2004 Scion tC Review

2004 Scion tC 2.4 Liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance150 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Bang for the Buck

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This car is really well built. When you first sit in it, you notice how clean and high quality everything seems to be. We had a leased Lexus RX300 about 3 years ago and this car has to have an interior that's almost equal to the RX300.

The engine in this car comes from the Camry's 4-Cyl, which give you plenty of torque and horsepower. I am in love with American cars only... usually. But now I have captured a new found respect for the foreign cars. I know Scions are only aviable on the west coast, which is really unfortunate for the east coast, since this is the best new car to come out.

I suggest the tC and no other scion. The rest of the scions are not as good looking and clean as the tC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 07:04

Just so you know. They are available Nation wide not just west coast.

6th Sep 2004, 13:01

The tC was available on the West coast first - but just now completing nationwide rollout.

So both the original poster and the comment are correct.

7th Jan 2005, 08:36

The TC is a cool car and a great bang for the buck. But I hate how Toyota has tried to make the Scion badge a factory direct ricer to appeal to the youth market. I would feel like to big of a tool driving one so I will never get one.

15th Mar 2005, 18:51

Test drove the tC when it came out last summer. The quality and list of stuff are amazing for the prize. But I wasn't exactly impressed by the ride or the speed. I am 43 and I really don't mind getting myself into one had the ride being to my taste :)

10th Jul 2005, 22:47

Sure its targeted toward the young drivers, but if you like it, then like it and don't care what anyone else says. Point being, it's a great car that's fun to drive, and the price makes it very practical. I love it.

8th Dec 2005, 19:58

I have yet to either test drive or really visit a dealer. I simply look on with envy. I like the look of the xB and the tC, but my wife absolutely refuses to get a "boxcar" as she calls it. I have researched the tC on-line and talked to those who have Scions. Sounds like one of the best deals out there. In a year or two when I am in the market, Scion will top my list.

19th Dec 2005, 09:06

Yeah rated higher to go into the repair shop first. You cannot beat the quality of the Scion brand since they are Toyotas and we all know Chevy's reliability record : (

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 1 review