the pistons began to wear I had it bored out to 1.4 and a ported and flowed head put on. This coupled with a big bore exhaust and K&N filter and a rise in the boost pressure has increased the bhp to 150 from my estimates. Great on islands when spax dampers are fitted. Top speed at least 130 mph! Shame about the gearbox else it is a pleasurable car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

14th Jan 2002, 10:03

I agree, these are not good cars. BUY JAPANESE!!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 22 reviews