2005 Subaru Forester Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Subaru Forester XT 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2563 miles
Most recent distance31288 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Good, but sensing a bad direction for Subaru USA

Faults:

Rear wiper assembly coming apart. This is the third time.

Clock on dash does not work.

Both headlight bulbs went in May 2006 (car was assembled in July 2005).

Power door locks quit working.

Clips to use the rear center seat belt broke. Dealer won't fix, and my Forester only seats four.

General Comments:

The engine is good.

The car stalls when pulling out of the driveway or a parking spot.

The cabin has good materials, but the seats have horrid contours.

All-wheel-drive is acceptable.

Visibility is wonderful.

Gas mileage is poor, 14 US MPG in the city, 16 US MPG highway.

I didn't have these sorts of problems on my 1997 Legacy L Wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

15th May 2009, 08:24

What?? You stated multiple problems with this car and then you gave it a 10/10 for reliability? You also said you'd buy another car from this manufacturer. I would never buy two cars in a row from one company if I had one this bad.

17th May 2009, 09:13

Original reviewer here.

Headlights are regular maintenance, but I thought it was important to point out. I have not replaced them since. Everything was covered under warranty.

The engine, transmission, and drivetrain have had no problems, so that's why I gave it the rating I did.

2005 Subaru Forester from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

I like them a lot, but am starting to rethink getting a new one

Faults:

My 2005 Subaru Forester keeps going out of alignment.

General Comments:

I am a loyal Subaru owner, have been since 1979.

Am getting very disappointed with design, paint colors, and interior room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2008

2005 Subaru Forester 2.5XS L.L.Bean Edition 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54 miles
Most recent distance92564 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

Buy it, Drive it, Love it!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. Just a flat tire a few weeks after I bought it, due to some punk taking a knife to it. He won't be doing it again -- but that's another story altogether. ;)

General Comments:

Brilliant! Just brilliant! The people at Subaru, that is! This car has been amazing from every perspective.

Maintenance: I personally do all of the maintenance on this vehicle, and from a mechanic's perspective, it is wonderful. I've been running Mobil1 5W30 Synthetic oil and a Wix filter for the engine oil (I change every 10,000 miles), and Mobil1 Synthetic products for all my other fluids. I'm also using a K&N lifetime air filter. After nearly 93,000 miles in almost two years, I can say that it's paid off. The engine still runs great (One might even say that it does better than it did when new) and revs happily to the redline. I replaced the stock Yokohama tires (which had some odd treadwear) at 82k miles with a set of Goodyear Eagle RS-A's. The brake pads are still original, with 50% left in them (ummm, WOW!). So from a mechanical standpoint, this car is amazing. Just follow the maintenace schedule, and it will outlast you. Now let's look at the interior quality...

Overall, it's great, the leather seats (LLBean edition) are comfy, and hold you well through those winding country roads and city freeway ramps. Rear legroom is great, I'm 5'11" and still fit well in the back. All the interior materials are of excellent quality -- better than my dad's BMW! I love the autodimming mirror, along with the heated seats and heated exterior mirrors. The sound system is beautiful, better than my Bose in my house. Also, you can fit more in the back than you think, even when the seats aren't folded down.

How does it drive? Like it's glued to the road. I've never seen anything like it. While the ride is somewhat rough (due to the fact that it runs on the Impreza frame/chassis) it really helps the handling. The engine has plenty of power, and gobs of torque; suprising for it not being the turbo model. I live in a rural area on a farm, and sometimes use it to go pick up feed. I've loaded over 1200 pounds into the back of it, and the suspension still won't squat! Must be that auto-leveling feature. At night the highbeams are great, better than any other vehicle that I've owned (Chevy's, VW's, Toyota's, you name it). In the rain and mud (don't get much snow here) the AWD helps out a lot, I've never had it lose traction or hydroplane, not even at highway speeds.

So if you're looking for a great car, buy one of these. You won't regret it. I certainly haven't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2007

19th Feb 2008, 17:35

That's how I've experienced my previous 3 Subarus.

Trust me when I say that they've continued their brilliance into 2008 with the LL Bean Editions... bought one yesterday, and man oh man, what a nice upgrade from my also enjoyable (but less nice touches) 2005 2.5X.

We really believe that there are no better values on the market than Subaru. By the way, before going for the purchase yesterday, I'd test driven about 7 or 8 other larger SUV's, thinking that I needed them to get the leather/heated seats/alloy wheels/climate control, etc. Discovering that LL Bean offered all that plus other stuff was a pleasant surprise. Thank God I didn't end up buying a huge, over-sized macho-man looking big SUV... what a waste of investment as well as gas dollars!

Thanks, Consumer Reports, for info many years ago about Subaru quality mixed with reasonable affordability.

25th Mar 2009, 04:16

Nice on a turnpike. Don't hit a pothole or you may change your mind about structure and stiffness. Top rating for traction thanks to symmetrical AWD. In one sentence, a design based on on the obsolete QuadraTrac viscous coupling from a 1973 JEEP.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 18 reviews