2004 Skoda Fabia Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2004 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

At last a performance car that people can afford to run, great stuff

Faults:

So far I have had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

I have previously owned a Subaru Impreza Turbo and an Octavia VRS, the Impreza was a fantastic car, but running costs were ridiculous. The Octavia proved to be cheaper to run, but insurance was Grp 16, this was again a great car, but again hurt my pocket if I drove it hard.

So I started to read write ups on the Fabia VRS and off I went to a dealer and went out for a test drive.

What a surprise! the car handled in my opinion better than the Octavia and felt just as quick if not quicker in the mid range, by the way the salesman didn't come with me so I was able to put the Fabia through its paces!

So I went back and struck a deal although I was a little sad to see the Octavia go. Well 1000miles on and I am amazed at the economy, at 70mph with cruise control on I have averaged 61mpg and even on blasts over D-restricted roads it hasn't dipped below 45mpg!

I am having my car re-mapped in a couple of days, which according to my dealer does not affect the warranty.

If there is anybody out there toying with the idea of buying one of these cars, then go and test drive one and see for yourself, don't worry about the badge, these cars are cracking value for money it is the badge snobs that are the fools, trust me.

Oh and by the way, there was a guy trading in his Honda Civic Type R for a Fabia VRS when I got mine, enough said!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

16th Oct 2004, 10:01

Re-mapping of the ECU will void the warranty, whoever re-maps the ecu ask them if they are underwriting the warranty because Skoda will not. The 130 bhp engine is strong, but not that strong.

31st Oct 2004, 11:26

The engine that's gone into the new Seat tdi 160 is not any kind of proof of the strength of the 130 engine. Reason. Very different components used in both engines. Not just remap!

2004 Skoda Fabia vRS 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles

Summary:

The vRS is fab!

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Before making my purchase, I spent months looking for my ideal car. My requirements were that the car had to be a well built, good performer, economical car with all the extras such as air-con etc on a budget of £12k. I had firstly decided on the Seat Ibiza 100bhp TDI, but then later realized that I could get a a 130 bhp "rocket ship" for the same price with all the trimmings to boot! (Skoda vRS). The only slight problem I had was of other people's attitude toward the Skoda name. Now that I own one, it gives me great pleasure in out performing most cars up to 60 and beyond, then maybe people will take notice and realize that vRS is a seriously quick car, and basically a VW with a Skoda badge.

The car has been a pleasure to drive since new; great handling, fab acceleration and solid interior, with all the functions neatly placed within the cabin. The seats could have been a little darker to perhaps mask the inevitable spillages that will happen throughout the life of the car, but apart from that, I can't complain as they are comfortable.

I got my car through "BuyYourCar.co.uk" saving me over £450 on the list price, which involves this company obtaining your Skoda through a main agent who will contact you direct, still receiving all the usual warranties, is a UK car, and even deliver it to your door on a transporter!! So I would recommend them.

The fuel economy does still surprises me, as I thought the official figure would not be attainable, but I'm getting 53mpg according to the computer, and that includes a combination around town driving and dual carriageway driving.

The car looks good, especially in the black magic pearl effect paint, and does turn heads now and again, as you don't see great deal of them on the roads. The 16 inch alloys and emphasised bumpers with spotlights tell you this car is different to the normal Fabia, but it doesn't go over the top like other cars I could mention.

Overall, I would say that this car is a great buy, cheap for all the equipment you get, and not forgetting the powerful/economical engine that is raring to go under the bonnet. I would definitely recommend that you buy one if you can live with a Skoda badge! (We need to educate people, so what are you waiting for, buy one today!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

22nd Sep 2004, 08:18

Absolutely right, I Know, I bought one.

And Very Good it is too!!

1st Oct 2004, 14:47

I also purchased one.

Best car I have ever owned, and I have had a few.

130 bhp, 55 mpg, brilliant.

6th Nov 2004, 16:59

What more can I say that hasn't already been said. Badge no problem either!

3rd Feb 2005, 06:57

Stop and think guys... If we tell everyone about these FABias then Skoda will realise they are in demand and put the prices up. Keep it to yourselves and just laugh at the Golf GTI and Bora buyers that have paid £5000 more than you.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 23 reviews