2000 Seat Cordoba Reviews

2000 Seat Cordoba S 1.6 (75BHp) from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 (75BHp) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

This car is so reliable it even started after being pulled out of a ditch sideways

Faults:

Stereo use to switch itself off for no reason when I first got the car (apparently quite common). Replaced under warranty.

Engine overheated at 65000 miles, took the thermostat out, been fine ever since.

General Comments:

Really plain/bland completely anonymous.

Interior has got too many hard plastics and does not feel cosy, seats are too hard, space is too tight in the back, tape player can't be replaced by a CD player.

Ride is harsh and uncomfortable, suspension is unsettled, steering is vague, traction is really poor in the wet almost dangerous...

On the plus point, the engine is very nice and willing, the boot is MASSIVE, and good mpg can be achieved if you know how to drive it..

All in all, I would definitely fancy a different car, something newer and better, but don't really want to get rid of my Cordoba, as it has been so utterly reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2008

3rd Aug 2009, 13:36

An update, my Cordoba now has 87000 miles on the clock and has failed its MOT for the first time whilst in my possession! Came as a bit of a shock considering how dependable she has been the four years I have had her! A hole in the chassis by the seat-belt anchorage point, cost me £50 for the welding, not too bad though! One the coolant hoses has started leaking also, SEAT only sells them by the pair though £35,will need to get it sorted soon...

Overall, she is still very dependable, but I think she is getting to that age where I will have to spend money on her... I have seriously started looking at a replacement, maybe not another Seat though as I fancy something else!

2000 Seat Cordoba Vario TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from Finland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

Reliable point A to point B car

Faults:

Turbocharger stops functioning after 140 km/h, so basically you will drive an SDI instead of TDI. Stopping/starting the engine makes the turbocharger work again. Maybe this problem is looking important, but honestly it doesn't really bother me because I'm not driving that fast usually, so I've never fixed it.

General Comments:

Poor handling.

Poor material quality inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2008

2000 Seat Cordoba from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

I love the car, but would never buy another SEAT

Faults:

The paint work/plastic coating on the inside handles of the doors on both the driver and passenger side began to chip and flake after a month or so. a total mess.

The clutch disintegrated after 12,000 miles. It had to be replaced. The SEAT service mechanic s told me there was a serious fault with the clutch and that the clutch pedal was cracked and would need replaced. Have had trouble with the clutch from new and am still having trouble.

General Comments:

Very economical.

Back seat is very cramped and uncomfortable.

Poor visibility through rear window. Hard to see below the boot level. Dangerous when reversing.

Like the lines of the car and enjoy driving it.

Like the interior finish. The information panel easy to read.

Very dissatisfied with the companies public relations. Very unsatisfactory outcome to an ongoing mechanical fault.

I would love to speak to one of the faceless people in public relations and tell them what a disservice they are doing to this company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2004

9th Jul 2005, 05:46

I have Seat Cordoba 1.9sdi 02/2000y,84000km. She spent a lot of oil about 2L on 500km driving full speed (170kph). I would like to now if this spent is OK or not (and what to do)

2000 Seat Cordoba Signo 1.6 (101bhp) from Denmark

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 (101bhp) Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance63000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Tempra

Summary:

Relatively cheap and practical, but a toy car

Faults:

The left front wheel got loose at 15.000km. (almost fell off!!!)

Exhaust had to be replaced at 15.000km.

Temperature sensor in exhaust broke at 50.000km.

Radio faulty at 60.000km.

General Comments:

The car handles nice and the 101 HP engine performs sufficient.

Theres too little room at the rear seats.

Too many problems with the Seat maintenance shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

2000 Seat Cordoba from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carAcura RL

Summary:

Fantabulous

Faults:

Nothing while I had it.

General Comments:

Rented this car for a while while I lived in Spain.

This car is awesome.

It could drive forever without refueling and it was great fun to drive.

Really quick and handles great.

Nice to look at too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2000 Seat Cordoba Full 1.6 gasoline from Argentina

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Dynamic cheap luxury car

Faults:

The official service (Espasa) are too unprofessional and have damaged my car several times.

General Comments:

The car is wonderful and really cheap, it comes fully equipped and at this time it works very well.

The rear view could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews