2003 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 17 of 21

2003 SAAB 9-3 t from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

Massive amounts of brake dust, and turbo lag when trying to accelerate rapidly.

General Comments:

I would like to know if anyone has replaced the brake pads to eliminate brake dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

30th Jan 2006, 22:56

I am going to be purchasing a 2003 Saab. I am just curious if you still feel as happy as you did at 25,000 miles.

Let me know how things are going.

After reading the negative reviews, I am nervous about my Saab.

Any thing to help ease my worries would be appreciated.

11th Apr 2007, 11:22

I'm not the original person who wrote this review, but I'd say go for it. I just bought a 03 9-3 a month ago and I love it. Its been to the dealer three times, but for cosmetic stuff I insisted were fixed under warranty. It just takes time to order any of the parts because they have to come all the way from Sweden. I'm sure once you drive one, you'll be hooked as well. One of the best parts is that nobody here in So Cali has a Saab so it turns heads, I like that. Good luck!

21st Sep 2007, 00:32

I agree it does turn heads cause no one has them!

27th Dec 2007, 19:16

I have a 2003 Saab 93 Arc and I had the dealer put on dust protectors which work great. That costs about $150.00 but it is worth it.

2003 SAAB 9-3 Linear 2.2Tid from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2Tid Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Stunning looks, safe with good handling, but suffers from minor irritations

Faults:

Rattles from the dashboard.

Drivers seat has started to sag.

General Comments:

The engine is unrefined and noisy, but the performance is excellent. Fuel economy is also very good. I can achieve over fifty mile to the gallon when on a long motorway run, but I am a light footed driver.

The car has stunning looks from the outside whilst the cabin is comfortable and roomy. The rattles from the dash drive me to distraction although the dealers are always happy to try to solve the problem. The drivers seat is starting to sag and look as if it belongs to a car which has covered hundreds of thousands of miles instead of just thirty one thousand.

Access to the boot is not all that good. The boot lid could do with being allowed to fall closer to the rear screen to aid access.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th December, 2004

2003 SAAB 9-3 Linear 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Irrational exuberance meets real value and unsurpassed safety

Faults:

Hand brake wouldn't disengage at 2,000 miles. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Seats are very comfortable.

Adult passengers (some rather large) have insisted that three are fine in rear, though I doubt they'd be happy for hours. Cargo space is also very good, with convenient, innovative rear seat releases.

Some interior plastics don't feel as solid as they should, but overall quality and thoughtfulness are quite good. Console cup holder is perfect fit for wine bottle.

One might expect a better standard audio system. It's fine if you listen to NPR/BBC Radio 4, not if you like your techno loud.

Heating/cooling is superb. Just make sure you buy heated seats--I forgot and regret.

Car has very good acceleration, normally. There have been a few times, when I've been certain that I'm in the appropriate gear, where it didn't respond quickly. Gas mileage has been 27-31 with 80% city driving and lots of idling--impressive for class.

Shift isn't as nice as Fords and VW I've had, but still fine, except it stalls easily--without a warning stammer it simply stalls.

As time has gone on, I keep finding pleasant touches: When intermittent wipers are switched for increased frequency, they wipe immediately, as though to understand that the reason for need for increased wiper frequency means you need it to wipe now.

Rear fog light is very handy and surprisingly effective for having tailgaters back off.

The safety features, crash test results are unsurpassed. This is my first car with an anti-skid system, a nice feature to have in Michigan. Testing it, I hit the cul-de-sac on which I live going 30 mph on ice and snow. Without tapping the brakes, the car broke and corrected the skids to circle the cul-de-sac rather than endear me to my neighbors by driving over their front yard.

Brakes are tremendous.

If stolen or totaled, I can't think of a better value or suitable alternative to another Saab 9-3. It makes me smile nearly every day.

This will have been the last car actually engineered and designed by Saab (not Vauxhall/Opel) engineers and designers (who have all been dismissed) : Very sad news indeed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

21st Jan 2005, 09:47

Why do you have a wine bottle in your cup holder, are you a raging alcoholic?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 64 reviews