2004 Seat Ibiza Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2004 Seat Ibiza Cupra 1.8T - 180bhp from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8T - 180bhp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

The best hot hatch in its class

Faults:

Headlamps, Rear Lights, Fog Lamps all have condensation in them.

Radio / CD Player volume increases and decreases randomly.

General Comments:

This car is genuinely rapid with impressive handling.

As standard the interior looks a little sparse.

I have owned this car for the last 5 months and overall I'm very impressed with this model. It an attract car, especially in Onvi Yellow! Acceleration can be fierce, especially 1st to 2nd gear changes, although traction can be a problem if the road is not dry. The Electronic Stability Program which is standard on this model does keep the beast under control, but this can be switched off. I have manage an average fuel consumption of approximately 34mpg which includes mainly short trips with the odd motorway run at the weekend. Being VW parts the car feels solid and hard wearing. Overall I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who is looking for a small performance car with reasonably running costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2005

5th Feb 2005, 15:44

The volume problem you relate to is the actual radio reception of the head unit. Its the worst bit about the car, and as a result it frustrated me so much that I've recently replaced the head unit. I've got the TDi cupra, and love it to bits, you even get wheels spin in 3rd with the traction control off. I'm glad you enjoy the car, I love it to bits and would recommend it to anyone who wants a quick hot hatch which is a bit rare to be seen on the road.

9th Jun 2005, 12:58

I am buying a Black TDI Cupra this weekend (new). Switching from a Mazda3 2.0l Sport 147bhp. Hoping the performance weighs out the features that I will be loosing. Glad to hear other people think a lot of of this car.

Michael.

9th Jul 2005, 04:24

I have just had the a remap on this vehicle and it has transformed the car. It was fast to start with, but the re-map has increased the low to mid range torque ten fold. Acceleration is outrageous. I would recommend a re-map to anyone with this model who wants a real performer.

24th Jul 2005, 04:19

The radio unit has been replaced, apparently there is a problem with reception on them. I did read about the volume going up and down with engine speed etc, but mine would go up and down when I was at lights and had no bearing on engine speed whatsoever.

4th Mar 2007, 16:01

I have just had my seat ibiza fr (the 1.8 20vT version), only now I have been reading reviews on the web, I have the same problem with the headlamps and the radio, would anyone know if this would be covered by the warranty? Even though I am very happy with the performance and handling which forces me to smile every time I jump in it, I will be looking to improve the car, but find it hard to find parts with reviews, anybody with any ideas. If any one is looking to get one, don't wait any longer!!

2004 Seat Ibiza SX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A solid, well built, low cost car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. However, there were some small problems when I picked it up from the dealer.

The paint job on the bonnet was not complete and a bolt to hold the front wing was missing. I told my SEAT dealer and it was sorted immediately.

General Comments:

This car handles very well. It feels like it is glued to the road on corners.

Mine is bright yellow and I have to say it does turn heads.

It looks like a car that costs a lot more than you pay for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2004

2004 Seat Ibiza from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

Wouldn't drive one again, can't wait to get rid of it

Faults:

It was almost impossible at times to select reverse and 1st gears.

The car had a "tinny" feel.

Steering was rather light at speed.

Brakes are excellent, but perhaps too fierce.

General Comments:

The car handles very well.

The gearbox is an absolute disgrace in a modern car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

20th Aug 2007, 14:22

Well I'm 6 foot 6 and I have a Seat Ibiza 02. It's the best car I've ever owned and it doesn't have a small feel. But if you feel like that, it is in the small car field.

It's quick and the brakes are excellent. I can't wait till I can get insurance on the Cupra.

Most comfortable car I've driven.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews