1999 Suzuki Esteem from North America


Very reliable car



General Comments:

Very reliable car.

Nice looking. It doesn't look it is nine years old.

Cheap in gas.

It burns much less than half of a quarter of oil every 5000 km.

The engine runs like new even though it has 230000 km.

The transmission is very smooth.

I take the car to the garage every 6 months for a check. I do normal maintenance. The only extra was the alternator and cleaning some electrical connections. Nothing else.

For one or two people the car is big enough.

It is the best car I have ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2008

15th Aug 2009, 15:26

I wrote this review around two years ago. The car has now 260000 km and still running like new. I do normal maintenance on it.

1999 Suzuki Esteem GL Wagon 1.8L from North America


Great car for a family, but keep it up to date at the garage


Check engine comes on and off once in a while.

Alternator and battery had to be changed this Christmas.

Cross member, universal block left & right side has to be changed due to rust and Montreal harsh roads.

Cost = 1500 CAD! ouch!

General Comments:

I love driving my car, when I have it!

But I highly recommend getting it rust-proofed!

If not watch for the possibility of the cross member breaking. Every repair shop I got a quote from to fix this car told me that it was the first part of the gar "to go". By the way, the second they said was the transmission.

The gas mileage is about standard for in town driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2007

23rd Feb 2007, 03:53

I also have a '99 Esteem Wgn that I bought new 5spd w/AC. Still have it (2007) and has never been in any garage. I just do the usual preventive maintenance on the vehicle (using synthetic oil is a big plus) which is always the big lifesaver in any vehicle. It's just great as a good little commuter car, but not on the open roads doing freeway speeds-engine (1.6l) gets whiny when doing freeway speeds, otherwise, well satisfied with this purchase.

21st Mar 2009, 19:14

Small update since February 2007...

Man this car got expensive quickly!

December 2008 after stalling and causing major traffic jam on highway, alternator & belt had to be changed =$500.

January 2009, starter (the original 99) had to be changed =$250.

February 2009, wheel bearings on both back tires, front brakes pad & drums, pad on back wheel (drums recuperated) & oil purge on tires, oil seal broke (major loss of motor oil) = $835.

February 2009, the next day more exactly, had to go back to the garage to get the master brake cylinder changed, seal broke and all the brake oil leaked into the vacuum... = $250.

Last week (march 2009) the headlights decided to STAY ON... had to take out the fuse so the battery wouldn't die.

Lesson learned... get rid of this car AS SOON AS the stuff starts falling.

Yes, I am getting a NEW CAR that comes with a rock solid guarantee, and then change every 5 years... no more used car problems... I HOPE.


1999 Suzuki Esteem GL Wagon 1.6 from North America


The only choice for a wagon in 1999


The Oil pan as been changed at 115000

I had to change a bushing in the shifter because it became really hard to change gears.

The "rear-right" seat belt is not working anymore

The check engine is on, haven't been checked yet, probably an anti-pollution thing.

General Comments:

Probably the nicest little wagon you can find in that range of price. The resale value is poor, then it's a good deal to buy used. There is a lot of room in the trunk, and the back seats folds almost flat. The only things wrong I can find is the noisy engine and the lack of isolation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

1999 Suzuki Esteem 1.8 from North America


Most reliable car I've ever owned


Stock battery went out after 115000 miles.

General Comments:

In 1999 I bought this esteem brand new for 11,000. Ever since then I've never had to take it to the mechanics for any mechanical problem. I've done the regular maintenance for this car such as oil change, spark plugs, tires, breaks, air filter etc. I was 16 when I first drove this car now I'm 22, and I've beaten the hell out of this car by racing it, gunning the hell out it to red line all the time when I'm in a hurry to work, and taking fast hard turns. All I have to say is that this thing is quick and versatile extremely reliable. It is also great on gas. Only con I have about this car is the rear tail lights, they are way too big and kind of clashes with the rest of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2005