2005 Seat Ibiza Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Seat Ibiza FR 20V T from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 20V T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Crazy little turbo hatch

Faults:

Few rattles in the cabin (including the drivers seat at times).

General Comments:

Lovely car to drive, has superb handling!

Turbo whistle very addictive. Very responsive with barely any turbo lag.

Twin exhaust gives a lovely deep burble when your waiting at traffic lights.

Plant your foot down and it feels like its going into warp speed!. This car puts a smile on my face on the way to work (even on a Monday morning!)

Extremely comfortable, seats have about the right amount of support. Seats also look v sporty.

Build quality not bad (can see some room for improvement in parts).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2006

2005 Seat Ibiza TDi FR 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Grunty, firm riding fun

Faults:

Initial Issues:

Misting Up Headlights.

General Comments:

Given the low mileage so far this is more of an 'initial impression' than a full review, but I thought it might be useful and I'll add to it as the miles rack up (if that's possible!)

If you're considering the 130bhp diesel you'll probably know by now that the car is quite brisk. ;) The only downside is that the initial rush of grunt is not maintained for that long, but the engine makes the car rapid and very laid back, with more subtle suspension it would be an ideal olde school GT.

The suspension is *very* firm and to be honest a bit over the top on a road car, try before you buy!

Folk say the engine is noisy, but generally it is a lot quieter than my old tech ZX TD. That said cold starts are a little noisy and pulling away shows up still more of the diesel clatter. Above walking pace though the engine is pretty near silent with only a gentle 'chatter' as you ease on the power. Tyre roar is very noticeable at even quire low speeds and increases with speed - make sure your test drive includes a bit of dual carriageway!

The full on climate control seems overly complicated, either warming you or chilling the air, you can't seem to get just 'outside' air.

The fuel computer needs checking too. Optimistically suggesting that mpg figures of 65+ are being achieved where calculations reckons about 52 which is confusing, but still good on a tight engine with this much torque.

A final initial (?) thought, ignore the myth of VAG build quality, they have as many problems as anybody else these days, just have a nose through the Polo reviews...

Overall I'm more than happy getting a pre-reg 130 FR TDi (pre-2006 facelift) for £10750.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2006

15th Nov 2006, 12:05

I recently purchased a face-lifted 1.9 TDi FR (5 door) and can agree with all the comments made:

- The suspension is *very* firm,

- some tarmac surfaces give rise to a lot of tyre roar,

- headlights like to mist up slightly,

- I also got about 52 mpg average (over 1200 miles), when trip computer always says 60+, sometimes 70+ mpg.

- Build quality seemed fine, but after driving over some rough road there is a noticeable creak in the dash.

I intend to keep the car for some time, hopefully it will prove reliable - but I might have to do something about the harsh ride!

2005 Seat Ibiza Stylant (S) 1.4 gasoline from Israel

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance6000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

A better buy than a VW Polo, but a weak gas guzzler

Faults:

Though the original remote-control locking works fine, the dealer-installed addition with automatic window-closing, though original Volkswagen-Audi equipment, is often out of kilter.

General Comments:

The car is well built inside and out, safe and stable, quite roomy for a supermoini, has excellent road-holding qualities and pinpoint steering. It rides quite smoothly and quietly at expressway speeds (I've done 130 kph with no effort). The electronic climate control is a blessing, and, as regards optional equipment, the car is quite well fitted out, with 4 electric windows, 2 front and 2 side airbags, 3 rear-seat headrests, a glove compartment light (but no luggage compartment light!), even a spring-loaded front cupholder.

On the down side, the 1400 cc, 75 bhp engine w/automatic and a/c is too weak for so heavy a car and a real gas guzzler.

The car weighs 1094 kg, as compared to 1125 kg for my old Renault Megane with a 1600 cc engine and 110 bhp. My Ibiza averages 9-10 km/l, as compared to 12 km/l for the 1600 cc Megane.

On the climb to Jerusalem or the Carmel Mts. the car struggles, and I have to downshift to 3rd and 2nd gear.

The dealer told me that the reason the Ibiza doesn't come with a 1600 cc automatic is so that it won't compete with the VW Golf. I can believe that, because the previous model Ibiza did offer a 1600 cc, 100 bhp engine.

Another fault of the Ibiza is the hard ride on city street bumps. This is the price you pay for a taut suspension and the excellent road-hugging qualities.

My wife finds the upholstery uncomfortable and very "unpampering", as compared to the soft Megane seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

23rd Oct 2005, 04:13

I hired a manual version of this car on a recent holiday to the Canaries, and although pleasant enough to drive, I found it unbelievably gutless. On some of Lanzarote's mountain passes I was down to second gear in places, and even on the flat it seemed to take an age to get up to cruising speed. Joining dual carriageways was terrifying.

With the air-con on it was diabolical.

12th Jun 2006, 05:39

I have a 2006 1,4 l / 75 HP Ibiza and it's simply great. You won't do 200 kph, that's true, but maybe you don't need to. It's a great little car, much more honest than many other minis. And it also look much better than other. My wife has a 206 Peugeot, and that one is a very OK car, but I still prefer my Ibiza. The only thing I found a little bit annoying is the sound of the wind at high speed. I believe the wing mirrors should be re-designed. Oh, and there is a light in the trunk.

2005 Seat Ibiza Cupra PD160 tdi from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission PD160 tdi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

The unknown hot hatch

Faults:

The only minor fault I've had is condensation inside one of the front headlights. This is a known manufacturers fault, and is very common. It only happened for a short period during the winter, and has now completely dried out.

General Comments:

The car is seriously underrated as a performance car. It's supposed to have 160bhp, but every report I've seen of rolling-road tests show at least 180bhp. This equates to the petrol Cupra equivalent.

It's biggest trump card is the enormous low to mid-range torque (330Nm) which gives tremendous overtaking ability.

Furthermore there are countless tuning companies offering ECU chips or upgrades to dramatically increase power even more.

The braking ability is amazing, having huge front discs with 4-pot calipers, usually found only on motor sport cars.

On the downside, cabin interior is very dark and looks like a basic model (apart from the leather steering wheel and red stitching).

The other annoyance for true sports car fans is of course the diesel rattle when stationary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

3rd Jan 2006, 05:29

It's a diesel, slow pace.

11th Feb 2006, 13:37

Yeah, a diesel with more power and torque than most boy-racer mobiles. With a 0-60 time of 7.6 seconds (as quoted by most official reviews) I would buy one if I could afford one, but for now I'll have to live with my 309 GLD, a diesel from the slow era!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews