2000 Seat Alhambra Reviews

2000 Seat Alhambra 1.9 TDI (90BHP) 1.9 TDI (90BHP) from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI (90BHP) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

I love the car and would will purchase a Seat again

Faults:

At 46000 miles the air flow sensor went faulty. This cost €300 to replace.

At 61000 miles the front disc's needed replacing because of a shudder in the steering when braking.

The car has 80000 miles and the engine management system has failed. Its losing power on the motorway and the management system "shuts" things down to a fast idle speed just enough to get you home.

The front strut has loosened and is going in to the garage tomorrow for these items to be fixed.

General Comments:

This car has been terrific for space comfort and reliability. I do all the basic servicing myself and in 5 years it has cost me €2578 in parts. This includes the ten tyres that I have bought for it. Its quite heavy on tyres. The handling is good and very car-like. The 90BHP is not enough power, but newer models have 115BHP. It's a great family car with loads of space for trips abroad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2005

10th Feb 2010, 15:37

I now have 160000 miles on the car, and have had to replace the gearbox, and the turbo needs replacing. Ten yrs old and starting to cost money. Still think it is a good car, but not the best. Might buy another one, but might not!

2000 Seat Alhambra TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

All round an excellent car with a few issues

Faults:

The doors have locked by them selves and the keys inside on the dashboard.

The speed sensor went at 34000 miles.

The air flow meter went at 30000 miles.

Children can easily jam the locks in the locked position while the doors are open and it is difficult to free the locks to close the door.

Electronic sensors for this car are very expensive.

General Comments:

No room for luggage especially when all seven seats are occupied.

The lap belt in the middle seat is dangerous especially for children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

2000 Seat Alhambra 1.9 TDI 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Excellent family car

Faults:

Air flow meter valve failed at 45,000 miles cost €300 to replace.

General Comments:

The Alhambra is very enjoyable to own.

41mpg and very cheap to service and maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

17th Feb 2004, 14:32

I agree that the Alhambra is a great car in space and comfort etc. I have had a number of these electronic sensors go the latest being the air flow meter. The car has only 32000 miles done. is this a design flaw in these sensors/meters and do the Sharon and Galaxy suffer the same as they are identical except the badges.

13th Nov 2005, 15:28

I have owned a year 2000 Alhambra 110bhp TDI (old style model) for 2 years now. I agree that the front tyres wear quickly and the rear tyres last forever. The only problem I had was the air flow regulator box which needed replacing at 71000 miles. It cost me £85.00 replacement from seat dealership. Other than that the vehicle has been faultless. i average 44 mpg. I will be quite happy to buy another.

6th Mar 2006, 13:53

I have had a 98 alhambra which has done 140 thousand miles I change the oil and filter every 6 thousand miles and have only needed a wheel speed sensor so far. a fantastic wagon with great economy, fifty to the gallon. Wish I could afford a new one. I can get tyres for £42 each and get about 18,20 thousand on them always use semi synthetic oil, pain in the ass getting the sump cover on and off.

2000 Seat Alhambra tdi 1.9 turbo diesel 90BHP from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel 90BHP Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance30200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

An excellent people carrier with total reliability and enjoyable to live with

Faults:

I have had absolutely zero problems with the car since day one. I have put 30,000 miles up and have enjoyed the drive. Anti Lock brakes are excellent stopping the car quickly and safely.

General Comments:

The comfort is very good although seats could be better.

Air conditioning is a must for this car and is only effective when on full power.

Gear change is good.

The Alhambra does not have enough power lacking in acceleration and top speed. My next Alhambra will be the 110BHP Turbo diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2002

20th Aug 2004, 04:11

I now have 70,000 miles on the car and the only problem was an air flow sensor that failed at 46000 miles costing €300 to replace.

The front brake discs were changed at 61000 miles because of a shudder when braking at high speed

Otherwise this car has been perfect.

28th Jan 2009, 16:27

140,000 miles now and the gearbox has failed. It's not the cables, but the box must come out and get reconditioned. Not bad, I have had it nearly nine years with very little problems

12th Feb 2009, 12:49

Hi, can anyone tell me why I have light on all the time, which is a number 1? I have owned the car for two weeks, it is a 1.9 2003 diesel.

Kim.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 4 reviews