2006 Scion xB Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2006 Scion xB XB 1.6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Costly, I can't afford 6-10 Windshields Yearly

Faults:

WINDSHIELD bought the XB December 2006,I have replaced 2 Windshields,3rd one is cracked already,In addition the Transmission shifts very hard.

General Comments:

Windshield replacement is the best reason not to buy an XB if you enjoy spending money on windshields then buy an XB.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2007

10th Mar 2009, 01:41

I don't know what you're doing to break these windshields. I drive to work on some of the worst crumbling concrete highways I've ever seen in any state or country. I've got chips all along the hood from the rocks. Never a broken windshield.

Possibly a crooked body twisting the window?

14th Apr 2009, 20:10

I've had my xB since May 2006, and only just last months have I had an issue with the windshield; it got a hairline fracture, from temperature changes. Was traveling from Florida to central NY. Freak crack too, started under the seal on the driver side. Florida insurance covered this. I used to drive 1hr daily to work, behind rock haulers, never got a crack, even when they did hit my windshield... my advice, don't tailgate.

17th Jul 2010, 11:07

Did you ever think to drop your comprehensive insurance to a $0 deductible?!? Insurance will pay for it every time. The previous owner of my XB said the same thing about the windshield cracking. The only time it happened to me in the year of owning it was because my foot went through it!

2006 Scion xB 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Thank You Toyota, for making Scion such a great release!!

Faults:

Absolutely zero has gone wrong with this car... I have only had it just over 5K miles, but so far I'm very pleased... Costs nothing to maintain, even the first 3 oil changes are on the house with any new Scion purchase... So far, I only have a few complaints about this car... 1) Seats are not the most comfortable ever. 2) A major pain to drive going down the highway on a windy day, get pushed all over the place. 3) Rear wiper is useless...

General Comments:

This car is perfect for a daily commute, like a college student or otherwise... The interior is plain, but very stylish, with the gauges in the middle of the dash... The Black Paint on my Xb is better than any black I've ever seen... Super dark black, with a very reflective quality... NICE!! I got many TRD EXTRAS on my car out of the factory, which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! The exhaust, well worth it, intake, also worth it, and the strut bar looks great... I also got fog lights, door sill chrome trim, Vent visors (not from dealership), Super thick TRD floor mats... OHHHH... This car is FUN... Not the most powerful thing on the planet, but sooner or later every driver will realize there is more to a car than just grunt... This Xb has everything else, and I won't trade it for 200K miles... Its all MINE!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

2006 Scion xB from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A heck of a good vehicle with much funky style!

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

Has achieved up to 37 MPG.

Handles like a sports car, most likely the result of traction control and stability control.

Fit and finish is flawless.

I wanted another Civic, but one with comparable equipment was $3000.00 more.

I paid $14,570. Fully loaded!

Alas, no cruise control.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

2006 Scion xB from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Most recent distance144 miles
Previous carScion xB

Summary:

Very reliable and great gas mileage

General Comments:

At first, I thought it was so ugly. But when we test drove it, I loved it. I was going to get a Camry, but this one I was really amazed that it was a lot bigger inside. It's so compact that I can park anywhere it doesn't take so much space. I used it for two weeks now and still have half a tank. I already used more than 135+ miles. I still loved it and It was really a great buy. I hope it will last long unlike my Saturn it only lasted me 3 years the engine died on me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

9th Mar 2006, 09:56

Thinking about getting a B model (B for boxy?) and wondering if anyone has any experience with performance upgrades. I see the web site wants to sell you TRD suspension as well as their front strut tie bar and rear sway bars. Also try to sell you springs to lower the car 30 mm. Anyone have these items?

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews