2004 Skoda Superb Reviews

2004 Skoda Superb Comfort 1.9 TDi PD from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi PD Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6500 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carSeat Toledo

Summary:

Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin!

Faults:

A couple of minor niggles in the shape of bulbs and recalls, but generally a well screwed together vehicle.

General Comments:

As soon as I took it for a test drive I wanted to buy it. The car is a large size, but quite easy to get used to. Parking could be a problem without the rear parking sensors.

Loads amount of kit for a mid range model.

The seat fabric is not as good as I would have hoped, but the rest of the car is simply brilliant and full of nice touches like door handles that light up at night, 'Cat Vision' which gives an ambient red glow over the inside of the car at night.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

4th May 2006, 14:48

What recalls are there on it, and what bhp?

5th May 2006, 02:04

The BHP is 130.

The recalls have been to check the fuel tandem pump, then another recall for the mounting bolts for the pump.

13th May 2006, 09:01

I like the look of the Superb and believe they are the best value for money car out there, the only worries I have is if they are like the Passat, they might share their good range of economical diesel engines and bad things like their faulty front suspension, cv joints door handles, but with a bit of luck they may use different parts, and then your looking at a better car than the Passat, both visually and in engineering standards.

2004 Skoda Superb Elegance 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDi Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Good - but cumbersome

Faults:

Climate control display fault - displays temp in degrees F, not degrees C (UK spec car) Was OK when I first got it.

Terrible creak from across the dash board in front of the windscreen.

Both front seats creak badly whenever you move!

ABS + traction control warning lights displayed sporadically.

Headlining makes a sticky 'ticking' noise when the sunroof is open.

General Comments:

Handling is easy to unsettle if pushed even a little - scares me in corners - worse in wet and over uneven surfaces.

Very good on motorways - surprisingly quick.

Auto box drives me mad - hesitates on cold starts and decides to shift down when I give it more gas through corners.

Not a drivers car!

All said and done - the Superb is a big comfortable car with lots of extras, but just don't expect too much fun driving home from work!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

3rd Jul 2005, 16:26

Your climate control display can be changed from degrees C to degrees F easily, its pressing two buttons at the same time to change them. Ask the dealer they should know how to do it.

23rd Sep 2005, 17:30

The change down in gear when you put the foot down is called kick down... its in all automatics to aid acceleration.

2004 Skoda Superb 1.8T from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres

Summary:

Skoda Superb - Superb car for smart people

Faults:

Everything is in superb condition.

General Comments:

Everything with this car is superb, good handling, excellent drive, full of features such as tip-tronic transmission and electric seat c/w memory, spacious cabin, comfortable ride and powerful engine (turbo).

For all the above, its cabin size is the key factor of my purchase decision. I can say its actual rear leg room is even larger than my father's Mercedes E class (in which my father is still in puzzle until now...), although in paper both cars' wheelbase are about the same.

This is the only car in which my wife can relax and stretch herself during long distance travel. Even my kids love it - plenty of room for them to play.

Coupled with great features and reasonable price, this car is really value-for-money. It is money well spent!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

2004 Skoda Superb Comfort 1.8 turbo petrol from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired350 kilometres
Most recent distance550 kilometres
Previous carProton Waja

Summary:

Get into a Superb, then by all means compare it with the competition

Faults:

Honk did not work properly. Problem rectified immediately by dealer.

Nothing else have gone wrong.

General Comments:

Amazing rear legroom coupled with huge boot space always left one puzzled & very impressed.

Sharing the looks of VW's Passat, the car inherits a classy console, good-looking speedometer, sturdy & elegant finishings & fittings usually reserved for premium German cars.

Loads of very useful, clever gadgets and safety features.

Despite its size, the 1.8 turbo engine is responsive, smooth and powerful especially when approaching 2000 rpm.

The car can feel a little floaty on uneven roads, but otherwise, ride comfort is not an issue.

Would have been nicer if reverse sensors were installed on bumper strip instead of on bumper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2005

24th Aug 2006, 13:40

550km and you're already giving it a 9/10 for reliability? More like "N/A" methinks.

2004 Skoda Superb Elegance 1.9 Tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 Tdi Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

As the name suggests 'Superb'!!!

Faults:

Nothing so far!!

General Comments:

This is a very high quality, well put together and extremely spacious, luxury family car.

Great looking vehicle - looks, and feels like something a lot more expensive.

Great engine, smooth auto gearbox, wonderful overtaking ability, relaxed cruising and very economical.

I looked at several so-called 'family cars' including mini MPV's before I settled for the Skoda. The Superb beats the lot - for shear space, level of equipment, and excellent build quality.

My three children (10, 5 & 4) are very happy in the back of this car.

The boot is cavernous! However, I would like to see an estate version of this car to give it that little extra versatility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

27th Dec 2004, 07:50

Well written however the comment was made re the good engine performance, but I could not find which engine is being referred to.

I hope that it is mine as I have a 2.5 diesel being delivered in ten days.

Good car.

Best regards.

16th Mar 2006, 07:03

The author has stated the engine is a 1.9Tdi if you scroll down to the bottom.

You will love your 2.5Tdi, they are so incredibly powerful right down from idle speed in any gear. Put it in 5th at 30mph and acceleate away... wow it accelerates better then a petrol car in 3rd gear.

2004 Skoda Superb Elegance 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Superb!!! forget the badge

Faults:

Nothing at all has gone wrong.

General Comments:

A fantastic ride. The auto gearbox is very smooth and the power excellent.

Moving between 70 and 90 is effortless.

The cruise control being really top notch for acceleration.

Corners present no problem and the anti skid is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews