2003 SAAB 9-3 Reviews - Page 7 of 21

2003 SAAB 9-3 Vector Sport 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

Headlights burning out after a few months.

Worn rear springs and shocks.

All 4 wheel bearings worn.

Front drive shafts replaced.

Dashboard and door trims pealing.

Drivers seat sliding cable snapped.

Boot keeps opening.

Drivers seat collapsing gradually when adjusted to highest setting.

Horrible whining noise from front wheels even though new bearings and shafts replaced.

Possible gearbox problem.

Constant rattles and creaks all over car.

Front suspension creaking.

Clutches worn on aircon pump.

Timing chain noise.

Vibration from engine.

Engine mounts collapsed.

General Comments:

Worst car I have ever owned, car looks great but the build quality is total crap. I have driven cars fit for the scrap yard that drives better than my Saab.

If you want a car with the reliability of a Saab and the build quality of a Saab, why not consider a Trabant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2008

25th Sep 2008, 14:59

Because surely that is an insult to Trabant :)

26th Sep 2008, 11:39

The car you got is one in the million, you are damn lucky to get this lemon. I wish my two saab were like yours, so that I could take the car dealer and Saab to the cleaner.

2003 SAAB 9-3 Linear 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Good, but expensive to own

Faults:

Love the car's handling and safety, however SAAB's air conditioning compressors are the worst I have dealt with. Lost one in a 95 last year, daughter totaled the car, bought this 93, pretty car, love its performance and handling, however just blew that compressor. 2 in 2 years on different Saabs.

SAAB take note, I have a 91 Geo with over 200K, and the air conditioning will freeze you out. Also have a 1991 Camaro, 2001 Dodge Pick-up and 03 Infiniti with no aircon problems.

General Comments:

Great car if you do not need aircon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2008

2003 SAAB 9-3 Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

General Comments:

The first problem I had was the cd player wouldn't take in, or spit out cd's.

The second problem I had was while driving back from Calgary, my cruise control button got stuck and finally broke.

The third problem I have is the plastic covering on the dash is peeling.

The fourth problem was my gas meter said I had a 1/4 of a tank left and I ran out of gas (so I never let it get below 1/4 of a tank).

The fifth problem I had was my alarm would go off for no reason.

The sixth problem I have is my back windows will roll down but not up.

The seventh problem I have is my car suddenly won't start or turn over, yet all of my electrical systems are working. My radio works, and my windows work but the car won't start.

I've had this car for just over a year and can't believe the problems I'm having.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd March, 2008

23rd Mar 2008, 20:11

I'm sorry to hear of all the problems you've experienced with your Saab.

I own a 2003 Saab 9-3 Convertible, (which is based on the old body style) unlike the other 9-3s, the Convertibles did not change to the newer style until 2004.

My experience with this vehicle has been great. No problems to speak of at all. Both comfort and performance are fantastic, and I get mid to high 20's for gas mileage in mixed driving.

I wonder if the newer models were more problematic than the older ones?

2003 SAAB 9-3 Linear 2.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

High maintenance, sexy looks, recurring problems

Faults:

Sway bar crunch when hit pot holes. Fixed twice; already recurring once more.

Audio system went out. Dealer supposedly fixed. Went out again same day picked up from dealer.

Transmission slippage (engine rev).

Door locks going doesn't open from inside. passenger side.

High maintenance. Lack of quality dealer/mechanics. You will be

General Comments:

This car is like an injury prone world class athlete.

Like a dime chick with baggage.

The looks will definitely draw you in.

Sport transmission, lets you feel every pot hole regardless of size.

Handles great, ESPECIALLY in snow.

High maintenance for not being a BMW or Benz.

Always something wrong with it. And it's always recurring.

LEMON. Maybe the later models are better.

Spent over 4000 in maintenance cost for various defects.

Don't get 03 model (first year of the design change)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th March, 2008

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 64 reviews