2000 Skoda Felicia Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2000 Skoda Felicia LXi Pickup 1.3 MPI from Norway

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 MPI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres

Summary:

Absolutely worth the money

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I am quite happy with the engine, considering that it is only 1.3 litre.

Nevertheless I would probably buy the 1.6 litre if I were to buy the car today.

Another person at this forum did not know how to change the wiper interval.

In the beginning I did not understand it either. Now I do know how. First you turn the wiper on and immediately off again. Then you wait for as long as you want the interval to be. Then you turn the wiper on again, but this time you leave it on. Now it will wipe automatically at the interval you have just chosen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2002

27th Apr 2006, 20:22

Gday, I'm an owner of a 1998 Felicia Pickup LX 1.3 liters. My pickup has 253.400 original kilometers and I have never opened the motor.

My car was stolen and the robbers crashed the pickup. I repaired the car and everything goes good again.

Yes, maybe a 1.6L motor could run better, but the 1.3 revs very good, I put 5000 revs on my tach and the motor responds.

The only mechanical parts that I have changed are: all the suspension joints, the rubber protection for the axle, the distribution chain, the brake pads, shocks, and the bearings of the front and rear wheels.

In summary, a very good car, very resistant and very noble.

Good for Skoda!!!

2000 Skoda Felicia GLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carSkoda Fabia

Summary:

A good value car, useless on a trade-in, certainly don't use a dealership to replace parts

Faults:

The Alternator gave up @ 27000 miles

The plastic below/inside the boot fell off

The boot lock is broken.

General Comments:

The car is roomy enough

She handles well

The boot is huge,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

2000 Skoda Felicia GLX 1.6 MPi from Romania

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 MPi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance18500 kilometres
Previous carDacia 1310

Summary:

Excellent car for the money

Faults:

Almost nothing, except a small problem with a wheel, because I got into a hole in the middle of the road.

Lock at the right-front door jammed.

A strange noise on bad roads, which I have been told is normal.

General Comments:

This is a reliable car, with low running costs, good and quite cheap service.

The distance to ground is too low, as I added a metallic cover to protect my engine. Care must be taken on bad roads.

Good acceleration, and reasonable top speed (170Km/h) for the size of the car.

Unfortunately, no airbag or A/C available in Romania, unless you waited for 3 months. (Which I didn't).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

16th May 2002, 08:06

Hi don't know how your skoda is running, but from other people I have heard they are a hunk of junk, and haven't improved at all in this, is this true?!

30th Aug 2002, 10:40

Comment shows lack of research. Felicia was UK What Car? budget hatchback choice for 3 years 1996-1999. Low powered, not flash and an image problem maybe... junk nope..Volkswagen aren't keen on marketing junk.

17th Sep 2002, 07:11

As an owner of a Felicia Hatchback 1999, also with 1.6l engine, also from Romania, I'd not say that this is a reliable car. It ages fast and has some problems on bad roads like we have here. In these three years of using Felicia, I had more than 10 visits to the service shop, from minor problems (stuck left mirror) to big ones (repairs of the gearbox). Right now it has a problem with the engine that the local dealer cannot fix... My next car definitely will not be a Skoda.

22nd Jul 2006, 17:37

I too have a Skoda Felicia, (1.6 GLX) and I was amazed as how reliable it is. I did not spend time on maintenance, it had some rough times (oil not changed in time, after an accident I told the guys at the service to work on the engine as well (just for cleaning and fine tuning, not chip or any lame tuning) they found mud instead of oil, but the car worked good in these conditions). But, I've driven a friends Felicia, (a diesel one) and it was rubbish. And I have heard the same about others. So I guess it's all about luck. My Felicia has about 400.000 km on it.

2000 Skoda Felicia Classic 1.3 OHV from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 OHV Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Pleasant car with bags of character which makes it likeable when its disappointments are ignored

Faults:

Steering locks jammed and had to be replaced along with all other locks in the car.

Uneven running of the engine including missing a beat. Garage unable to identify the cause.

General Comments:

Pleasant car with character, but let down by poor performance both in terms of speed and economy and uneven running of the engine which neither the garage nor Skoda can explain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

2000 Skoda Felicia GLX 1.3 MPI petrol from Greece

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 MPI petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance12250 kilometres
Previous carYugo 45

Summary:

This car gets a 10/10 score: overall/price

Faults:

Small failures on electrical circuits e.g. door lights.

The floor below the engine (engine cover) is lowered to make room for the air codition system compressor. This leads sometimes to striking this cover (e.g. when passing "pot-holes").

General Comments:

Although is has small problems, this car is good value as it's very economic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

2000 Skoda Felicia GLXi Combi 1.3 from Greece

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance12500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Best value for money

Faults:

Only the LH electric window a month after I bought it. Replaced by a Skoda dealer.

General Comments:

Very satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews