1994 Skoda Favorit Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Skoda Favorit LXi plus 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

A 180mph express? No, but it sat at 80mph all day

Faults:

The car had a tendency to overheat, but it just kept on going. There was a slight leak in the coolant pipe - just kept it topped up. The engines have a reputation for head gasket failures, but both ours were OK.

General Comments:

For some reason I was really comfy in it. I drove Milan - Lincoln in one go, no worries, and up and down the ski resort roads in the winter no problem. My wife and I owned 2 examples, it was a cheap runabout and massive inside. Dealers are unbelievably friendly. All in all, a good thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

1994 Skoda Favorit GLXiE Estate 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carSkoda Rapid

Summary:

Workhorse or great budget small family car

Faults:

Both stalk switches (indicator & wiper) needed replacing.

Centre exhaust replaced (normal wear)

Sticky front caliper.

Leaking rear wheel cylinder.

All what I would consider acceptable wear and tear faults.

General Comments:

A roomy estate car, boot-wise.

Comfort and handling are average, but it IS after all, a Skoda.

Not fast, by a long shot. The Skoda is the tortoise, plodding along until it passes the fast hare (on the hard shoulder) to get there in the end. Perfectly capable of sustaining road-legal speeds however, even fully laden with a camping trailer.

This car has been abused since I got it. I never intended to keep it, therefore it has had no servicing whatsoever. But I ended up keeping it, even after such abuse, it just won't stop plodding on.

Not as much fun to drive however, as the older rear-drive Skodas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1994 Skoda Favorit LX 1.3 from Denmark

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Type I

Summary:

A bargain for little money!

Faults:

Until now, nothing severe has gone wrong with the car.

Only a little thing like the parking brake... It "hangs" meaning that when I pull the break, the indicator doesn't light, but when I release it again, the indicator lights up.

IE. it seems like the functionality has been reversed in some sort :-)

The right brake light quit on me the other day, but it is an easy operation to replace it with a new bulb.

General Comments:

A bit noisy, but acceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

1994 Skoda Favorit glxi 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance33500 miles

Summary:

Can't be bettered for value

Faults:

Head gasket replaced day I collected the car, otherwise small things like bulbs loose door trims.

General Comments:

Having only paid 1500 pounds I have a low mileage 5 door hatchback in nearly new condition which drives surprisingly well. The bodywork is immaculate for an 8 year old car with no signs of rust at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1994 Skoda Favorit GLXi 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

The Favorit was cheap to buy, performs well, and has been cheap to maintain

Faults:

In 1999 there was an overheating problem that was promptly rectified by the dealer under their second-hand warranty.

In 2001, I had to replace (1) the electric fan motor (2) the thermostat. I consider these faults to be relatively trivial, and this is a testament to the build quality of the engine and components.

General Comments:

This car is economical to run, at over 40 miles per gallon.

It has also been cheap to repair.

Routine servicing is straightforward since the car has a pushrod engine which still seems to be familiar to mechanics. The last service cost me only £70 for parts, lubricants and labour.

The cabin is roomy, but luggage space is restricted because it's a hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2002

1994 Skoda Favorit Lxi Plus 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carSkoda Octavia

Summary:

Cheap to buy, run and service. Build quality and reliability much much better than the rumours!

Faults:

Rear dampers replaced at 95,000 miles.

Rear wash-wipe doesn't spray water.

General Comments:

Bodywork is astonishingly immaculate for a 7 year old car that has done near 100,000 miles!

Interior has worn very well, no signs of carpet or seat fabric wear, dashboard and fitments need occasional tightening up but build is much better than folklore suggests!

Handling is better that one would imagine, seems to grip well round corners and in the wet which is quite surprising.

Steering is also quite precise but bangs and knocks a bit, which I'm told is normal.

Heater gets warm quickly and adjustment is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1994 Skoda Favorit GLXiE 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carOpel Manta

Summary:

Mine has a smiley face on the bonnet, need I say more

Faults:

The Thermostat had to be replaced for £6.50.

General Comments:

I bought the car for £50 at auction and will shortly be selling it for a few hundred. Once sold I will head back to the auction and pick another up for £50 to £100.

As the car averages 40 miles to the gallon, requires only basic maintenance and is 100% reliable. What more do you want from a car. If you need performance, make sure it is an injected model and say goodbye to any other car with a 1.3/1.4 engine.

To improve the handling make sure you put a good make of tyre on the front and the fun factor goes up greatly.

Always buy one with a black interior as they are screwed together far better.

Only horror is the support in the seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2001

9th Jan 2002, 11:48

They only did this car with a 1289 cc engine? There are no other choices??

The only choice was in 1994 they up-rated from 54 to 67 bhp, but the capacity and engine remained basically the same.

27th May 2002, 06:03

At no time did I say the car had anything other than a 1.3Ltr engine. What I said was that with it being the injection models it will beat 1.3/1.4 engined cars. Please read carefully!

14th Jun 2002, 15:13

Yes the performance of this car is very impressive and surprisingly. I own a Favorit Blackline (1993) with 54 HP.

17th Jun 2002, 06:10

I have now passed this car to my sister, who is very happy with it apart from the heavy steering. Well that's one way of getting exercise ;-)

14th Aug 2003, 02:41

I own a Favorit GLXi Silver Line, and the car rules, I'm buying another car, but I have no intention of selling my skoda :)

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews