2008 Subaru Outback Reviews

2008 Subaru Outback 2.5i 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

Beautiful car, zero reliability

Faults:

At 25,000 miles, a melted wire caused the car to misfire and run very poorly.

May 2010; had the rear control arm replaced (covered under warranty).

Now it's January 2011, and the car has 43,000 miles. Took it in for routine oil change, and was told the front control arm bushings are bad, and the head gasket needs to be replaced.

I was so in love with my car up until now. I cannot believe it needs extensive repairs at such a low mileage, considering it's impeccably maintained and never misses routine servicing. I still owe $9000 on the car, and really can't afford a new one. I'm happy that Subaru USA is covering the cost, but since I live in Canada, I must pay for all warranty work up front and get reimbursed.

I thought I was buying quality Japanese workmanship, I am truly let down. I'm not sure how long the head gasket repair will last, but I'm worried just the same.

General Comments:

I love the car, it's fun to drive and handles well on our snowy Canadian roads, but the reliability just isn't there. I have zero confidence in Subaru, and won't make the mistake of purchasing another one. It will be a Honda or Toyota for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2011

2008 Subaru Outback 2.5i from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tahoe

Summary:

Alright

Faults:

Windshield cracked for no apparent reason while sitting in the sun yesterday at lunch. Parked in a secure parking lot with little traffic and the windshield just cracked. Crack started on passengers side, low on windshield and is now halfway across the windshield less than 24 hours later. Warranty and extended warranty do not cover. RIDICULOUS!

General Comments:

Loud road noise, used to quieter car.

Overall happy with vehicle but very disappointed in this windshield issue. After reading on line, it sounds like a common problem with Subaru that they are unwilling to admit is their issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2008

8th Aug 2008, 06:39

Its common for windshields to crack. I have had 3 crack on me (2 Toyotas, 1 Kia) Your car insurance should pay %100 of the replacement for the windshield.

12th Sep 2010, 18:50

Yeah, most insurance coverage includes glass without an excess.

2008 Subaru Outback 2.5i 2.5L from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired104 miles
Most recent distance140 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A comfortable solid car!

Faults:

I feel that the car is highly under powered... If I were to do it over I would have purchased the turbo. A 2.5 for the size of the wagon is too small. I also feel that they went too far off the "Outback" style, as it will easily will get lost in the crowd.

General Comments:

That being said... it is probably the most comfortable car seat I have ever sat in. The interior of this car is what sold me. The moment you sit down and hear the solid "thump" knowing that it is not a cheaply made car... you feel as if you are in a captain's chair. All the controls are are easily operated without looking in the manual. Easily the most comfortable car I've owned. And despite the lack of power the handling makes up for it... on my test drive I hydroplaned and didn't even feel it... and on the cornering, on wet roads might I add, hardly any body roll for such a large vehicle and so quiet!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2007

18th Oct 2007, 05:39

I agree - however, the seats in the one I had really did give me bad back pain and the fuel consumption was atrocious. Back to Volvo for me I'm afraid - back to relaxation and peace of mind.

26th Oct 2007, 12:11

I agree with the back pain on the new seats. If you are getting less than 25.5 MPG, get your brakes custom fitted! Have the ears on the pads ground down a tad and makes your brakes last longer. It increases MPG too! If you're going back to a Volvo then you have the money for gas. The volvo is definitely a nicer car; but, I would expect that for $15,000 more.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 3 reviews