1990 Rover - Austin Metro Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1990 Rover - Austin Metro GTA 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

A little flash for not much cash

Faults:

Carburettor float chamber collapsed.

This was at 77000 miles.

Secondhand carburettor purchased.

Brakes do not seem to last long!

Has also needed both front floor pans welding up and both the rear wheel arches have rusted through spoiling an otherwise beautiful looking hot hatch.

General Comments:

It is a reliable enough car.

It is very simple to maintain.

The main Rover dealers are too expensive for parts.

The car is pretty quick off the mark and will beat most cars to 40mph, when it runs out of steam!

The driving position is terrible!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

15th Jun 2001, 13:17

Also the front exhaust downpipes have now rusted at 83000miles..can't moan really/still thrashing and redlining the car all day!

14th Jan 2002, 10:10

I agree, metros are crap!!

22nd Jan 2002, 10:12

How do you know Metro's are crap? They are very good cars. Oh, by the way, what are you driving?

1990 Rover - Austin Metro L Clubman A-series 1.3 (1275cc) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3 (1275cc) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

Nova killer

Faults:

Radiator, seats suffer from mould.

General Comments:

With an Ashley exhaust, K+N air-filter, alloys and turbo body kit, it's the best first car anyone can have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1990 Rover - Austin Metro Knightsbridge 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired61099 miles
Most recent distance61500 miles

Summary:

Characterful, nippy little car

Faults:

When I brought the car the speedometer did not work so that had to be fixed.

It leaks oil from the sump, has a clutch shudder and small amount of rust, the rear wash also does not work.

Interior and bodywork is generally in good condition for a car of its age.

General Comments:

Metro's are good, old fashioned and generally reliable cars. The 1.3 engine makes it quick and dare I say it, powerful compared to smaller engined hatchbacks. I will always buy Metro's so long as they are available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

1990 Rover - Austin Metro L 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro Turbo

Summary:

Great for the go-kart track that is suburbia

Faults:

Laquer peeling off the roof.

Brake pedal vibration.

Slightly deflated suspension can be a rough ride on London's third-world potholed roads.

Nothing else has gone wrong despite considerable abuse from the driver and children.

General Comments:

I bought this as a stop-gap runabout and still have it nearly 5 years later. It is like a go-kart to drive and the K-series engine is really smooth and revvy with a noticeable power band.

It gets mercilessly caned around the back lanes. It has not been serviced for 3 years but has never broken down. It uses no oil and does 40mpg. I can't justify selling it as it's worth nothing and as I can't see it blowing up I'll probably have it for some time to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2000

1990 Rover - Austin Metro GTa 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance54500 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A rapid old box

Faults:

Nothing major, the engine needed tuning as it was breathing too much air, easily fixed.

It pulled to the left quite badly, but this was fixed by swapping the front tyres and I had the suspension pumped up as it felt like I was driving a shopping trolley.

Changed the cam belt as soon as I got it, just a precaution as they are meant to go at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

A nice first car that was cheap to buy, insure (I'm 17 and it only cost me 500) and run.

The car itself is very nice to drive on a day to day basis and it possesses a reasonable turn of speed. The best thing about this car is its handling, it has fantastic grip, in part due to the standard over-size tyres but also to the very capable chassis.

Another plus is the acceleration to 50ish mph, this is very good because of its good power to weight ratio, the amount of much more "respected" cars I have had off at the lights always makes me smile.

Overall this is a nice little car that I think looks good, performs well and is very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

23rd Mar 2001, 19:10

Hi, I'm thinking of getting a GTa as my first car. £500 isn't a lot to pay at 17. I've been getting quotes closer £1500! If anyone knows any insurance companies with quotes this low please mail me: higginsthom@hotmail.com - Cheers!

2nd Jul 2001, 03:14

Yeah I'm 17 and am insured on my 1990 GTa and its costing me an arm and a leg, be-careful, try to look for a more performance young driver insurance company, they do exist! My mate is 17 and is insured on a 1.3 Nova SR for £800! Nice car tho! :)

17th Jun 2003, 01:42

I own a 1990 Gta, the old shape one. It's a brilliant little car, bought for a meer 100 pounds. Top quality mobile, its like driving a go cart!!!

11th Nov 2003, 09:01

500 quid insurance!!! I own a 1.1 and that's 900 tpft and that's the cheapest I could get!!

4th Aug 2004, 01:20

I got one for £195 and had no problems with it at all. the insurance is £361 with no car no claims, and I have 6 points on my licence due to motorcycles.

I'm 21 and been driving cars for about 8 months now.

Enjoy your motors, my dears. And avoid 309 Gtis, they suck large.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 15 reviews