1999 Skoda Felicia Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1999 Skoda Felicia LX 1.9D diesel from Netherlands

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carKia KIA Pregio 2.7D

Summary:

Good car, but gear is a risk

Faults:

Serious gear trouble with loud rattling noise in gear 1 to 4. This is a weakness of the VW-Polo gearbox according to the experts. Often the crown wheel riveting fails. Costly overhaul of the gearbox between 1000 and 1400 Eu!

General Comments:

Handling, comfort and fuel economy are OK. It runs excellent on high contents of salad oil in the diesel fuel! For the given length certainly the most roomy hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

18th Aug 2005, 23:30

Hi Steven: My wyfe's family in Poland have a Skoda Felicia. The transmission broke and needs to be replaced. I wonder if there is a way to find this in America or Europe so that I can buy it and ship it to them in Poland. I am traveling to Poland next week and would like to help them with this issue. Thanks in advance for any help.

9th Nov 2006, 03:28

I have a 1999 Felicia 1.9d. It is perfect car now.. when I bought it had 40 000 km. now is 47 000 I haven't had any problems so far. fuel economy is nice...

1999 Skoda Felicia LXi Estate 1.3 MPI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 MPI Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Cheap and reliable work horse

Faults:

Immobilizer failed at 40,000 miles, replaced under warranty.

Alternator failed at 50,000 miles, replaced under warranty.

Battery failed as a result of faulty alternator having damaged it at 50,500 miles.

Needed CV boot and gear box mount replaced for MOT at 76,000 miles.

General Comments:

When I picked up my 1999 pre-registered, but mechanically brand new Skoda Felicia 1.3 LXi estate in 2000 it was my second Skoda, having previously owned a 1997 Felicia 1.3 GLi hatchback. That car had given me good service, but had been damaged in an accident. Having bought a second Skoda it is obvious that I am a fan of the mark.

The car is very reliable, but is badly underpowered.

My model lacked power steering and has very heavy steering at low speed.

The seats are very comfortable and the driving position is good (for me).

Instruments are well set out.

Boot space is massive in estate.

Cars main fault is that compared with current models it is very basic.

I have just traded this car in for a 1.6L Octavia Classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1999 Skoda Felicia Lxi 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Transit

Summary:

Excellentvalue so I bought a second one!

Faults:

The water pump developed a small crack that leaked coolant at 59,000 miles.

General Comments:

This version of the Felicia is a cube van and with a large capacity load area has barn door aero dynamics, however driven lightly still gives me good mpg (45 - 55)

Out of warranty, basic maintenance is very easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

1999 Skoda Felicia LXi 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good budget car spoiled by poor ventilation system

Faults:

No problems as yet.

Apart from squeaking rear seat back in the 'up' position.

General Comments:

4th and 5th gears very flexible.

Front seating position excellent.

Intermittent wiper control a puzzle -changes its wipe intervals at random.

Carpets very cheap quality and 'fluff up'easily.

Ventilation system seriously inadequate, with no unassisted ram effect. Fan has to be used all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

26th Jun 2002, 17:16

>Intermittent wiper control a puzzle -changes its wipe >intervals at random.

It only seems that way :). It's actually programmable. To set it, start from the Off position then flick to intermittent and let the wipers move once then switch the wipers off again. When you want the wipers to move again, flick it back on to intermittent and leave. The wipers will now cycle at the same interval you left. I really like it and often vary it with the conditions without a second thought, from rapid wipes down to a sweep every couple of minutes or so. FWIW the salesman at my Skoda dealer hadn't figured it out when I bought a Felicia some years ago, but I think it's in the user manual somewhere... - MP

23rd May 2005, 04:06

Yes, I agree about the wipers, good idea.

The defogging system is horrible. I have thought about.

Installing windbreakers around the windows for the rainy.

Days, but if it is not raining, I always have the roof.

Open, even when it is cold, although the girlfriend.

Doesn't always appreciate it.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews