Subaru 1800 Reviews

1984 Subaru 1800 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Summary:

Great car, ahead of its time

Faults:

The fusible link blew, and I don't know how to make a new one.

General Comments:

Toughest car I've ever owned, this was my first car 1984 Subaru 1800 Touring Wagon, LCD display with a trip computer, power windows, power steering, 4WD (H&L) FWD, bull bar and tow bar.

A car that can't be stopped and was ahead of its time.

Controls are easy to use.

We used this car for 9 hour trips every weekend for almost 5 years, and never had problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2009

1983 Subaru 1800 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Hard to beat out of 37 cars :D

Faults:

The car was not well looked after by last owner it got hot on the freeway on the way home and the tyres were very poor...very, but all very easy fixed.

General Comments:

I recently got this little 1800 4WD wagon for $300 a good talk down from $850,

She's got a bit of rust, but I'm onto it like lightning and its coming along good. At first it was hard to give up my GXL ford Fairmont and ford XA 302 but I don't have any bad comments to make on it, It's a hard working little car, it pulls a trailer and it handles well.

And now I'm customising the body and trim and I plan to do some air brushing on it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

19th Oct 2007, 18:44

My 1982 subaru has the same problem of heating up on the freeway and then cooling down as soon as you hit some traffic - the complete opposite of most other cars. How did you fix it? I have a pretty big bull bar on the front, it seemed to be cutting airflow - I cut a hole in it in order to get more air at the radiator and it worked pretty well. (my subaru has air conditioning - the air conditioning radiator is in front of the radiator - this wouldn't help matters.) Any other advise.

1980 Subaru 1800 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired3000000 kilometres
Previous carHolden HR

Summary:

A cheap reliable car that has years left

Faults:

After 9 years the first thing to do in thecar was the springs, but even though they have collapsed it only makes the ride uncomfortable it still handles great.

The next was the CV joints.

And the exhaust has developed a small crack at the headers.

General Comments:

The car handles great for no power steering and brakes.

The petrol even with high prices only takes me thirty bucks to fill and with all the driving I do it's a life saver.

Parts are also cheap, but a little difficult to find, but worth it for the price.

Petrol and a charged battery it will start almost first go every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2006

13th Aug 2006, 02:36

AU/NZ$30 Buck to fill??

Mine costs AU$65 to fill. This was written in 2006 ya?

1983 Subaru 1800 Dual Range 4WD Wagon 1.8 horizontally opposed 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 horizontally opposed 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres

Summary:

Very reliable and economical, recommend it for a cheap first car

Faults:

CV joints had to be replaced.

Slight oil leak from oil pump.

General Comments:

Very reliable car.

Really good economy, cheap to run.

Has reasonable power for it's age.

Rides and drives like a luxury car on the road, especially for it's year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

1989 Subaru 1800 Lseries EA82 . 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission EA82 . 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 kilometres
Most recent distance311000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 200B

Summary:

Best damn car I ever owned

Faults:

Third gear syncro died at 135000 ks CVs are a weak link.

Drivers seat and door trim wear.

Brakes were very spongy.

General Comments:

Not a bad little 4wd.

Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

1986 Subaru 1800 L series 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired260000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A beast

Faults:

The thermostat on this car occasionally failed and the car used to overheat - without damage to components. Easily fixed. The back window screen wiper motor stopped working. Pretty good for over 250 000 km. Absolutely full of rust.

General Comments:

This car was a beast. The four wheel drive option was great for the beach and the car was capable of doing some reasonable dune jumps. The low ratio four wheel drive option was great for when trouble was found in deep sand.

This car was very practical, it had plenty of room and could be comfortably slept in, if needed when the back seats were folded down.

Around town this car was subject to body roll and could be a little slow to accelerate. Acceleration between 3 and 4000 revs was good though. Once moving this car had a max speed of 140 km. After 250 000 km this car still idled evenly.

Easy modifications such as a bull bar, extra water container for the engine, welded transmission covers and rubber guards for the CV joints were easy and welcome additions, as were extra interior lighting for camping and extra internal tie down brackets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

15th Mar 2008, 18:18

Just adding to your comments.

I owned a Subaru l series turbo estate in the early 90's. I owned it for 3 years; in that time other than routine service parts, all I had to buy was a single pipe for the turbo.

I have to say it was excellent all round. Fast, very comfortable with air suspension, economical, spacious, and generally excellent.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews