1985 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1985 SAAB 900 4 Door saloon. 2.0L Turbocharger, intercooled 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Turbocharger, intercooled 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 kilometres
Most recent distance182000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

A fast, very unique little car

Faults:

The 2nd and 3rd gear synchro-rings are gone. So the transmission grinds if I'm not careful. Also, reverse gear is broken so it kicks out of gear if I don't hold the stick down.

My turbocharger is failing, but that's my own stupid fault. I used a bad quality oil.

Anything else was general maintenance.

General Comments:

I've always wanted one of these, and now that I got one, it's one of the best cars I've driven.

It handles as good or better than any Honda I've driven, and it's very, very fast for a 4 cylinder. It'll keep up with any high-end luxury car on the highway.

I've got my 0-60mph down to about 8-8.5 seconds, on a wet road. And my turbo is failing, remind you.

It's very comfortable and roomy for a small car, and feels great on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

1985 SAAB 900 SPG 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

A car worth the work

Faults:

Left and right front bearings needed to be replaced at 172,000 miles.

Oil pump went out at 175,000 miles.

Brake pads, rotors, master cylinder, and fluids needed to be replaced after 171,000 miles.

Leather worn in back seat.

General Comments:

This car has proved to be an unexpected performer and although it needs work, it is still a good investment.

I don't suggest buying a car this old, but a later year of this model would be highly recommended. I think the reliability and performance of Saab's vehicles are remarkable and well worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2003

11th Oct 2004, 18:50

Sounds nice. I am getting a SPG on Wendnesday. For five hundred dollars! The gentleman bought it at an auction. Along with the SPG, he is giving me a 1991 "junk" Saab for parts. Axles, turbo parts, all readily available if I need them. I have driven the car and have fallen in love. The car I'm in now is about to give up the ghost and I couldn't afford a car with payments. I hope this "leap of faith " is worth it. I have heard two basics sides to these Saabs."Love them, or hate them."

1985 SAAB 900 Turbo 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

More love-able than Gary Coleman in "Different Strokes"

Faults:

The Handbrake Stuck, but it was due to the snow that froze it. No fault of the car.

Replaced the tiny little brake pads.

Routine maintenance. Really nothing out of the ordinary, but I have only owned the car for about 11,000 miles.

It pops out of first gear, I believe its the syncro, but I drive the car hard.

Little rust, but it is originally a New York car.

General Comments:

After owning a Saab, I have feelings for it, I seriously think I am in love with this car. It is odd, fast, has room for friends, and gets good gas mileage.

The 2 liter turbo is so much fun to put through the gears, when the turbo spools and the boost comes up, you are pulled back into the seat and a smile is on your face no matter how bad of a day you are having.

Handles like a sports car. Well, almost.

Has the cutest little brake pads. If you need to replace them, You will laugh if you are used to big GM pads.

Be warned. If you do buy a Saab, and I highly encourage it, you become addicted!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

26th Nov 2005, 16:32

Cheryl, check out www.saabcentral.com and its forum for all the information you want.

15th Jan 2008, 22:33

Hello:

I just bought a 1985 Saab 900 s, heard great things about the car, can't wait till get it. I wanted to know if anyone could point me to a site where I can buy a cargo lid- (not sure if that's the right name), but the board that is the inside of the car, covered in fabric and covers the truck area? The seller did not have the original one and I would like to replace it, any ideas? Please let me know via my email: mwrippa@yahoo.com.

Thanks,

Mark.

12th Jun 2008, 21:26

I am looking into buying a 1985 Saab. 4 door 900 it has 80,000 miles on it and is standard. I was wondering would you trust it to drive you around 50 miles away? Cause all my friends live about 5o miles from me and I do not want to buy it if I can't trust it to bring me that far?

14th Jun 2008, 22:42

To the poster contemplating buying the 80,000 mile 900, it's very much luck of the draw.

Some cars will keep going forever, some are crapped out by this mileage.

A full dealer service history would help, but is not an absolute guarantee.

The 900 is a very comfortable and safe car in a crash, but even routine maintenance can be pricey.

Good luck with your decision, no matter which way you go.

1985 SAAB 900 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance268000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A great bargain

Faults:

The A/C broke, but I am going to get that fixed. And right now one of my fog lights is out.

Other than that, nothing!

General Comments:

I love my SAAB! It is red with custom racing stripes down the hood, and tinted windows. It has a lightened fly-wheel. It isn't a turbo, but it sure goes fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

1985 SAAB 900 SPG 2.0 DOHC 16v EFI turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 16v EFI turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Inverted bathtub on wheels with turbo power

Faults:

The seats are a bit worn, but other than that the car has been fine.

It wasn't cared for by its previous owner, and so far I have:

Replaced brakes (all 4 wheels).

Replaced the headliner.

Done a bunch of body work to remove dings and minor rust.

Put a new stereo in.

Fixed the power antenna.

Converted the air conditioner to R134a refrigerant and repaired the power windows and sunroof (wiring problem, they're related).

General Comments:

This car has some serious power, and some serious handling.

The car is unusual looking, and many people laugh at it, my girlfriend even referred to it as my "inverted bathtub on fancy wheels".

I would not hesitate to buy a new Saab product, in fact, my stepfather has a brand new 9-3 (successor to the 900) and it's a wonderful car too.

Dealer service and support is incredible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

10th Nov 2003, 20:18

I presently own a 1985 turbo, 1999 9-3 and just purchased a 1985 900 (non turbo)

The 1985's have 192k and 133k miles and are both great driving cars. The 9-3 however, I find just doesn't handle as well as the "old" Saab's. Was kind of disappointed with the 9-3. Even though the 900's are getting worn out I still like the way they feel. Go figure.

Both 900's have experience the falling headliner, and one is in need of steering rack replacement, otherwise, still going strong! After 192k we are still on the original turbo to!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 12 reviews