2001 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2001 Subaru Outback Limited 2.5 Boxer from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Boxer Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Quick, go anywhere, family car

Faults:

We bought this car when it was brand new. We put it in the shop for regular maintenance, and nothing ever goes wrong with all of the Subarus we have ever had. I don't know why they put those Firestone wilderness tires on it though.

General Comments:

This car is pretty quick and feels good on the highway. All Subarus have very good reliability.

In the past we had a Subaru GL wagon, and we drove it for 208000 miles, and then traded it in for 1500 dollars, and got a 1993 Subaru Impreza L with 68000 miles, drove it up to 198000 miles, and got 2700 on trade for the Outback. We will probably drive this one until the 200000 mile mark, and then get a Subaru Impreza WRX.

The Outback handles like a sports car; we took a corner that is rated at 25mph, but we went 55 and the tires did not screech and we stayed in our seat. Plus you get pretty close to 30 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

2001 Subaru Outback 2.5 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance31300 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I'ts a cheap AWD car for the price, but has small quality issues

Faults:

The car clutch would shudder in the morning and go away when engine was warmed up. Brought the car to the dealer and the dealer replaced the clutch. The newly replaced clutch was OK for about two weeks then started to shudder again. We also noticed a burnt tranmission oil smell, in fact this smell would make my wife sick. I brought the car back to the dealer and the dealer replaced the clutch a second time. The dealer also found that the transmisson seal was damaged from the first time the clutch was repaired. The seal was repaired. I have driven the car for six weeks and have not had any issues with the clutch shudder.

Radiator hose was leaking due to debris around the hose, this was fixed by the dealer-not a big deal.

Burning one quart of motor oil every one thousand miles! This is a big deal. Subaru says that this is within there specifications. I can't believe this. I have never had a car that burnt that much oil except my 240D which had 240K miles on it! Subaru offered to do an oil consumption test, bring the car in every one thousand miles and have the oil level checked. What a pain. When I first bought the car I chagned the oil at one thousand miles using a good conventual motor oil and then every 3000. I started using Mobil 1 SYN 10-30WT oil.

General Comments:

The car is safe, fun to drive and gets great gas mileage-27 mpg average.

The seats and interior are not the most comfortable, but they work.

The sound system is nice.

The air conditioning and heater work well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2002

9th Dec 2002, 17:32

High oil consumption in a relatively new car is usually the result of improper break-in driving. This can be corrected by having the engine serviced to re-hone the cylinder walls, and then repeating the break in procedure. I have the 4-cylinder 2000 automatic version, and have no problems with oil consumption at all -- and get better-than-advertised gas mileage to boot!

2001 Subaru Outback L.L.Bean 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles

Summary:

The car is not safe

Faults:

On the mountain road steering failed. It felt like if front tire blew out - car got into spin and got stuck in the dirt hill on the left side of the road. To my amusement all four tires were fine and there were only minor scratches on the bumper. As soon I get on the road again I notice my car does not have any steering at all- it was broken. I was lucky to stay alive. There are some major cliffs on that road.

General Comments:

Tire rod is very week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

17th Sep 2002, 14:47

I leased a Subaru Outback L.L. Bean for a short period of time and I loved it. I was surprised when you mentioned your problem with the tires because I always believed the tires were fine. I think your car in particular had a defect.

3rd Jan 2005, 19:47

I can say that I know a Subaru "family." I have driven their older car many times. The feel and handling are terrific, so I can only assume that the problem was an isolated one. I recall driving up steep muddy roads to the top of Big Sur in the winter time during a heavy rain.

One time I was driving that car when a brand new Toyota Camry went speeding by me on the freeway, lost control trying to avoid a front-on collision, and pulled hard right -- right into the side of the car I was driving -- at freeway speed! It was nerve wracking, but that Subaru car stuck to the road like Velcro (TM)! The stability of the car probably saved our lives. If I hadn't been in the car I would never have guessed that with only a 4 cyl. engine it could climb like a mountain goat under such poor conditions and hold the road so well.

The comfort and handling of the car, and the way it hangs on to the road are what have sold me. I am looking into buying one now. By the way, that family bought another new Subaru just a couple of years ago. I have heard from many sources that the engines wear like iron, and that they are often the car of choice for people who live in poor weather conditions.

Often it is the case that people who own these cars just will not give them up for all of the reasons cited above. I have driven for decades -- at least dozens of vehicles ranging from VW bugs to 40-ton 18-wheelers, and I have to say that this humble little Subaru Outback has every one of them beat. No, I am not a Subaru salesman, and no, I am not getting paid to endorse the car. I am enthusiastic, but I've earned it!

SC in So CA.

26th Oct 2007, 11:59

Sounds like a driver problem. Even though when the steering does go it gets very heavy. The suspension on an outback is extremely rugged. If you can get used to the rough ride you will realize that the car handles extremely well for it's price range. It's the engine that usually causes all the problems. If you know how to drive a subaru you will never get stuck. Subaru's have extremely tricky emergency handling.(Practise in a Mall parking lot in the snow) They are not for rookie's. Next nearest vehicle is the Volvo V70. How much is that? MPG? No where near as good in the snow.

2001 Subaru Outback LL.Bean Edition Wagon H-6 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission H-6 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles

Summary:

Excellent performer before the tires went wrong

Faults:

I only have one bad thing to say about my Subaru, fall apart Firestone Wilderness tires. At only just under 7000 miles I have developed bad belts in my Firestone Wilderness tires that have caused the vehicle to feel out of control, now I'm stuck with having to hassle with the tire company to replace them. This should not be my burden to have these defective tires replaced, besides I wouldn't want another set of these defective tires anyway. Looks like I'm out more money to put safe quality tires on my brand new car, thanks for the screwing Subaru. 31,000 dollar car with world renowned defective tires on it, I'm disgusted.

General Comments:

Great car with lousy tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

5th Jun 2001, 00:39

When you buy a new car, do the smart thing: drive into your local Michelin dealer from the showroom and slap on a set of Michelin Tires. Expensive, but you will always be happy.

Bernie.

15th Jun 2001, 20:20

Speaking of Michelins, I have a 1997 Outback with the standard Michelin tires. They are due for replacement and I would purchase the Michelin brand again.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews