1989 Subaru Justy Reviews

1989 Subaru Justy GL 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

A pile of horse manure

Faults:

Where do I start the thing kept breaking down. I had to get a new gear box, the head gasket went, and the exhaust fell off.

General Comments:

It handles like a boat, rusts like an old nail and is as desirable as a kipper tie.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

14th Aug 2005, 08:13

Errrr... well it's not exactly new, is it?

And with that mileage either the engine's never been warmed up or it's been round the clock at least once.

13th Dec 2007, 12:43

If you ever want to sell your 26000 miler let me know.

1989 Subaru Justy 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Brick On Wheels!

Faults:

EC-VT Transmission controls failed - twice. Magnetic brushes went bad twice and was not easy to repair. Nobody had these parts in stock nor could order them, except for the dealer and of course they were expensive there and took a week to get in.

Replaced drive axles twice in two months period.

Replaced wheel bearings twice also.

Motor mounts broke.

Leaks oil.

Interior is falling apart, literally, at the seams.

General Comments:

This is by far the worse car I've ever owned.

Not reliable in any sense of the word.

Drives like a brick on wheels which would explain the motor mounts breaking.

Great gas mileage which compensates for the money I've spent in repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

6th Jul 2007, 22:55

I have read that there were some Subaru Justys manufactured by Suzuki, (not so sure since when). In fact they might be related with the Suzuki Swift and Suzuki Ignis. I hope you can get cheaper service from a Suzuki dealer.

18th Nov 2008, 19:51

The Subaru Justy was the worse car I have ever owned, and I am 62 so I have owned lots of cars. The transmission broke within the first six months, and every time I brought it in the dealer would say, "You must have gotten bad gas."

The head company was no better. They would not help at all. As far as I am concerned Subaru is the most dishonest car company in the world. I will never ever buy another one.

17th Feb 2013, 00:38

I hear that the ECVT trans is ahead of its time, but somewhat problematic. A Dodge Caravan and a Subaru Justy are not just different; they are opposites. I'm not saying that one is better than the other; they are just different philosophies or something. I wouldn't think a Dodge Caravan would have pristine trim after 24 years either.

1989 Subaru Justy GL 1.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Very good car in the right hands

Faults:

Axle boots split, and rear wheel bearing went out.

General Comments:

The Justy series were very good cars for the money, but were not well suited to the American market. As a consequence, few of them survive to this day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

1989 Subaru Justy GL 1.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Great car for 1 or 2 people in snowy climate

Faults:

The radio failed under warranty shortly after purchasing the car. There was a chronic oil leak that three different dealerships could not fix, and was eventually fixed by a very good independent in Colorado Springs. In general, this has been the most reliable car we've ever owned (out of 9 American cars and the Subaru as our first foreign vehicle). The engine was showing signs of low oil pressure after approximately 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

Most reliable car we've ever owned.

Traded the Justy in on a brand new Outback in January 2003.

The car was always fun to drive, although not the best for American Interstates at 75MPH.

Seats showed lots of sun damage (plastic pieces) after about 100,000 miles.

4WD worked great in the Colorado wintertime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1989 Subaru Justy GLII 4X4 5door 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Ugly, nippy, cheap, reliable, best car ever

Faults:

Only problems so far have been the exhaust. After shopping around got a replacement front/mid section fitted new for £100. I didn't mind paying that at all.

Front anti-roll bar popped out of bracket on passenger side, I had it welded back for £15.

Rear wheel arches have rotted away, so filled for MOT.

Considering the age of the car it is amazing no problems at all apart from exhaust and tyres, but they are consumable parts on any car.

General Comments:

I've done 18000miles in first year on every surface possible, even through mud off road 2 foot deep with no problems at all. This is the most reliable car I've ever had.

Performance is fantastic considering engine size.

The handling is the best I've ever seen on a car this old.

She turns a tiny circle, very maneuverable with muscles.

Very tough inside and out. I have hammered her off road and on motorways (with very heavy loads) and cannot believe her ability.

The handling in snow and ice couldn't be better.

40-50mph in 2wd 30mph in 4wd. She takes 4 star or unleaded without modification and runs better on 4 star.

I've only had to buy consumables so far (oil change, exhaust, tyres, fan, belt, fog bulb).

She is pig ugly (like a messed up micra) but has tons of character and capability.

Very highly recommended for people who need to drive anywhere the way they want to without worries.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews