Skoda 110R Reviews

1972 Skoda 110R 1.1 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1972
Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Kingswood

Summary:

Czechoslovakian Rocket

Faults:

Nothing really went wrong with it, apart from the clutch, which died and had to be rebuilt. It must have been the two tons of premix that I towed when I was laying my concrete drive; it did the job at the time. After six months the clutch began to slip; I wonder why?.

General Comments:

I bought the car for $400.00 NZ, and I drove it all over the South Island, and I sold it for $450.00. What a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2008

1976 Skoda 110R 1.1 petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired229465 miles
Most recent distance229467 miles
Previous carSkoda Rapid

Summary:

A true and reliable classic

Faults:

I bought the car as a restoration project so it has to undergo a full body service. Some panels have to be replaced, interior upholstery has to be replaced too and the engine shall have a full service.

General Comments:

Although a lot of work is involved it is absolutely worth it, I drove the car very little but it started first time after the previous owner left it by the side of the road for a year and a half.

It is also the last S110R left here in Malta so it is more worth saving it.

Anyway I have always liked to own one and I am now rebuilding one. Double pleasure!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

1980 Skoda 110R 1.1 from Slovakia

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Estelle

Summary:

Perfect!

Faults:

Only small things (headlight...)

General Comments:

Cheap sports coupe that runs over 140kph with a 1.1 liter engine and is older than me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

8th May 2001, 09:26

I'm from Yugoslavia! The Skoda 110R (1974/1107cm3/manual) is the best car on the road!!!

1974 Skoda 110R 1.2L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 kilometres
Most recent distance35500 kilometres

Summary:

Smart classic choice

Faults:

Nothing, never missed a beat.

General Comments:

I brought this car as it was unusual and rare plus low mileage and mint. It turned out to be such a good ride that I now use it daily.

It handles great and looks amazing with its lime green paint and brown vinyl roof but it could use a bit more power.

I recommend that anyone looking for a classic should leave the Minis and Minors for the stupid people and buy a classic Skoda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

28th Jun 2002, 21:52

Skoda... definitely a much maligned car and the subject of unhelpful "Skoda jokes". Skoda (and Tatra) had a reputation for building cars in a highly individualistic manner in much the same fashion as the French manufacturer Citroen and this should be borne in mind. The engines in Skodas were quite advanced for their time (rear-engined, air-cooled) with their hemi-head design and wet cylinder liners, and well known for their longetivity and ruggedness of construction.

Pity about the swing-arm rear suspension though.

3rd Aug 2006, 02:44

I have to disagree about the handling. It is terrible.

25th Jul 2007, 17:34

Skoda is now reliable car and very popular in Europe. It is pity that Skoda is not present in Australia yet.

1974 Skoda 110R 1.2 petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carSkoda Rapid 136

Summary:

One of Skoda's classic cars

Faults:

The car was not well maintained when I got it. I repaired what was necessary. Needed constant checking of coolant otherwise it would overheat. Steering box was worn but lasted longer than the engine. Engine lost too much oil near the end of its life.

General Comments:

I bought the car as it was quite a rare find. I like unusual cars. Full restoration would have cost too much at the time, and original parts are scarce. I would never get rid of it if I had the chance to own it again. Roadholding and handling was excellent but steering very heavy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2000

15th Dec 2001, 12:52

I am from Malta too and about a month ago I bought the last remaining S110R on the island which I am restoring at the moment. The car was such a thrill to drive before I dismantled it, hopefully after restoration it will be much better!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 5 reviews