2010 SAAB 9-5 Review

2010 SAAB 9-5 Aero 2.8L V6 from North America

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired171 miles
Most recent distance650 miles
Previous carJaguar XJR

Summary:

A jewel of a car, and different from its German competitors

Faults:

The car came without a spare tire.

General Comments:

The acceleration of this car is slightly above average from 0 - 60MPH, but pulls very strong while passing.

The interior is very nice, and the seats are extremely comfortable.

The fit and finish of the car is excellent.

The exterior is very handsome and quite striking.

The car has so many amenities for the price. The list of standard equipment is quite impressive.

Gas mileage is below what I expected.

The car came without the passive entry system installed, which is supposed to be standard equipment on all models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2011

20th May 2011, 05:13

Nice design, great features, till it all goes wrong, which it will because it's a Saab/Opel Vectra. Enjoy it while it lasts, everything has an opportunity cost.

21st May 2011, 03:52

The new 9-5 shares its base architecture with the Opel/Vauxhall Insignia and Buick Regal. Nothing wrong in that, but the problem is the Saab is just not that well defined in its chassis balance as its lead rivals.

Also, pray hard that Saab does not go belly up, or you'll be driving an orphan, with all that means in loss of resale value.

6th Jun 2011, 11:50

To 20th May 2011, 05:13.

The new 9-5 ain't a Vectra at all. It shares its platform with the Opel Insigna. Just like a Audi shares its platform with a VW, and nobody cares...

10th Jul 2011, 12:59

You're right in suggesting that I worry about Saab going bankrupt. When I bought the new 9-5, I had no idea that Saab had stopped production on April 6th. This news did not reach the mainstream US news services. I only found out two weeks after I purchased the car. It's looking darker and darker for Saab right now, and I feel I'll have an albatross sitting in my garage very soon.

10th Aug 2012, 13:58

The resale is great when buying, but poor when selling. If you plan on driving the car until it dies, then it's a great deal. Also the parts will always be around, so that's not an issue... just don't buy them from the dealer and you're safe. They tried to charge me $450 for a light bulb... wow... Aftermarket here I come!!

13th Aug 2012, 16:07

You'll have a collector's item; nothing wrong with that.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 1 review