1996 Skoda Felicia Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1996 Skoda Felicia LX 1.3 from Greece

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable car with a few minor problems

Faults:

The thermostat failed at least three times.

The fuel pump failed at 100000 km.

The new fuel pump failed again at 145000 km.

At 125000 km I had to replace the radiator because it was leaking.

At 132000km I had to replace the heater radiator because it was leaking.

General Comments:

Skoda felicia is a cheap car which worths every cent of the money I paid for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

1996 Skoda Felicia Combi LX 1.3 from Egypt

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Perfect and worth every dollar you spent in it

Faults:

Nothing at all (till now), except some rust under the battery & I fixed it.

General Comments:

It is a wonderful car, I liked it a lot.

After I bought it & used it I found it perfect in every thing except for the acceleration it's a bit slow, but I can deal with that.

I can't tell you how pleasuring & comfortable it is on the high ways.

When I'm driving it I feel that I'm in another world & I don't feel whats going out side My World.

However the cabin is very gloomy and the seats are uncomfortable.

It handles like it's on rails.

Specially I have a Combi, it have a lot, I mean A lot of space that I could take my whole house is it while I'm traveling.

Since I bought it I realized that Skoda is a very reliable & respectable company, so I started thinking seriously to own the New Octavia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2005

1996 Skoda Felicia LXi Plus 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Great value load lugger and everyday town car

Faults:

So far it's had a service, and required new front pads and disks, all general maintenance really. No "surprise faults" as yet.

General Comments:

Poor ventilation, the car is ALWAYS too hot inside.

VERY roomy when you fold down or remove the rear seats, amazing what you can get in.

Considering it's the LXI Plus you get no equipment, no PAS, no electric windows not even central locking!

Acceleration poor as it's the old favorit engine, but good once it's up to speed, managed 80mph so far.

Build quality surprisingly good (expected as VW took over).

Cheap to run so far, low tax and really low insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2003

1996 Skoda Felicia LXI Plus 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Excellent value load lugger

Faults:

So far nothing except that the engine is noisy and unrefined, it sounds like an old diesel van!

General Comments:

This car surprised me, I wasn't expecting it to drive as well as it does considering the Skoda stigma. It drives solidly, is well put together except the steering column trim keeps falling off. If you remove the back seats there is an amazing amount of space for load lugging.

Considering this is the LXI Plus (supposedly top of the range) you get.

Rear wash wipe.

THAT IS IT! No PAS, no ABS, no electric windows, no sunroof, no central locking! But, basically it's a newer car for Vauxhall Nova money!

I would consider another one of these cars in the future but try to get a slightly newer one, from 1998 onwards I think they have quiter VW engines, this one has the old Favorit engine in and it's a rotter!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

1996 Skoda Felicia LXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2400 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carSkoda Favorit

Summary:

A cheap reliable car

Faults:

Drive shaft boot split at 34,000 miles (general wear and tear).

Front suspension units replaced due to corrosion at 34,500. Dealer stated it was common due to road salt in the winter months. Cost £200 inc fitting and VAT.

Just beginning to rust around rear weel arches.

For people who service their own car lack of spares from scrapyards.

General Comments:

The 1.6 engine is a bonus on the old 1.3 engine. Gives higher performance on the motorways.

Comfortable ride.

Little heavy on the steering at low speeds.

This is my 7th Skoda and I still don't see what the joke was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

1996 Skoda Felicia LX 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles

Summary:

Reliable bargain machine

Faults:

Lock on passenger side door failed.

Exhaust rusted.

General Comments:

Very reliable VW engine which you know is not going to let you down on a reasonable 35 mpg.

However, it is very slow. I often find myself crawling up hills in the same lane as HGV's. Acceleration is very poor, and (literally) could not out run a bus (I tried). Feels more like 1.0 litre than 1.3i.

It is very comfortable though, and quite spacious for a hatchback.

Steering is very heavy, makes parking very difficult. It has earned the nick name "The Tank" since it feels like you are turning one. I would recommend a better version than LX, one with at least power assisted steering.

Although I would recommend it for the elderly, as it is just the kind of reliable friend an old man would be looking for, they may have difficulty parking. I am 19 years old and I find it tough turning the wheel at times. But then, maybe my generation is just used to power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

18th Jan 2005, 09:43

Just thought I'd update on the review, I passed this car onto my brother at 18000 miles and he's pushed it up to 21000 but is now selling it because he's bought a mk1 Escort. Still no problems, except the battery going flat because he left the sidelights on. Also, turns out it's a Skoda engine, not a VW engine, that only applies to the 1.6.

Have to admit, I'm very sad to see this car go, a lot more sad than I think I should be. It was slow and heavy and thirsty and the interior was bland and cheap and it was loud and all, but it just had something about it that I've never seen in a car before or since. It felt solid, like you knew you were going to get there, and you felt secure, but whats more, you just felt this car liked you. Like a puppy or something, it costs money, and needs looking after, but you always felt like it appreciated the love it was getting. Thusly, I feel like I'm betraying it, as I look out of the window, knowing that I could quite easily buy it back off my brother and keep it in the family. This has actually kept me up at night believe it or not. Quite sad I know.

27th May 2005, 06:33

My brother is passing down his to me for 200 pounds. It's old and may not last me as long, so I won't be going to the trouble of doing this one up lol. I guess i'll just use it to get used to the roads. Nice little car though.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 21 reviews