1997 Seat Toledo Reviews

1997 Seat Toledo SPORT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A great all-rounder

Faults:

Water pump failed, just after having the cambelt replaced at 40k. I don't think it was a reliability issue, but you never know.

Other than that, nothing at all.

General Comments:

This car was a really good buy. I've done 60000 miles in it and I can't fault it. It's sporty, can fit 5 people comfortably, fairly smooth. Has a huge boot.

Just recently I drove the car to North Germany. 650 miles. It was done in 1 go. The seats didn't give me any trouble whatsoever. The car enjoyed 120mph on the autobahns.

My only gripe is that because it's VW underneath, they use VW specific fixings. The rear brakes had to be changed by a mechanic with the right VW only tools. I would normally do most basic things myself, but not on this occasion.

Cambelt change was a little pricey, especially as the car is an 8-valve version.

The car is rock-solid to drive, I still don't have any annoying rattles that you might expect from a car that's 9yrs old now.

I'm still getting 38mpg on a normal run and I'm not light with the gas pedal.

It's also good that not many were sold as you don't see many about now. It's much nicer looking than the newer Toledo's. Although you won't find a Hayne's manual for it, so you have to improvise with the Ibiza and Cordoba versions.

Worth a look if you can find a relatively low miler with history.

All in all, a great all-rounder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

20th Jan 2009, 16:29

I have a Seat Toledo 2L Sport 1997. It is still a butch car.

My only gripe is nobody wants to know what this car can do.

Tom black {{{{{{

2nd Feb 2009, 17:50

I have a 1997 Seat Toledo 2000 Sport. It is minted in my eyes. It has some wee problems, but I would not part with the old bugger.

Yours, Tam Black, Scotland.

22nd Feb 2009, 11:01

I'm the writer of the original review on this and an update for those that still have one of these vehicles. I'm glad people are still looking after them.

Mine's on 100000 miles now and the clutch was slipping. Got it replaced, as the rest of the car is still so reliable, it was worth it. 300 quid job all in.

Parts are now proving a problem though due to Seat's lack of back-up after the 10 year mark.

You can't get a clutch cable for this model any more, so beware.

Suspension is getting a bit saggy, but they're still the original springs/dampers and it's still getting through MOT's, so no big issue yet.

It's when everything wears out at the same time that I might reconsider spending the money, but it's still only wear and tear items that are being spent out on.

Still can't really fault it. Still 38-42mpg. No oil burning.

Enjoy them while they last.

17th Oct 2009, 12:06

I've had my 2l sport for 6 years now and had no problems with it until recently, it now leaks like a sieve somewhere and I can't detect it, it's not the sunroof, has anyone got any ideas? Thanks.

rjtommo@aol.com

4th Aug 2010, 07:42

Anyone know how I turn the revs up on a Seat Toledo Sport 1987/1988?

I would be very grateful if someone can tell me where it is in the engine compartment.

Thanks.

17th Aug 2010, 09:08

Have you tried using the right hand pedal? Just a thought...

1997 Seat Toledo Sport 2.0i from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres

Summary:

A real high performance bargain

Faults:

So far nothing yet (knock on wood) only thing I had done was to change all 4 suspensions. That was it actually.

General Comments:

Love to drive it. Because this is a 2.0 Liter engine the fuel consumption is a bit high, but still wouldn't sell it for the world. Also, I love the boot!!! You can put a elephant in!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews