Seat Marbella Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Seat Marbella 903cc from Malta

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 903cc Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

Reliable, economical and cheap

Faults:

Worn gearbox.

Broken steering rack (my fault)

Radiator leak.

Some rust at door hinges.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable! In Malta we have very bad roads with lots pot holes and bumps, and until now only one hole managed to break the steering (the whole wheel could fit in the hole)

Gearbox has to be treated with care.

Handling is very good even though it rolls a lot. on wet roads the rear of the vehicle tends to slip since its very light.

Braking is good with power brakes.

Lots and lots of space if you remove the back seat.

Quite uncomfortable (compared to the cortina MkII I had before it)

Lots of rattles and squeaks!

The car is also quite fast and easy to drive. I would recommend it to anyone!

Parts very cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2007

1991 Seat Marbella XL 903cc from Portugal

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 903cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 kilometres
Most recent distance77050 kilometres
Previous carSeat Marbella

Summary:

Cool

Faults:

It cost to me 150 eur's, and I think I have to change the radiator. The radiator Fan always work. We are in the summer, I know, but the water is always very warm, and today even the temperature light of the water turned on. I've changed a rubber "fol" from the right wheel.

General Comments:

I'm starting to like to drive this car, its cool, but the noise it makes is very high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

1991 Seat Marbella Sun 850 from Portugal

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 850 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance167000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 127

Summary:

Lots of fun and joy

Faults:

Water thermostat and radiator valve gave away at 150.000 ks, shock abservers had gone when bought.

General Comments:

Not quite the fastest car of the world.

Just wonderfull to drive on gravel.

Hugely economical machine, 10 euros of gas per week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2004

1994 Seat Marbella fun 903cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 903cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance37650 miles

Summary:

Very reliable and a load of fun to drive

Faults:

Mold has started to grow inside the car.

The drivers side does not lock and neither does the passenger side

The original pink paintwork is coming through the spray painted over red paintwork.

General Comments:

My first car, and am still driving it. although its pink and I'm an 18 male, it is really funny. I haven't really had any problems with the car and would recommend it to anyone who was thinking of a first car. I used it for practicing driving and when my dad said emergency stop, it just kept going and going.

Haven't really ventured with the car. Gave it blacked out windows and some funky stickers that came in a magazine. A pink marbelle with blacked out windows does turn a lot of heads.

Otherwise it has been a really economical car for me and saved me petrol on short runs, even though the speed does like going above 70. that's the speed limit and what with a new license, it a lovely car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

1995 Seat Marbella 0.9 benza from Italy

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 0.9 benza Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres

Summary:

It accelerates, but doesn't brake at all!!!

Faults:

The electronic unit failed 4 times, and still doesn't work properly.

The engine loosed water, needed to be rebuilt, driver's window mechanic broke.

The handbrake doesn't brake anything.

General Comments:

The comfort is non excellent, plastic quality is awful, brakes are insufficient, if you want to stop you have to push hard and pray.

But the engine is fantastic! It took me at more than 160 Km/h (i don't exactly know how much becuse the speedometer ends at 160 Km/h), we did an 800 Km trip without problems,

It has no problem to start at -10 C, it can go in 20 cm of fresh snow without chains, can be parked practically everywhere.

Sportful driving is joyful, Buy it! it's a fantastic CARRRRRRR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2002

1987 Seat Marbella GL 0.9 petrol from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 0.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres

Summary:

The most joyful and practical cheap car I can imagine

Faults:

Nothing serious, the fuel gauge failed at 118000km, but started to function again at 124000km.

Driver's door requires some force to close properly and the lock of the tailgate malfunctioned due to excess dirt (after proper cleaning it works fine).

General Comments:

The car is very pleasant to drive, provided the weather is good and you don't run at above 100km/h. On wet roads you can hear the water thrown from the tires splashing onto the bodywork and you can really feel the wind throwing the car around.

Very economical, average of 5,5 liters/100km, however at 135km/h this increases to 8l/100km.

Very tiny tires (135/70/13), should be replaced with something wider otherwise cornering is an adventure.

Actually you can get some decent performance from the 39 horsepower, but you should keep it above 3500rpm and press hard.

You can fit in almost anything if you remove the rear bench, however that's a risky business since there are no power brakes and a loaded car just CAN'T stop.

The only expenses so far were oil change at 120000km and 2 new tires (135/70's are practically for free).

I have been told that 1100cc, 55 horsepower injection engine from Fiat Panda 4x4 can be mounted as well as bigger engines from Fiat Uno, I am not sure if the car can withstand it?.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

13th Feb 2004, 16:09

I totally agree with all of the comments made. I have recently bought a third hand Seat Marbella and it is the best £225 I have ever spent. It is the funniest car that I have driven. On the straight it does 85mph which the fastest I have ever heard of one going. Quite interesting to drive in the snow!

12th Jan 2008, 02:37

I also agree with reviews that are written here. I just would like to say something new and it's about space in drivers seat. As I am tall around 6 and 4 I had to move front seat from its rails back for a beat (it's well fixed, no fear of moving) so I can seat properly. Bit of improvisation makes it more amusing :)

Cheers to all Marbella fans!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews