1998 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1998 Subaru Outback from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carPontiac 1800 SE

Faults:

The car had a oil leak at 60,000 miles. Subaru fix the leak under extended warranty.

General Comments:

This car handles well in all departments. Lots of room and a fun reliable car to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

1998 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Stay away from Outbacks!

Faults:

Blown Head Gasket

Cracked Engine Block.

General Comments:

I have owned several Subaru's, but this was the first 2.5 liter engine. We drive long distances in the snow and the Subaru is the best car for winter handling.

At about 95,000 miles, the head gasket went while I was driving home. The car overheated and the third cylinder was damaged.

After numerous attempts to repair the problem at a total cost of over $3,500, I traded the car in for an older, smaller engine model.

Later I have learned that Subaru has experienced this problem with many of their 1996 - 2000 Outbacks with the 2.5 liter engine.

I will never buy another Outback until I am convinced that this problem has been corrected. It cost me thousands of dollars and not even one apology from Subaru.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

15th Nov 2004, 19:57

It's not Outbacks. All Subaru's that year (96-98) have bad engines. (2.5) The 2.2 impreza should be much more reliable. And for the record I own a 98 Legacy Outback which has been in the shop for over a month waiting for a head job. That's because silicone (from a quickie repair) got in my oil and plugged up an oil line to my cam which wore down the cam seats.I'm considering legal action against the transmission place that did the quick repair on a minor oil leak. The subaru engines are entirely aluminum alloy and general maintenance is replacing the seals, gaskets, and such. but I don't think head gaskets should be a 60000 mile service. Any manufacturer who thinks people will buy a car that cost them 3000 dollars every six years is CRAZY!Ill turn off the rant button now.

1998 Subaru Outback from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired57 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Love it love it love it

Faults:

I had the air compressor replaced at 95k miles.

I had an Oil leak at 100K miles.

At 115K miles, the check engine light has been coming on randomly over the past 1-2 months. Took it in today and the dealer is recommending a completely new engine. Misfire on Cylinder #4 and it only has 60 PSI instead of 170. Estimate: $5500. I'm probably going to sell it or donate it.

General Comments:

I drove this car back and forth from Denver to Vail/Beaver Creek every week of the winter for 4 years to teach ski school. It was totally reliable and handled so well. I would not have considered driving another car in those variable & sometimes very hazardous winter conditions.

Love the cargo room. I can fit anything in it except for a box spring! Dog, bike, camping gear, skis loved it too.

I had hoped that I would get 250,000 miles out of it, but these comments don't sound too encouraging as far as the reliability of the rebuilt engines. Also, the check engine, gasket & valve issues seem to be popping up a lot in the comments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2004

1998 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance88500 miles
Previous carSubaru Loyale

Summary:

I would not recommed this car to anyone

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 88,000 miles and one warped head related to the incident ($2,000). My mechanic recommeded a whole new engine, but said it'd run OK with what he did. the mileage is still there, but it runs louder than ever and has a slight loss of power. My mechanic told me that it might burn some oil, but so far (2 tanks of gas later) it hasn't lost any oil. This is apparently a very very common problem on Outbacks. My mechanic told me that even the 2001's are blowing up. To my knowledge Subaru is not doing anything to help owners out.

General Comments:

Other than the $2,000 head gaskets and the fact that because of the internal engine damage the car will never drive the same it has been a great little car. Great MPG and All Wheel Drive system. This is my third Subaru and will likely be my last. Until this happened I thought I'd be a Subaru guy for life. I guess I'll have to pay up for Toyota reliability from now on. This kind of a problem is really unacceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

15th Sep 2004, 09:51

I also own a 1998 sub outback legacy, limited no less... at 60K miles it now needs the head gaskets replaced. I am new to the Subaru family and this will probably be my last. I bought the worst one out there it seems. I called Subaru directly and haven't gotten anywhere or at least a sincere "we know about this problem" I haven't given up yet. I will be paying over $3000 to fix this, without a guarantee that this will not happen again. Poor performance and outlook here. Very upset about the quality in the Subaru name.

1998 Subaru Outback 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

A great car that projects a rugged/sporty look without being a gas-guzzling Sport Utility Vehicle

Faults:

There were three oil leaks at 50,000 (which were covered by the extended warranty).

The front brakes had to be replaced at 40,000 miles.

The rear brakes had to be replaced at 50,000 miles.

The paint on the hood scoop cracked and peeled at about 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

For a 4-cylinder with an automatic transmission, the car is fairly quick. (Speed freaks will not be impressed, but the average driver will be fine.)

The back seat is really roomy and comfortable. Passengers comment that the raised ceiling and higher seat offer a nicer view than most cars.

The car is perfect for folks with dogs. (We have two, 60 and 75 pounds)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2002

21st Dec 2009, 16:44

The check engine light seems destined to illuminate in these Outbacks. My '91 Celica that this Subaru replaces had no such issues. My new 176k, '97, has the light on too. Could be anything. A piece of tape over the light will fix it.

1998 Subaru Outback 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.5
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing, so far, and I put 23,000 miles on it in 9 months.

General Comments:

Great car. This is my fourth Subaru. Drove all the other three over 100,000 miles. Only downside on this particular car is the driver's seat. Not very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

12th Aug 2001, 10:58

I totally agree on the seats. I don't think the seats are that comfortable in the Outback. Other than that, we have been very happy with ours.

4th Jul 2004, 11:28

I agree with the seats being uncomfortable. I can only drive a short while before my back starts bothering me.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 44 reviews