1999 Seat Ibiza Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1999 Seat Ibiza GT TDi 110 5 doors 1.9 TDi 110 from France

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi 110 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A real GTI with a TDi engine

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I wanted a TDi because of the consumption (always less than 7L/100km) but it's also so fast!

On the highway you put the 5th gear and you let the power do it's job...

Handles the road pretty well (put 195/50/15V tires, it's even better) and it's still comfortable enough.

Not too noisy for such a diesel.

5 doors for a better family use.

A strong dashboard without any noise.

Great front sport seats (GT).

Good looking car: alloy wheels, roof spoiler, front and back sport bumpers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

1999 Seat Ibiza S 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Buy a VW if you can afford it

Faults:

Alarm stops working once a month.

Ignition failed twice.

Battery / Connection problem that can cause the car to die.

General Comments:

Not a bad car.

The car does have some issues with reliability. This wouldn't put me off buying another one, but I will probably go for a main stream make next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

1999 Seat Ibiza S 5-door 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30853 miles
Most recent distance31410 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

Italian styling and German engineering- the best of both worlds!

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

An excellent car! A very good Fiesta, Corsa or Polo alternative -and a bit rarer too!

I believe that this was one of the last runs of pre-facelift Ibizas sold in the UK, so I guess that SEAT had increased the equipment levels to shift them quick.

It's appearance is a cross between a small Audi/VW and an Alfa Romeo. It looks sporty, with it's colour coded bumpers, rear spoiler and 14 inch wheels.

The interior features sports seats and is generally very well equipped.

It may not be high performance, but it does over 70 mph, reasonably quick off the mark and so its good enough for me. Although I wouldn't say no to a Cupra next time!

A few minor complaints are as follows: the boot needs a good slam before it shuts properly; rear wiper control often sets off the the rear wash wipe when not needed and also the absence of ABS- an important safety feature that should have been standard on all cars years ago!

The car is the ideal if, like me, you don't carry rear passengers too often. The rear doors are small and the 60 bhp engine does struggle when 4-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

23rd Jan 2004, 05:06

Italian Style you say?

For god's shake, SEAT Ibiza is a Spanish make!!!

29th Jan 2004, 11:30

Re: the comment above - I know that SEAT is a Spanish marque. I stated that the car had Italian STYLING, not Italian ORIGINS.

29th Jul 2008, 15:04

I have just lost my Seat Ibiza 1999 model - and am really upset as it is an excellent car! All round, I was unsure of purchasing first off, but after 15 months and nearly 20k miles ridden she finally had her last legs... or wheels should I say!

I HAVE had issues though - firstly, gears seized up, not good... thermostat went, which a Breakdown Cover Firm completely messed up and ruined part of my engine. Next the car wouldn't start up, had ECU diagnostic complete and nothing was found. The mechanics then decided to take off my air meter extender pipe and the car now sounds beefy without it, but it's not good. She finally broke down on me 2 weeks ago, the timing belt went, not hard to fix but the 1st value had got no pressure!

I have been assured she IS going back on the road though, so am happy for that! It will be nice to see another girly girl with my black and pink Ibiza.

But as time stands it's a newbie car for me!

1999 Seat Ibiza Cupra Sport GTi 2.0 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A solid, reliable and enjoyable hot hatch

Faults:

The clutch cable was rather sticky which lead to a a stiff clutch action. Since replaced.

General Comments:

The car is quite quick with a usable low down power range. However the car does not like to be revved too hard.

It handles very well when cornering and certainly goes where you point it. In addition, at speed, in a straight line, the car feels very solid indeed.

The cabin is not the most inspired, however the switches and buttons feel solid and everything is where you would expect and want it to be.

The seats are comfortable and supportive, and with height adjustment on the steering column and seat it is easy to obtain a comfortable driving position.

The cars appearance is easy on the eye and being black is not too overstated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 20 reviews