2002 Subaru Outback Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2002 Subaru Outback 2.5L petrol from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Best I've owned in years!

Faults:

Windshield wipers replaced.

General Comments:

Excellent reliability.

Fair gas mileage relative to engine size and performance.

Handles competently; especially well on poor road surfaces and off-road when compared to others (even our Jeep Grand Cherokee).

Useful and well-conceived interior.

Engine noise tolerable at speed.

Wind noise worse than average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2006

2002 Subaru Outback LL Bean Edition 3.0 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

You can buy a cheaper car, but the Subaru Outback LL Bean has been worth every penny

Faults:

Brakes wore out at 33,000 miles due to heavy stop and go traffic. pads replaced and rotors resurfaced under warranty.

Battery died at 35,000 miles and replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Great car, very comfortable seats. Nicely appointed interior. Agressive, but pleasant styling. I love the mahogany steeling wheel.

The car has been very reliable. Only minor problems which have been fixed under warranty.

Good power from the 6 cylinder, with decent mileage. My only complaint is it recommends 91 octane gas, which you can't find anywhere. So it's a choice between 93 or 89. I usually alternate and have noticed no difference in engine performance.

I highly recommend the Outback, but suggest paying the extra cost for the 6 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

2002 Subaru Outback H6 3.0 litre boxer 6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre boxer 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

A real alternative to Ford or Holden

Faults:

The following items were replace/repaired under warranty:

1.Timing chain needed to be replace, made a grinding noise on start up.

2.Transmission had a recall (minor item)

General Comments:

This was the safest car that I could afford to buy that suited our requirements ie. wagon, 6 cylinder, auto, air, and power steering & windows.

I was unsure of how it would be, but a 500km trip on second rate roads and I felt like going another 1000 when I got out. Leather seats are very comfortable. Doesn't really come on song until you hit 4500 rpm, and then it takes of like a rocket.

Terrific in the wet and the ABS saved me T-boning a car who went through a red light 2 days after I got it.

Not the same urge from the lights as some of the other Aussie 6's, but just as quick otherwise. Having driven the 2.5 and 3.0 back to back, I would rather the 3.0 anytime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

9th Oct 2004, 06:56

An excellent review. It gives detailed information and tells me how this owner feels about his car!

It helped me make an engine decision.

20th Apr 2006, 21:47

Totally agree with these comments. I also own one. So far I have replaced only tyres, a battery and a fan belt - 90,000kms. It has had two recalls early in the piece. I agree with the acceleration, it is not as punchy as commodores, but if you put you foot down, then look out. Comfortable too for long drives.

18th May 2008, 05:55

Use a Ford at work, hate it, just recently changed for a Mitsubishi wagon, better, but when the weekend comes around, just can't wait to get into my H6 Outback. Second Outback iv'e owned, the first one being an L series. Have had great enjoyment out of all of them. The AWD such a pleasure to have, especially in the heavy rain, in the Mitsubishi I back right off, feels like its going to slide, same with a Commodore wagon I had for a few months. The Subaru I find the leather seats very comfortable even in long drives, would like a tad more leg room in the rear for any passengers. the sound system, 6 speakers, excellent, the motor now at 100000klm have seen minor side cover oil leaks, just did my own oil and filter change and cleaned it all up, see what happens, original Yokohama tyres were great on the road, but being softer, wore a bit, replaced them with Goodyear Eagle NTC5 tyres, and they are just fine. My girlfriend, owns an Outback to, and she tried these tyres first and she to is happy with them.

Both the Outbacks iv'e owend have never given any major trouble, build quality is superb, handling excellent. My girlfriends Outback is a manual, and she has had clutch issues, replaced under warranty (eventually) and it otherwise has performed very well to. Subaru dealer was a little 'difficult' when it came to sorting the clutch issue.

On my experience, yes I would buy another one again... I so notice the diffrence between driving my works car and my own car.. wish I drove the Subaru for work as well...

TM TM.

2002 Subaru Outback from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired19 miles
Previous carToyota TOYOTA

Summary:

You get your money's worth

Faults:

There was a parking rod recall and has been replaced.

General Comments:

The car's all wheel drive feature gives you the security in any weather.

A nice looking car that handles well and has great acceleration power.

The seats fold down and giving you the room for any shopping or traveling adventure.

The cabin could be quieter, but is not unpleasantly noisy.

The cruise control feature could have been designed differently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

2002 Subaru Outback from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

All in all a nice car to have

Faults:

The seal around the mirror on the driver side door is leaking and produces wind noise.

Is being replaced under the warranty.

General Comments:

The car is a great confidence builder for the winter driver.

Easy to handle and control.

The 4 cylinder little sluggish to respond.

The bucket seats could be designed more comfortable and are hard to endure on a long ride.

The paint is thin and chips easy.

The assessories are great to have.

I am confident that I am riding in a car that is built well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 17 reviews