2004 Suzuki Alto Reviews

2004 Suzuki Alto GL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2014
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles

Summary:

Cheap as chips to run

Faults:

Passenger electric window failed when window was iced up - will need to remove the door panel and fix it at some point.

General Comments:

As part of a new job, I was looking for an economical car to cover the 80 mile round trip. Looked at several diesel models, but as I had a limited budget, the cost of road tax, insurance, and fuel costs put me off.

Wasn't looking for the Alto at all, but came across it at a local dealership. One owner, ten years old with just over 30,000 miles on the clock.

The car averages 55 MPG. The road tax is £30 a year. It's nippy around town and will sit at 70mph on the motorway, although it will take time to get up to speed. A performance car it's not, but then I'm after fuel economy.

I have driven many cars and vans over the years, so I would say it isn't the most luxurious I've driven, but it has central locking, power steering, ABS, and unlike my motorbike, keeps me warm and dry. I worked out it's actually cheaper to run than my bike.

Positive bits - good road holding, great economy, easy to park. Low insurance band.

The negative bits - no steering wheel adjustment. Seats are very unsupportive. Gets blown all over the road in a cross wind. Isn't the quietest of cars at speed. Handbrake occasionally won't release properly. Not the largest of boots, but then it's a city car.

On the dual carriageway I sit at 60mph and watch the world fly past me, only for me to catch them all up at the next queue.

Totally reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2014

2004 Suzuki Alto GL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Almost the perfect town car

Faults:

ECU over ehated in the summer and caused Pinking at 3000 miles.

General Comments:

Interior is rather grey.

Noisy cabin with minimal, ie no, sound proofing.

Lightweight and gets blown all over the place in Winter.

Outstanding fuel consumption, 55mpg and mostly B road use.

Build quality not up to most small Euro boxes, but significantly better than Malaysian etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

2004 Suzuki Alto Hatchback 1.0 petrol from Pakistan

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

It is very delicate.

General Comments:

It is a fine car... when you put the AC on... the acceleration gets very bad...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

2004 Suzuki Alto VXR 1.0 c.c from Pakistan

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 c.c Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Mehran

Faults:

Water body bearing of my car was worn out at 17000 Kilometers.

General Comments:

This made me unreliable on SUZUKI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2005

7th Jul 2005, 09:17

Actually the reason is none of the above. The increase price is primarily due to two reasons, them being:

1. The abnormally high energy costs of production. The electricity cost that is.

2. The car manufacturers' cartel who continuously bribe government officials not to allow reconditioned cars import in Pakistan.

2004 Suzuki Alto GLX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, fuel economic, but otherwise the worst car I have ever driven

Faults:

Annoying knocking sound from rear brakes when braking.

Paintwork becomes tatty very quickly and perforates early.

Windscreen wipers do not sit on window-screens properly when driving and its raining does not wipe the screens properly.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel consumption.

Handles like an elephant. gets blown all over the road.

Noisy interior not very well sound proofed.

The most uncomfortable car I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

15th Mar 2005, 04:11

I really wanted a lightweight car and I got it, averaging 51 to 55 mpg on motorway/town mixture, easy to park.

Only fault was an irritating ticking sound from the rear door when right hand cornering (stopped now after 45000 miles)...something loose that should have been stuck down.

Suzuki spares and servicing are extortionate, virtually 200 quid for an oil change, 50 quid for a set of brake shoes that would cost a Ford driver 20...and the recommended service interval at 9000 miles is not recommendable! So the cheap purchase price and petrol are offset a bit.

However I love my Alto for all that - 45000 miles in 2 years and its holding up fairly well.

24th Nov 2005, 04:42

My Suzuki Alto (2000) has been a nightmare since day 1. Now five years old, here is a list of problems I have had:

Rear wheels freezing solid in temperatures below 0 Celsius

Defective battery

Defective shock absorbers

Broken rear window washer

Broken cabin light

Leaking petrol

Defective muffler

Loose trim

Broken tailgate lock

Window coming loose from window frame (in winter!)

2004 Suzuki Alto VXR 1.0 petrol and CNG from Pakistan

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol and CNG Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance15590 kilometres

Summary:

Good money value

Faults:

AC water leaks in side.

CNG kit was mounted to low.

General Comments:

I been using this car for over 8 months now, overall the engine performance and body is good.

The AC functions well, even when driven on CNG.

Few bad things are that a car of this price at-least should have a back windows defogger and a watch on the front panel does not cost a lot as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

2004 Suzuki Alto GL 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1900 miles

Faults:

Engine pinks whilst it is put under load. Suzuki are aware of problem, but no fix at present.

Also paintwork faulty.

General Comments:

Miles per gallon are great between 50-60.

Would be very good if it was not for above problems, however would not buy another again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

9th Feb 2005, 11:50

We too have had pinking problems (for the past year and a half). No sign of solution for fixing. Would not buy another one.

11th May 2006, 06:18

My 2004 Alto is on it's second ECU. Always happens at the start of hot weather. Dealer has become utterly frustrated with Suzuki UK who won't provide a CURE to the problem. appears to be heat related. ECU is behind dashboard and overheats causing some component failure. I am facing 1000 pound a year bills when the warranty expires.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews