1997 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1997 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great driving car, but does not meet current standards of reliability - especially Japanese

Faults:

My left wheel bearing and right front axle blew at 115,000. First time I ran it up over 3,000 rpm it started throwing oil out of the left camshaft seal.

General Comments:

After reading about the 2.5 head gasket problems, I am worried. I can barely watch the road for checking the temperature gage. One of the entries indicated the problem might have to do with the lower radiator hose since it does not have the old fashioned spring to prevent it from collapsing and restricting coolant flow. (4 Feb 2007 Mr Chapman). Has anyone else installed a spring reinforced lower radiator hose on a 2.5 engine and did Mr Chapman's remedy work?

Croznest@comcast.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2007

1997 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

You can't go wrong with a subura outback will buy again

Faults:

100K Blew some gaskets and had the timing belt done and plugs done.

140K drive line went out of balance.

160K heated seats and mirrors stopped working.

200K belts broke.

General Comments:

This has been a great car that has a lot of room, great pickup, and has really run hard for a long time.

The car doesn't get as great of gas mileage as you would think because of the all wheel drive. It does drive very well in the snow and handles very well. I wish they had the option to turn off all wheel drive.

This car has had no major problems. Just add gas and oil and drive it! This is the first import car I have owned and the first car that has hit 200K miles without a major issue. I think it could make another 50-100K. My 2 brothers had the same luck with their subaru's too.

If you want to do any work on this car yourself, make sure you have tiny hands and great tools. It took me forever to change the plugs because of very tight gaps, spaces, and how things are packed together. Definately not like my 1970 Chevy pickup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2007

1997 Subaru Outback 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired179000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Faults:

Head gaskets are common on Subaru. Mechanic by trade, I know. AS far as the engine knock when cold it is a piston slap, all you need is a piston (#4) replace.#4 piston is very popular.

Enjoy your SUBURU

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

1997 Subaru Outback Legacy 2.5L 162 HP from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L 162 HP Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired115 kilometres
Most recent distance115800 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Seemed good, but dealer service on North Vancouver Island BC CA POOR

Faults:

-Both head gaskets at 115800 KM.

-Radiator was totally blocked off with crud. Mechanic were repaired asked if there was any coolant in the engine at all.

-Radiator blockage was cause of over heating which in turn blew head gaskets. This happened in a 5 minute period. Was flushed and refilled by dealer 10000KMs ago.

General Comments:

-Have had every service done on this car from new by the month as we do not drive it enough to put the kilometers on.

-Radiator was flushed at last major service in January 2004. Like a fool I never looked at the colour of the water in the overflow tank, instead trusted the dealer and observed level through side of tank. Though the car was serviced several times by the dealer and this was not checked by them either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2005

1997 Subaru Outback Legacy V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

Nice if I was ever able to afford the repairs to drive it

Faults:

Suspect now set of heads went before we bought car. Signs found that engine had been torn down.

My first head gaskets blew at 80,200 miles.

Rear bearing gone at 65,000 miles.

Rear hatch handle rusted out, as well as rear wiper stopped working at 50,000 miles.

My Second set of heads blew at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

Now reading other comments I know why the dealer blew me off when the first set of heads went 200 miles past my expensive extended warranty. The car is wonderful off road and on, but sucked me dry with several grand worth of repairs. I would avoid these as they pop up at the used car lot looking like they are in great shape, but hiding a nasty surprise. I see them everywhere and it makes my stomach churn. This car has spent an even amount of time driving and sitting in the driveway dead. Owed too much to trade in, paid too much to afford to repair. Became a sculpture we looked longingly at to be able to drive, while driving our meager family budget to the brink. And I bought a Subaru for its reliability. I would like to meet the guy who spread that rumor. PS. I have one in the front yard $500 as is, heats up after 10 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

16th Nov 2004, 08:13

Hello! I have been contemplating buying a new 2005 Subaru Outback LL Bean Model 3.0 V6. I am just making sure that you too, own a 3.0 V6 model with the head gasket problem. After doing an internet search on Subaru reliability, numerous sites surfaced on this head gasket problem, but it was mainly in the 2.5's. Is it a known problem also with the 3.0's? I must know before I find myself regretting this big purchase! Are the 3.0's fairly new do you know?

Thank you in advance for your response!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 21 reviews