1997 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Subaru Legacy L 2.2L H4 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L H4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117996 miles
Most recent distance141712 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Best car on the road

Faults:

No major repairs needed.

Windshield wiper arm stripped because the previous owner tried to push snow off the windshield with it.

Nothing but the usual oil change.

General Comments:

This car handles better in the snow than most four wheel drive pickups can. I have never been stuck anywhere in this car.

But the reliability goes beyond the AWD system. The car has never failed to start, never even struggled. This car has been nothing but great so far, and I will definitely go back to another Subaru.

The acceleration is not great, but what can you expect, getting 30+ MPG with AWD in a station wagon?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2007

1997 Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Sedan 2.5L 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles

Summary:

Great performance, not so great dealer

Faults:

Dealer did not give me a title when I bought the car and I had to fight them to get one.

The brake calipers were shot and caused me to wreck into a guard rail and busted both bumpers costing around $1800 total.

The keyless entry remote eats batteries.

General Comments:

Goes great in snow, but too low to the ground to go in deeper snow, above 4 inches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2007

1997 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104300 miles
Most recent distance118100 miles

Summary:

AWD is amazing

Faults:

I tore my CV boot around 112000 miles if I would have replaced the boot sooner it would not have contaminated the axle... but I did not get to it quick enough so I had to replace axle. The only other thing was that the belt broke around 115,000 again the belt wasn't in the best shape so I should have replaced it.

General Comments:

I love the awd that this car has it can go through countless amounts of snow with a good set of tires. A tighter suspension would be nice as it tends to sway around corners. The acceleration is not the best, but it has no problem keeping up with traffic. The car is a lot of fun in the snow, it has yet to get stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2006

1997 Subaru Legacy GT-B 2.0 twin turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Try it at least once!

Faults:

Boot lid catch/lock would not operate from central locking or key. Clutch failed at about 52000km, expensive to replace.

General Comments:

Very understated q-car.Ideal family car for the person who doesn't want to draw to much attention. The kick from the second turbo from about 5000 rpm is wicked, surprise's a few people. The 4wd system is brilliant in all conditions and has never let me down. Engine offbeat note is nice, mine has a 4inch tailpipe!. Cannot find a proper replacement car? Come on Subaru, no half measures!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2006

1997 Subaru Legacy L 2.2 boxer from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 boxer Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Most recent distance58988 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

Safe and reliable with enough power to satisfy

Faults:

The seats broke down fairly quickly.

General Comments:

The reliability of Subaru is hard to beat.

The car isn't quick off the line, but is smooth and provides fine passing power at highway speeds.

The All Wheel Drive turns a regular car into a fine handling machine.

Terrific traction in snow, rain and ice.

The wagon holds a lot but still delivers suitable performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

1997 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A good compromise between comfort and performance

Faults:

Rattle in the exhaust.

Brakes feel soft.

Clutch began to slip easily, I had to replace it.

General Comments:

165,000 miles and she's still running great.

I love the sporty styling.

Handles great, decent power, fun to drive, and great in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

1997 Subaru Legacy 4 cam 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Performs very well in all areas

Faults:

No problems so far.

General Comments:

Deceptively good car.

Lots of space for passengers and luggage.

Quick acceleration, smooth ride and engine at speed, great fun to drive fast round corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

1997 Subaru Legacy Outback 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance63500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A car alternative to a SUV, without the power to get you going

Faults:

At 60200 miles my alternator died. Since then I have had lots of problems.

My CHECK ENGINE light is on, my mechanic says it's because of a misfiring piston. This is now pretty audible from the exhaust.

I'm also having problems with my headlight fuse going out 10 minutes after I replace it.

General Comments:

The seats are really comfortable, especially with the winter package that warms your posterior.

The dash layout is very bland, yet functional.

The car could use more power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

1997 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance67000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Lots of fun

Faults:

Transmission jerks when driving slowly, very jerky when it first shifts...

Dealers says it's normal because of the car's torque, I say bull... looking for another dealer.

General Comments:

Aggresive stance, good handling, nice for Canadian winters. If I can only get the transmission fixed I would keep it forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1997 Subaru Legacy 4CAM Lux 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Leaking near side rear shock absorber at 52,500 miles.

General Comments:

Good, reliable car. Very comfortable on long journeys - climate control very effective. Dynamics of the car are so good it could use much more power. The 2.5 is OK, but I'm about to change it for a quicker one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 1999

1997 Subaru Legacy LX from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Great all wheel drive car. Very happy with its overall performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1997 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.5
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Air conditioning refrigerant leak - not solved yet, but dealer put in dye attempting to locate the leak.

General Comments:

Like the looks & performance so far. Gas mileage leaves something to be desired at 23 mpg. Car handles well, especially on curves and in mountains where we live.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 24 reviews