1998 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1998 Subaru Outback 2.2 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance221000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Way too much money to maintain

Faults:

Alternator, gas filler line, tie rod ends, water pump, timing belts, and now head gaskets.

General Comments:

The car is a money pit.

I would never recommend anyone buy a used Subaru.

The worst car I have ever had.

My 20 year old Volvo was better, more reliable, and cheaper to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2009

20th Mar 2009, 10:28

You should go back to Volvo.. the only way to go!

1998 Subaru Outback from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Avoid

Faults:

I had my first head gasket replaced at 120,000 Kms. My mechanic told me he would see me again in another 100,000 for another head gasket. He was out by 20,000. My Outback has just turned over 200,000 km and I need another head gasket replaced.

I enjoy driving the car, but NEVER again will I buy a Subaru.

Marcus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th March, 2009

1998 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired215000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Faults:

Funny because this website gives the following example for filling in this space: "My head gasket blew at 50,000 miles". Well, it actually did, but at 265,000 kms. I guess that's a lot further than most people with Outback's have made it. Not happy. The car was dealer maintained since birth and has not required any major repairs until now. Hope my heads are fine. I'm gonna try to fix this myself.

General Comments:

My first and last Subaru. But it sure did hook me with the AWD... but there are plenty of other AWDs out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2009

1998 Subaru Outback Limited 2.5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Excellent vehicle for safety, comfort, and economy

Faults:

After 120,000 miles, had to replace the manifold seal.

General upkeep and repairs before that time.

Now, at 190,000 miles, check engine light is on.

General Comments:

This car has really served us well. Has excellent pick up and stopping ability.

Definitely keep the original brand touring tires on the vehicle to keep the road traction and smooth ride.

Interior leather and seat warmers makes it extremely comfortable for long trips especially into the north.

Been up and down the east coast many times without any problems.

Still get head turning looks from other people passing by and a lot of compliments. The air scoop on the front makes it sporty but still practical. Have had several people wanting to buy it from us.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2008

1998 Subaru Outback from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Rear transfer case on the transmission slipping.

General Comments:

Car runs great, but they don't like aftermarket fluids. Since the engine and head are aluminum, the aftermarket coolant (like Walmart Supertech) actually eats away at the headgasket, causing it to malfunction early, causing you to spend 3000 every 60,000 miles to remedy the problem.

You should refrain from getting your Subaru serviced at a place like Jiffylube, and take your car to the dealership or at least buy your fluids from the dealershi to do it yourself.

These fluids were made based on the needs of the vehicle; without them you will constantly have problems with your Subaru, since the generic fluids weren't designed for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2008

1998 Subaru Outback from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Good AWD, bad reliability

Faults:

Blown head gasket, worn bearing, and changed an axle.

General Comments:

The car drives like it's on rails, especially on corners, but during driving it doesn't feel like my VW Jetta, which felt solid and substantial.

Moreover, the seats are so bad it gives you backache.

The only thing I like about this car is its AWD, but that's about it. If some other makers had such an AWD, then I will buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2008

1998 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

This car is junk

Faults:

Overheated at 140,000 miles. Makes vibrating noise when starting out.

General Comments:

My husband replaced the water pump, thermostat, had the head's pressure checked, replaced the gasketts, and etc to the tune of $1300 and the car still doesn't run. I wish my husband would have read this site before purchasing the car. I look at our loss to be $6800 (5500 for the car and 1300 we put into it and it still overheats).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2008

12th Dec 2011, 20:19

You paid how much?

There's your problem in a nutshell. You're paying too much, and expecting too much. In Japan, they'd pay you to take away a clunker like that.

Here we'd pay half that price, and the car would have less than half the distance on it. That way it's cheaper to replace than put out for the 100,000km service.

Jack, Japan Alps.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 44 reviews