2006 Scion tC Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Scion tC 2.4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance14700 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Overall an excellent car!

Faults:

I have had no problems at all with this car, besides the normal chips and such you have with highway driving. I would highly recommend purchasing a front mask for road trips and such.

General Comments:

This is an amazing car for a very low price. I purchased this car for a little under $18,000 and I will drive it until the wheels fall off... and being a Toyota, that shouldn't happen for a very long time. The interior is extremely roomy and comfortable, with all power options coming standard (including the panorama sunroof!). I've made many road trips in this car and found the driving experience extremely comfortable. The seats are snug, all controls are easily accessible, interior is quiet on the highway, gas mileage is great and there's plenty of power available when you need to pass that guy doing 50 mph in a 65 zone. I cannot say enough good things about Scion. I bought this from Rick Hendrick Scion in Fayetteville, NC and buying this car was extremely easy and quick. I had to order this car while I was deployed in Iraq, and my salesman was very helpful in getting this accomplished. He had it ready and waiting for me when I got back and is still to this day very receptive to any needs I might have. It's a very quick, reliable, fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

2006 Scion tC from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2650 miles
Previous carPontiac Vibe

Summary:

I just love this car!!!

Faults:

So far my experience has been trouble free!

General Comments:

If you want a sporty car for a bargain price; THIS IS IT!

Surprisingly roomy however it is not for the really tall... I'm 5'6" and it is just perfect.

The only thing I would like to see is better gas mileage... I average about 26 mpg... not great, but not bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

2006 Scion tC from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance3600 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Excellent car, fast, nice, roomy

Faults:

I have had this car for 3 months and driven 3000 miles already and everything is perfect. No problems at all.

General Comments:

It is an excellent car for the price. I love the style in and out. The radio has very good sound. There is also a jack in the compartment between the front seats where you can connect an mp3 player and listen to it through the car speakers.

The car is very quick and the ride is smooth. It is surprisingly roomy for passengers in the back.

I complain only about two things:

The gas mileage is bad: about 22 miles per gallon.

There are blind spots in the rear. Definitely you have to use the side mirrors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

2006 Scion tC from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance3600 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

In ONE word... Excellent!!! It's a great ride and a fun car!

Faults:

I've owned my Tc for a little over 3 months now so as of yet I haven't had any problems with it.

General Comments:

My Scion Tc was one of the best purchases I've ever made!! I'm very pleased with everything about the car and the manufacturer. The Tc is a smooth ride weather you're doing 19mph or 90mph despite being set on 17" rims and low profile tires. This car is seriously quick and there is no hesitation at all when you really want to "get on it". It handles like a dream and is a very 'easy' car to drive with virtually no blind spots, which makes it very easy to weave in and out of the congested New Jersey highways. I've gotten hundreds of compliments from just random passers by, which always puts a smile on my face! The simple little additions to the 2006 verses the 2005 are subtle, but useful, like the radio controls on the steering wheel, the new Pioneer radio, the front seats with 'sleeping function',a few more horsepower and a few others, and were some key factors in the 05 v. 06 debate... and which is why I decided to ordered mine. Though I had to wait nearly 12 weeks for it to be delivered, my Azure Pearl 2006 Scion Tc was well worth the wait... and for an added touch add the pedestal spoiler for a sharp and quick look!!

Downfalls: While I love my Tc to death I was a little disappointed in two mirror things that I feel would be useful, not important, and not major, but useful.

1. Self locking doors... while this may not seem like a big deal, to a young woman (I'm 22) driving in a Brand New eye catching car it is. My Old car (01 Ford Focus hatchback) the doors would automatically lock after traveling faster than 5mph which is a GREAT safety feature. Yes, I knew the Tc did not come with this when I bought it, but like I said, These are not major things, so while I did think about it, it did not deter me from buying the car.

2. Better turning radius. I was very surprised with this, I thought for sure this tiny little car would be able to turn on a dime, such was not the case! This I did not know about prior to buying the car, however, even if I had... I don't think it would have weighed heavily on my decision. Besides, the only time you car really tell is while doing 'donuts' or illegal u-turns... both of which I probably shouldn't be doing anyway... so maybe it's a good thing after all...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2005

14th Feb 2006, 18:16

...donuts...on a FWD car???...

4th Mar 2006, 22:17

I also own a Tc and haven't had any problems/issues with the paint or mysterious rattles. Only time will tell.

14th Apr 2006, 22:43

I mean absolutely no disrespect, but the absolute first thing I do after getting in my car is lock the doors... every time. However, I can see how that having that done automatically would be more convenient.

19th May 2006, 12:49

I have a scion tc and my door auto lock when I shut my door after I start my car!!!

3rd Jun 2006, 16:17

We've owned a Focus ZX-3 and I've test driven the Tc. I ran back to Ford as fast as I could. I hope you don't regret getting rid of your Focus.

4th Jun 2006, 16:05

I was considering the Tc until I read that the paint doesn't even last a year. That scares me. I'll look at other brands.

10th Jul 2006, 15:59

After reading all the problems with the Tc (which I was thinking of buying) I decided to go back to Ford. I've never had a problem with them, and the paint stays nice for a long time.

24th Sep 2006, 16:04

What I don't understand is why Toyota refuses to repaint the cars that the paint is falling off of. That ought to be covered under the warranty. I bought a Dodge some years ago and had a problem with some paint flaking off the front of it within a year. Chrysler took full responsibility and totally repainted the front of the car for me at their expense. You'd think a company like Toyota would take responsibility for these flaws. I saw a Scion Tc just a few days ago and it looked like half the paint had flaked off the front end of it.

18th Jan 2009, 17:39

My 2005 Scion tC engine is running fine, I just hate the upkeep of the car. The stock shocks aren't great, and the rattle and noise is really annoying. Definitely, much extra investment and car maintenance is required.

2006 Scion tC 2.4 Liter from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A very fun and classy ride

Faults:

None so far, but I've only had the car for a week or so.

General Comments:

This car is very nice. Compared to other cars in its class, it has a lot of power and features. The list of standard features is extremely long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews