11th Oct 2006, 08:51

I don't understand all of the bad reviews. My Saab 9-3 is a fantastic car!

17th Jan 2008, 09:56

Quick update - nearly a year and a half since my original review, and my 9-3 continues to be a delight.

Thus far no major issues at all. It continues to perform reliably, and is a very comfortable vehicle.

I was at my Saab dealer's for an oil change recently and noticed a brand new 9-3 convertible in the showroom. The new Saabs are very nice looking vehicles, but one thing I took note of was the interior.

The cockpit was laid out very nicely, however the interior materials seemed a bit cheap with far too much plastic for such an expensive vehicle. I guess that GM is cutting a few (too many) corners.

Perhaps they should take a look at how nicely Toyota builds their Lexuses, and make the interiors in their premium brands more like that, than looking like a vehicle destined for use as a rental car.

24th Oct 2008, 11:01

The Saab 9-3 reviewed here continues to perform flawlessly.

Highway mpg is actually in the high 20's (around 28 mpg) the power & handling of this Saab continue to amaze me.

Reliability has been excellent.

Best car I've ever owned!

13th Apr 2009, 15:33

Original reviewer again - I just returned from a 2 day 750 mile trip (Massachusetts to Pennsylvania & back) in my Saab 9-3 convertible. Not only was the entire trip very comfortable, but my Saab returned 31 mpg for the entire trip.

I'm still extremely happy with my 9-3.

25th Aug 2009, 12:49

I've been reading these comments and reviews for some time now. I purchased a used 93 Cabrio with 86K miles in May 2009. Looks, feels and drives like it's new. Car looks like it was new in the upper U.S. or Canada, there's snow evidence, salt deposits...

The handling is truly superb. Gas mileage is about 30MPG,... I've seen all the horror reviews and comments on multiple sites, but the only thing I worry about is the unreliability of the starting... crankshaft position sensor??? The dreaded service engine soon light just will not stay off. I've not invested any money in eliminating it yet. All the reviews and web-sites say this is a waste. I do seem to make it go off, not knowing what I did to do so. From a start, it will crank after two turns, consistently, but then when least expected, it will not start from off like the battery is dead or weak... Any advice regarding that light would be most appreciated...


11th Sep 2009, 13:33

Are you talking about the Service Reminder that displays in the center readout, or the Check Engine Light?

If it's the center readout saying that it is time for service, it just simply needs to be reset. It should be reset after every oil change.

23rd Sep 2009, 23:45

Had a 2003 9-3 convertible Viggen clone and loved it! Still stylish after all these years.

Nov 2007 my wife was in a head-on MVA with it and wrote it off. She walked away! The deep seats and airbag combo worked wonders, and I will buy the same model, same year when the right one comes up.

I miss my Saab :) Have 3 Volvos right now... I miss my Saab.

25th Nov 2009, 19:17

Most of the vehicles "rolled" were probably SUV's, a Saab 9-3 is a pretty stable ride.

9th Apr 2010, 14:13

I have had my Saab for about two years now. I bought it used and a records check indicate that it had been a rental car from Florida. Not sure how good the care is for rental cars, but thank goodness for my husband talking me into the extended warranty! We paid $1800 for the warranty and in two years, we have not had to have more than $3000 in repairs, and thankfully most covered under my extended warranty.

The car is at the dealer today getting a new AC compressor put on. The car has 86,000 miles on it. At this mileage what else should I be looking for to be wearing out on it?

Other than repairs, I love driving it in the summer with the top down!!

26th May 2010, 08:53

Original reviewer here - my 2003 Saab 9-3 Convertible still is performing flawlessly, and still is a delight to own & drive.

18th Sep 2011, 13:55

Original reviewer again - kept the car for almost 5 years to the day of purchase, and then sold it. Never gave me a problem at all - just did the routine maintenance and used synthetic oil. The fuel mileage on the highway continued to amaze me - on my last trip it recorded over 34 mpg.

Overall a great car - only complaints: a bit too much cowl shake and a tight back seat, but it is a convertible. I guess I was spoiled by my old VW Cabriolets, which were more rigid due to the "basket handle" style roll bar. Of course the Saab did seem to have a bit more room in the back than the VW though, and the trunk was adequate.

Would I own another Saab? Of course! If they manage to stay in business that is.

17th Oct 2011, 21:35

Original Reviewer - I went on the cheap and bought a used Chrysler Sebring LXi Convertible - Interior comfortable, roomy, though not quite of the same quality materials as the Saab. Smooth engine, smooth and quiet ride, and no cowl shake at all. I like the Sebring a lot!