1994 SAAB 900 Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1994 SAAB 900 S 2.3 from Germany

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired193500 kilometres
Most recent distance201336 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A well designed solid car

Faults:

Hand break, not working to well, other than that nothing.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, leather seats are nice and still in good condition for a 14 year old car. Also happy with the interior as all the gadgets work except air con but not sure why it may need refilling. This car is good for motorway cruising its smooth and not bad fuel economy and it feels very safe and stable probably quite a heavy car. Since I had the car I have used it most days and on long journeys London to Frankfurt. When driving you just don't realize how far you have driven. I have serviced the car my self when I first bought it and have only needed to top up the coolant so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2008

8th Jan 2013, 09:45

1994 900S 5 door hatchback. I changed the A/C relay, and the A/C started working again.

Had previously changed the A/C compressor.

1994 SAAB 900 S 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

Buy one

Faults:

Exhaust rear box.

Alternator belt.

Front brake discs.

General Comments:

Bought car in 2004 for 1900 euros. Bargain, drove to the UK a few times, no problems, great on motorways, ride harsh on Irish back roads, not too economical at 32mpg.

Great sized boot, comfy seats, fantastic heater, good sounding stereo and very well insulated interior.

Overall a very solid car, with built to last internals and very substantial bodywork.

It feels like it could easily do 200,000 miles no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2008

1994 SAAB 900 s 2.0 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Nice, but quirky

Faults:

This is a great driving fun car. The problem is the heater. There is barely enough to defrost the windshield. All the other Saabs I have owned would run you out. My understanding this is a cross-over year, part 93 and part 94. Anyone have any suggestions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2007

15th Aug 2007, 19:13

I just bought a 93 900se and the heater seems fine while the air conditioning seems a little weak. You might check the heater core to see if it is clogged or the air passageway is clear.

Good luck and happy motoring.

1994 SAAB 900 SE 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carSAAB Micra

Summary:

An unusual Iconic Beast

Faults:

Not a lot really at time of purchase from SAAB city the gear selector chip was faulty, but as it was only just bought they replaced it without fuss. Servicing at the main dealers is a little pricey, but the service from the techs was good even if the sales personnel could be a bit smarmy.

General Comments:

The styling and luxury of the SE was and is a joy, it reminds me of a modern day old jag, squat with seats like an old leather club chair. When I drove it up to the Lakes I was astonished at just how comfortable and safe it felt even at speeds that may have raised several eyebrows of the local constabulary. It also seemed to run more economically if driven hard on motorways, it's on board computer confirming the fact that the faster you went the more miles per gallon you did. Loved every minute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2006

1994 SAAB 900 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Hot sexy styling beast!!!

Faults:

Nothing at all!!

General Comments:

Great Machine. It is a dream to drive it. It is my baby.I'm only sixteen, but I know my cars. This was the best convertible made. The top is pretty much down all the time except for when it rains of course. For all you Saab 900 haters out there.. YOU ALL JUST Don't KNOW GOOD CARS WHEN YOU SEE THEM. I plan to purchase another one of the same year. Hoping for a turbo. I will always cherish this vehicle. American cars suck compared to the beauty of this car. Turns heads every where! If you get the chance... buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2006

29th Mar 2006, 16:36

GREAT ENTHUSIASM!!! I Have '93 900 with 128K, and lovin it!

5th Mar 2007, 06:11

I don't know about the convertible, but I had a 900 hatchback non-turbo as my first car, and while I loved it and thought that it had decent handling, I didn't feel that the engine was adequate to pull it. (If I had the turbo model, that would have been great!)

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews