2004 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2004 Subaru Forester XT 2.5 turbo boxer from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo boxer Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carDodge SRT-4

Summary:

The practical sleeper - fast with AWD and lots of cargo space

Faults:

My clutch went at 65,000 miles but since it has been replaced the car is acting fine.

The driver's fabric seat is starting to wear out.

General Comments:

The Subaru Forester is seriously quick and jumps out of 1st gear quicker than you can read ths sentence. Car & Driver stated that the Forester XT will do zero to sixty in 5.3 seconds and it certainltly seems like they were right. This performance comes at a price though as the Forester XT is quite thirsty with premium fuel - getting about only 17 miles per gallon.

The ride is a very comfortable, but is also too "soft," and simply not on par with the car's outstanding acceleration.

The Forester has plenty of cargo space, and along with its AWD it's quite a practical vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2008

2004 Subaru Forester SX from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carNissan Nissan Altima

Summary:

Sad experiences, but a car I love

Faults:

The transmission totally died about 4 and a half years after I purchased it brand new.

General Comments:

I really love this Forester, but the transmission going out so soon after I purchased it has soured me on getting another one.

The driver seat fabric wore out after a year. I don't think I'm too tough on car seats! The gas mileage is okay for an SUV, which is good at this point in time. There's a lot to like about the Forester - space, easy to pull seats down, smaller sized SUV, AWD...

Working with the dealer and other Subaru folks has been a nightmare. They aren't helpful, they are deceptive and they charge up the wazoo. I purchased 2 rear-window wipers at 2 different dealers. One charged me 3 TIMES as much as the other, and both were pricey to begin with. That has been the worst part of owning a Subaru for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2008

2004 Subaru Forester XT 2.0 turbo from Hong Kong

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10

Summary:

Sports car handling with SUV functionality

Faults:

Nothing of note.

General Comments:

Great car with surprisingly sporty handling for a tall AWD station wagon. Roomy interior, but actually smaller than a 3 series BMW. Really fun to drive and easy to park. Large sun roof, fully automated climate control, convenient in-dash 6 CD player with a console to store the CD cases, four cup holders. Lots of head and leg room front and rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

2004 Subaru Forester XS 2.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance72000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and the handling is quite good.

However, the paintwork is below average and very prone to scratching. Seats are uncomfortable and bumpers are quite weak. This is the reason why I'll considering Honda or Toyota next time. Seeing new scratches every now and then is very annoying.

My Forester is quite good, but sorry Subaru I think the new CR-V and RAV-6 are better now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

19th Dec 2008, 07:44

Don't get me wrong, Rav4 and CRV are great cars but...

The "All Wheel Drive" of a CRV or Rav4 is... not the AWD of a subaru...

It's some Gizmotronic thing that gives power to wheels when others slip or something... Not impressed by it.

2004 Subaru Forester 2.5XT 2.5L turbo four from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L turbo four Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Excellent overall vehicle for people on the run

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle.

General Comments:

Fun vehicle to drive, and also very useful.

Pros:

Acceleration, front seat space, features per dollar, safety ratings, reliability, tonnes of cargo space.

Cons:

Poor gas consumption when not driven properly, no rear seat space.

Overall an excellent vehicle, but if you don't need the power, just get the 2.5XS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

2004 Subaru Forester XS 2.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Buyer beware

Faults:

Right rear wheel bearing went out at 35K miles and now at 68K miles it is going out again. Seems to be a problem with the Forrester that Subaru will not back up.

General Comments:

Acceleration is weak and rides loud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2007

2004 Subaru Forester XT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

If you want one car that does everything, this should be on your shortlist

Faults:

It had three minor defects when I got it at one year old. I suspect they were manufacturing defects not spotted by the first owner:

Front passenger seat belt height adjustment jammed.

Front passenger door didn't turn on interior light.

Nearside headlamp height adjuster didn't work.

General Comments:

A big change from a top-heavy SUV. Performance, handling and economy are all somewhere in between an SUV and a fast estate. And so is off-road ability which is, realistically, limited to occasional rough tracks by the lowish ride height and long overhangs and lack of underside protection. The automatic gearbox is a mixture of good and indifferent; overtaking performance on kick-down is impressive, but it can be hesitant in its decision making.

Rear seat room is a bit marginal, but to improve that would either lose boot space or increase the overall length of the car, which is handily compact.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 20 reviews