2003 Seat Alhambra Reviews

2003 Seat Alhambra 130TDI SE 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carSeat Alhambra

Summary:

Superb People Carrier at a Superb price

Faults:

Cup holder broke. (repaired under warranty)

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned, so much so I am on my second New Alhambra, I traded the first on in after 3 years.

I will be keeping this one for the following reasons.

1) Performance is superb

2) Torque is amazing, pulls our caravan with no problems at all.

3) Take the seats out and the space is tremendous, we have a dog cage to hold our 3 dogs and they can fit in with loads of other luggage as well. IKEA trips no problem, fill up with flat-pack and go...

4) Standard items considered as extras on other cars included a/c, heated screen, heated seats, alloys, climate control, just take a look at the difference between a Galaxy and a Seat Alhambra

5) Local Seat Dealer superb.

6) Price was great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2006

2003 Seat Alhambra SE 1.9TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Zafira

Summary:

Very practical car shame about the after sales!

Faults:

Windscreen wipers fail, fuse blows.

Air conditioning failed so far taken 5 months to fix, still not working.

Suspension failed around 40000 miles.

General Comments:

Car drives really well, very economical for a car of it's size. Let down by poor service from dealers and Seat customer services.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2004

3rd Aug 2004, 09:17

18 month old Alhambra 1.9TDI SE, began with serious whining noise from power steering unit. reported to dealer February 2004 which led to repair & replacement of: power steering belts twice, power steering unit, steering rack, air conditioning compressor after which the dealership declared "we are stumped".

Seat technical suggest replacing automatic gear box, guess what STILL LOUD WHINING NOISE WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL IS ON FULL LOCK. After 5 months of investigation on August 3 2004, Seat UK acknowledge there is a problem, but have no solution.

Can any one offer help on what I can do to get the problem resolved?

24th Aug 2004, 11:05

I own an X reg Alhambra. Every summer the air conditioning has failed, and has spent many weeks being repaired. This summer, year 4 the same again and for the first time have taken the car to an independent repairer. They have diagnosed a failed compressor. A £600 repair, with the car now out of warranty.

I have emailed SEAT customer services, and they have explained that they have no legal obligations to help out.

So, very poor service at my local main dealer, and very poor customer service from SEAT. My second and last Alhambra.

2003 Seat Alhambra SE 1.9 TDI (130) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI (130) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Space Wagon

Summary:

A superb MPV

Faults:

Wheels out of balance.

General Comments:

A very well designed, spacious people mover.

Very lively, fast engine - don't bother with the petrol ones - once it's running you can hardly hear the engine.

Handling is very good, slightly hard ride - no problem on excellent French road though.

Has not used any oil.

Fuel consumption - Fully loaded with air con on French M/way got 30mpg - best ever was 50 mpg - appears to average high 30's.

Climate control and parking sensors are excellent - latter essential.

Possible issue with lack of footwell in middle and rear seating positions - I did not notice this and now my daughter complains of seating position as a result of this. Look carefully at this and make up your own mind.

Only problem so far (apart from wheel balance) is some very slight jacking damage (not caused by me) Dealer has agreed to resolve this.

Look at the Ford and VW and then save yourself lots of money with the SEAT, which also has more extras. Despite what anyone says, these three cars are identical - I bet behind the SEAT badge it has VW stamped on it. The SEAT is much much better looking than the VW although the Ford does look good, but much more common. Dealers are much much smaller and hopefully better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

14th Jul 2005, 16:38

After two years owning this car, the cracks are starting to show. The dealers are as useless as any other - My supplying dealer tried to rip me off for £372 for the 2nd service - car's only done 12.5K - got it done at another main dealer for £170. Air-con not performing properly - dealer say gas re-fill will be regarded as a consumable - therefore will cost me another £130. Have a look hear if you want to see the truth about these cars. I still like it, it's a great car - build quality? Dealers? reliability?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 3 reviews