1998 Skoda Octavia Reviews

1998 Skoda Octavia GLX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Faults:

Parked up by the previous owner for two years due to electrical problems.

Ventilation kept coming and going, clocks kept coming and going, doors kept locking and unlocking themselves, burned 3 litres of oil in 1000 miles.

Car test emissions were through the roof - which the tester said is common with 1.6 petrol Skoda's. Not worth fixing and sold for scrap. Had a newer one that was only 4 years old, and had the same problem with clocks. Don't know if I was unlucky or what, but I will never buy another Skoda.

General Comments:

Handles itself nicely on the open road.

Didn't get more than a few weeks hassle free driving out of either Skoda I owned. I will never buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2011

1998 Skoda Octavia GLXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFiat Brava

Summary:

Great family car, reliable, cheap to run, and a bargain is to be had with older models!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far!

Previous owner neglected to get the timing belt changed at 60k, so I got this done as soon as I bought it.

General Comments:

I had an old, battered 1997 Skoda Felicia 1.3i a couple of years ago and loved it to bits. It was looking a bit on the tired side, so I traded it in for a 2000 Skoda Fabia, which seemed a bit more 'modern'.

Got on well with this car, but due to my expanding family, decided I needed something bigger. I wanted to stay with Skodas and was looking at Octavias, until a bargain Fiat Brava caught me eye. Big mistake, problem after problem!

Then I finally got an old Skoda Octavia 6 months ago, and have not looked back since!

Check timing belt change at 60k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2007

1998 Skoda Octavia GLX 1.9tdi from Romania

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9tdi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 kilometres
Most recent distance238000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A cheap-to-run reliable family car

Faults:

The shield underneath the motor broke in to pieces because of the low ground clearance.

General Comments:

Octavia is the perfect family car. The performances aren't too bad for a car of this weight. The front seats are very comfortable especially on long journeys.

In the back there is a lack of legroom. On the other-hand the boot is enormous.

Handling is good, but could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1998 Skoda Octavia GLXi 1.6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda honda

Summary:

Do ever think of BUYING one here!

Faults:

Well very excited when I collect the car, but after 1 year when the warranty almost over the noisy breaking sound start to come. Then the front window holder gave way just after few months the window just drop down. Got it replace from another car in the workshop. Than when I went for overseas attachment, my wife told me the dealer closed shop, with the breaking noise unsolved. By then almost all four doors had the part replaced, after unexpected "droppings". Found that all Volks car had the same problem about 2 yrs need to replace this part informed an old friend I bumped into at the Volks specialist workshop. Maybe these continental cars not meant for our hot tropical weather. The front break noise reduced after I sent this car to this Volks specialist workshop much cheaper and reliable service. After that I gave up this car, sold to one and only 2nd hand skoda dealer.

I finnaly switched to a ever reliable Japanese car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1998 Skoda Octavia GLX 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Good car.. Awful reliability

Faults:

Drivers door central locking unit has been replaced 3 times. It has broke down again and won't be replaced.

Passengers door central locking unit has been replaced twice.

Rear hatch door central locking unit has been replaced 3 times.

Immobiliser packed in and had to be replaced. Took over a week to rectify the fault.

All the locks had to be replaced after fault.

Speedo stopped working and car cut out. Cost over £400 to replace.

Electric sunroof stopped working.

General Comments:

I have owned the Skoda Octavia now for about 3 1/2 years and have been absolutely plagued with reliability faults.

Funny thing is, I actually like the car to drive and the fuel consumption is excellent. I have actually managed to get 71 mpg on one journey.

Thankfully, most of the faults have been repaired under warranty. It must have cost Skoda a fortune! However, the car is now well over 3 years old and the reliability hasn't got any better. And for those badge snobs out there, the electrical parts that keep braking down have VW Audi stamped on them.

I have almost got to the last straw with this car and I don't know if I will buy another. Probably not. I have written a letter to Skoda to complain so I will just have to see what sort of response I get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

3rd Jul 2002, 10:45

Sounds very similar to the problems I have had with my VW Golf. Interestingly, from the reviews the Felicia seems a good deal more reliable. Maybe its time VW fitted Skoda parts to their cars!

8th Sep 2002, 17:16

Very, Very similar to my experience, I have had many minor electrical failures and one major failure with resulting in the replacement of the top half of the engine.

Again all the parts stamped VWAudi.

My conclusion is the same. Great car marred by poor quality parts which let down the whole.

I will not be replacing my Skoda with another.

Mileage now at three years is 80000,economy good, comfort good, power good.

24th Sep 2002, 06:51

I'm afraid it seems that VW AUDI electrics are of a very poor quality. My Passat was nothing but constant problems, most of them electrical and all annoying and complex. VW quality is a total myth.

1st Sep 2004, 06:30

Interesting points. My 2002 Octavia Elegance 4 x 4 turbo is on its 3rd battery! The dealer eventually found a fault in the interior light circuit which was leaking current away. They've fixed that, but, since then the central locking doesn't work properly. When starting it, the car unlocks itself, the interior light switches on, and the lock switch on the driver's door stops working. It's going back to be fixed...

A generally good car, but these niggles are making me lose confidence in the marque.

16th May 2007, 13:24

I have a 2000 Skoda Octavia GLXI auto. This car stalls and restarts after an hour. The problem then disappears for weeks, and then it happens again. Can anyone tell what is wrong with it?

Thanks.

1998 Skoda Octavia glxi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Unreliable nightmare

Faults:

Sice the first week I have had the car it has been back to the dealer on 3 occasions for engine management problems each time the car is returned the fault yet again develops.

The car is now back at the garage for the 4th time with the same problem and has been there for 3 weeks on this occasion and STILL I'm waiting for its return.

General Comments:

I would NEVER buy a skoda brand again after my experience with this car and it will be sold as soon as I get it returned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2002

1998 Skoda Octavia SLX 1.9 turbo diesel (90 HP) from Norway

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel (90 HP) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Good value, well worth checking out

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Well built, a little bit low for Norwegian Winter roads. Backseat is too small for most child seats (backward mounted)!! ISOFIX seat only available for forward seating e.g. not a perfect car if you have very small kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 7 reviews