1999 Skoda Octavia Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Skoda Octavia SLXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

A Sound strong car very good value for money

Faults:

This first fault was based around the automatic element of the front electric windows. This fault only occurred whilst the side or main lights were on. The deal looked at the problem and replaced the switch pack, fault rectified.

The second problem was the paint on the front bumper started to flake away. I approached the dealership, who took the car for examination, and with authority from Skoda UK resprayed the whole front bumper. To which I must comment they did an excellent job.

General Comments:

To say over all the car is very well put together (one of the reasons I looked a Skoda).

The performance from the 2 litre engine is very strong with a great deal of torque delivered at fairly low RPM.

The level of trim on the car is very high for the cost of the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

1999 Skoda Octavia GLXi 1.6 74 KW from Iceland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 74 KW Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Grand Vitara

Summary:

Very good value for money

Faults:

The line between the brake Vacuum and intake manifold broke at 52000 km.

Water leaking into the car trough right rear door.

Nothing else has actually gone wrong.

General Comments:

There are some things that could be better engineered. Like for example the plastic under the car at front tends to get all loose in snow, I have lifted the car 1 1/2" from the ground at suspension and that helps a lot.

Squeaky doors, but needed new "thingies" that the door locks to front and rear.

The engine is Powerful compared the weight of the car and it is extremely economical.

On highways it uses only 5.5 per 100 kilometers.

In the city it uses only 6.5 - 7 liters per 100 kilometers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

1999 Skoda Octavia GLXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance39106 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

A value-for-money car

Faults:

Tailgate central locking servo failed.

Clutch replaced at 29000.

Rear washer pipe disconnected flooding the rear of the car!

Cassette player ate tapes after only 3 weeks.

General Comments:

Overall, this is the best car I have owned, with only minor problems, which were quickly and effectively repair by the Main Dealer.

My biggest criticism is that the speedometer has no markings for the national speed limits, i.e. 30 or 70mph. One is just left to guess when you are at these speeds! Not too bright with the current emphasis on speed cameras!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1999 Skoda Octavia GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

Good quality, great price

Faults:

My brake lights failed and needed a sensor component replaced.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with my Octavia, it looks great and handles family journeys excellently.

I find that it performs best with a full tank of petrol, has a fine power surge in 3rd gear and glides nicely on motorways.

After owning an Octavia, I am seriously considering buying the new Skoda model, the Superb.

For me a Skoda means a good quality, highly specified car at a great price, for intelligent people who can see past "badge" snobbery.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

1999 Skoda Octavia GLXi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 100

Summary:

Unbeatable quality and value for the money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent build quality.

My dealer will bend over backwards to ensure you are satisfied with service and quality of work.

Comfortable enough for long drives, although the seats are a tad hard.

Handling and performance are fine for what it is intended to do, although the steering is perhaps over-light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2001

1999 Skoda Octavia GLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

Don't let the badge put you off!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car. It is better to drive than the Audi I had before and it performs better. Ride, handling, performance and equipment levels are better than much of the competition.

The boot is huge and fuel economy is unbelievable, I have averaged 36mpg (from a 2 litre!).

UK dealers are friendly and very efficient. There are still very few on the road in the UK so you have the feeling of driving something quite exclusive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

8th Mar 2001, 06:49

Beware when people say the ride quality is excellent. It errs on the firm side of comfortable, and tends to crash and bang a bit. A Peugeot 406 is much better. The Octavia is not particularly quiet either, and space in the rear is very poor.

4th Apr 2001, 12:19

I can't agree with this criticism. The ride is faultless and in fact much better than the Vectra I had before. There is not too much noise at speed; although it is louder than the Vectra this is really down to the engine (diesel). My only disappointment is the sound system quality. Everything else about the car is superb and of course the price is unbelievable. And this car (1.9TD) will do over 60 mpg even if you cruise at 90 (the revs at this speed just 3000!)

11th Jan 2002, 16:15

Well let's face it, any car is better than a Vauxhall.

8th Aug 2005, 07:27

I just bought a 1999 Octavia, and being from Ireland, my Suzie is well outperforming on all aspects.

Irish roads are a disaster to drive on, and the Octavia, though a little flighty on the rear (going to get steel cable & tie the back down a bit].

It's handling is only superb, it sticks to the road, feedback in the steering wheel is great, and the loud pedal practically talks to you when it wants more juice... I have a 1.6 petrol, GLXi and I'll never change to another make of car, value for money is only fantastic, €5k got me this one with only 34k miles on the clock, I've run it in, and at 80mph you can still get average of 40mpg...

The engine is VW Audi, and I've had it referred to as a Yellow Pack Audi... same girl went out & spend €30k on an A3... No need to spend that, ridiculous price, when you can drive the Octavia and arrive to work smiling.. GRIN factor in this works every time.. Massive car.

1st Mar 2010, 13:39

"A Peugeot 406 is much better"

At what? Ride? That's as maybe, and in my opinion the 406 is only marginally better, but when it comes to daily motoring I favour reliability; and I haven't had that with any Peugeot I ever owned! The Octavia is easily a better engineered car.

1999 Skoda Octavia GLXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Good car, poor backup

Faults:

Boot lock jammed so unable to access the boot.

Electric window switch illumination failed twice.

Rattling noise from under the car which 2 dealers have been unable to fix.

Passenger door hinge faulty.

Aircon losing its ability to deliver cold air.

General Comments:

Good basic design, but from my experience Skoda has poor dealer backup. Skoda GB quite helpful but lack any teeth to help sort out problems.

The car suffers from horrendous depreciation so buy used! Skoda still have an image problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews