1997 Seat Ibiza Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1997 Seat Ibiza GTi 2.0 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 414 Si 16v

Summary:

She is sex on four wheels!!!

Faults:

ECU decided to pack up, which in turn ruined the fuel pump and ignition barrel.

General Comments:

Having owned my little Ibiza for just over two years now I can safely say I love it!

Having lowered her, added some cool M3 mirrors, a DTM Janspeed exhaust, and shed loads of ICE, she is a real head turner.

The guys in the other reviews ain't lying. Even though I have experienced some pretty bad problems, I love the car so much I just carry on.

Saxo's, XR3i's, and the like don't stand a chance.

My advice is that if you can get hold of one, do it... you won't regret it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2001

1997 Seat Ibiza Cupra F2 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf VR6

Summary:

Me and 9 other owner's including a priest have one of these

Faults:

Gearbox had to be rebuilt by Seat Sport UK.

Chews tyres big time.

General Comments:

Only take the car out at the weekend. It's a pity Seat Cupra Sport only built 10 of these. Simply fantastic short throw, 6 speed gear box, 200bhp engine, leather and carbon everywhere. Just every man's dream F2 car for the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

9th Apr 2001, 12:55

1997 Seat Ibiza Cupra F2

To the owner of the car described and the 9 others. I know a little bit about the car but I really need to find out more about it. I know that it was built to customer order only and I know around what it cost. I really need to ask about other details so if anyone knows about this very special car then please let me know. simon@edgestrip.com.

23rd Apr 2006, 11:04

Presumably the priest feels a need to outpace his guardian angel?

1997 Seat Ibiza GTi 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance22630 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi

Summary:

Super hot hatch at a bargain price

Faults:

ECU ingested water after 13 months. Replaced under warranty.

Downpipe heatshield rattles. Replaced under warranty.

Plastic runner thing in the driver's door electric window broke under normal use. Out of warranty. Would not sell the plastic part, forced to buy a complete winder unit with a motor for £160.

Sunroof rattles.... dealer could not sort it out.

A/C stopped working, faulty seals and leaking gas, out of warranty (just).

General Comments:

Aside from the problems above, it's a great car and now there are lots of aftermarket accessories available, like engine mods, body kits, suspension upgrades etc. SJB Sport seem to be the tuning people for Seat.

Am waiting for the new Cordoba 1.8T.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

22nd May 2001, 14:08

What a surprise!

I too had a rattling heatsheild after only 2000 miles. Been to dealer to either be repaired or replaced 6 or 7 times (latest dealer theory was a stone trapped in exhaust!!) but starting to rattle again after 35000 miles.

As for the plastic runner on the electric window, mine too broke resulting in the window falling down between the door skin. luckily I still had 10 days warranty left.

I know I should sell the car before I loose too much money, but I will be sad to see a great car go.

1997 Seat Ibiza GTi Cupra Sport 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

A proper hot hatch that is often underrated

Faults:

Loose heatshield.

New HT lead.

Both fixed by the dealer under warranty.

General Comments:

I have not been at all disappointed, and greatly enjoy humiliating kiddies and reps who do not realise how quick the car is!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

1997 Seat Ibiza Cupra Sport 8v 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Storming!

Faults:

Heat shield on the catalytic converter started to rattle, 1 spark plug lead broke down causing the engine to run on 3 cylinders until replaced.

General Comments:

Excellent handling little car, maybe the weight is biased a little too much to the front, tends to push the front a lot under hard cornering. This also wears the front tyres quickly. Performs well enough when I want it to, yet can average 43mpg on my run to work if driven compassionately! I'd definitely have another, no question.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

1997 Seat Ibiza Cupra Sport 8V 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Drivers door window alignment went AWOL. The whole mechanism was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Great car, fulfills all my criteria well. I'll probably chop it in for the new turbo version next year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2000

1997 Seat Ibiza SXE 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

As yet, nothing.

General Comments:

Great little car. Good looks, good handling, lively engine and quiet at speed. Not exactly quick at the traffic light sprint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

19th Jan 2001, 08:58

I've got a 1.9 diesel, and it's got 60,000 miles.

I have had no problem at all, the handling is great, it sticks on the road, really reliable.

A good buy.

30th Jan 2001, 09:32

Absolutly fantastic car for beginners. Great handling, cheap and wonderful looking. A truely tremendous car.

P.S. had for 12 months and not a problem yet.

28th Oct 2004, 10:37

I've had a 1997 Ibiza 1.4S from (almost) new, and apart from a wheel bearing replaced under warranty at the first service, I don't think I've spent a penny on maintenance other than routine servicing and the occasional light bulb. It's lively, as comfortable as you'd expect in its class, rattle-free, polishes up like new, and makes a perfect second car to my BMW 5-Series. The clincher is, I sometimes take it out on B-roads just for some driving fun. Nice car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews